Rich.C

U2 Rich.C

22. Dezember 2016
geändert over 2 years ago
Due to their uncanny ability to change with the times, U2 have managed to stay alive as the majority of their '80s counterparts have disappeared. The evolution of their music is ongoing, and each new record seems to bring a never-before encountered style to the band's oeuvre. From the jangly Post-Punk of their earliest records to the genre-exploding extravaganza that marked their hyper-rhythmic re-entry into the post-Nirvana world, the quartet has provided an utterly original sound and a rarely matched depth of feeling every time. Clearly inspired by post punk legends joy division (in fact Bono is has often cited Ian Curtis as his biggest influence) alongside Kurt Cobain. The band continues to produce emotionally stunning music, injecting everything from countrified pedal steel, gurgling Techno sounds and processed hip-hop beats into their particular brand of Euro-rock.In 2000, U2 showed a spectacular return to form with the release of All That You Can't Leave Behind. Singles such as "It's a Beautiful Day," "Stuck In A Moment...," "Walk On" and "Elevation" helped redefine the band's sound once again, with All That You Can't Leave Behind going platinum three times over. Original players in the post-rock sound, U2 came full circle in 2004, when they released How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb. Ironically, the album was released in the midst of a trendy resurgence of post-punk, cementing U2's place as pioneers of the sound. Fittingly, U2 was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005, i just wish now that Bono would stop trying to be like Sting and Bob Geldof!!
to.cunha

U2 to.cunha

8. Oktober 2017
To me U2 stoped being original with the release of the highly banal album 'All That You Can't Leave Behind'. The late 90's 'Best of' new tracks such as 'The Hands That Built America', the new version of 'Sweetest Thing' and, specially 'Electrical Storm' are their last greatest songs. Well, 'The Ground Beneath Her Feet' could be also saved.
Everything after tastes like reheated food. Full of forgettable songs and la-la-las, u-hu-hu-husss...
Also, their last interesting - though not perfect - album is 'Pop'.
mountainmusik

U2 mountainmusik

26. März 2016
Joshua Tree ...with Brian Eno's wavy strings and Lanois pushing them.. top 3 lp all time for me.
fly39

U2 fly39

24. Oktober 2015
absolutely the best.i grew up with em.since i first saw October live from Under a blood red sky.it left me dumb.
then i never left em.it has to be said that through the years they never changed their magic recipe.b.t.w....it's only rock n roll.but i love it
cheaper concert tickets and it would be better for everyone.
JayDeeCee

U2 JayDeeCee

19. Oktober 2015
Totally agree with matt03wfu. Proper place for these kind of releases is in Miscellaneous section.
matt03wfu

U2 matt03wfu

11. September 2015
We really really really need to find a way to clean up the categorization for releases --- I can't be the only one that cringes when I look at the "Albums" view and see random interview discs and promo live releases along side the main studio albums.
spinmarket

U2 as reviewed by spinmarket

30. April 2015
geändert over 3 years ago
I don't disagree with all the U2 detractors when they complain about the band's persona, their marketing tactics, or their crusading, self aggrandizing theatrics. However, it has become quite popular to bash them and yet they remain incredibly vital and ambitious as artists and songwriters. "Songs of Innocence", for all of the wailing and gnashing of teeth over the forced download, is actually another great effort. That's nothing to say of the magnificent and relatively ignored "No Line On The Horizon". If you ever enjoyed U2, ignore the naysayers and get back to listening to the music. The last 20 years have been glorious.
to.cunha

U2 to.cunha

8. Oktober 2017
Tottaly disagree. U2 haved ended when they stop being original, new and unique. 'Pop' was their last opus.
I cannot listen to those lalalalasss songs... so enerving! :|
u2july

U2 u2july

20. Januar 2015
The best band in the world! All of time!
Spatzo

U2 Spatzo

27. Oktober 2014
When MTV first came out in the early 80's, Gloria video was played constantly. I bought October and thought it was pretty good. My friend in school was the president of a club at his church in Grand Rapids, MI and said U2 was going to play there. He asked if I wanted tickets. They were $7 each and I thought it would be pretty cool to see another rock band play in a church. I had seen the Romantics there the year before. I took my girlfriend and we were incredibly impressed. There were maybe 4-500 people in all.15 years later, I saw them at Mile High in Denver to a crowd of 20,000. Wow how times had changed a band!
freestyle12

U2 freestyle12

11. August 2014
geändert over 4 years ago
U2 is one of the best rock bands of all time and one of my favorite bands of all time. Have all their music and have seen them perform many times. A U2 concert is Amazing !!! I can't wait for the upcoming tour in 2015 !!! :)
boneroller

U2 boneroller

28. Januar 2013
Hard to belive that the reviewer's here giving praise to U2's famous producers fail to mention the most important and influential of all of them - Daniel Lanois. This is a guy that is able to bring out the best in the musicians he is working with. Example A = U2
Alastis

U2 as reviewed by Alastis

24. März 2006
geändert over 13 years ago
While they have nothing to do with ambient/noise/experimental scene, what makes U2 interesting for an average electronic music fan is the digital gloss added by producers like Brian Eno and Flood. Forget the snobbery - few people can deny that "One", "Please" and some of their other songs are really deep and meaningful. But then there's that stupid "holier than thou" approach which is exemplified by flag waving. Sometimes Bono is making a parody at himself and rock in general, but it comes out like a forced joke more than a real attempt to laugh at himself and his own band. Even with all the notorious producers, most of their albums are patchy at best with many songs destroyed by useless pomposity. Its Too bad, since, like it was said before, not all of their output is atrocious, but they somehow manage to butcher many of potentially good tracks.
_Hawk_

U2 as reviewed by _Hawk_

16. April 2003
Although i'm a House/Techno-head, i'm a big fan of U2's work. Combining very good songs with producers like Flood, Howie B & Brian Eno and working with excellent engineers like Mark Stent: it gives their songs a strong musical background. Listen carefully to some tracks and u'll notice the experiments with the guitar-sounds and the drums.