spacefreak

Popol Vuh - Aguirre spacefreak

24. Oktober 2020
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, RE, KK 20 21275-8
This release is a mess track-wise. Does not contain the original album as Side B is a compilation from "Brüder Des Schattens - Söhne Des Lichts" & "Tantric Songs".
evertonis111

Popol Vuh - Aguirre as reviewed by evertonis111

25. Februar 2020
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, RE, KK 20 21275-8
Wonderful pressing... quiet vinyl, good dynamic range... very pleasant analogue sound especially on the acoustic guitars. Very little audible distortion. Also, a very pretty laminated jacket! Also the music is (of course) excellent
bloop

Popol Vuh - Aguirre bloop

20. Februar 2019
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD

On this "remaster"-version of "Vergegenwärtigung" someone did some overdubs, which are not present on the 1976 french pressing. One example is the famous "Aguirre"-Choir from Side a, which appears in the backround at around 12:20. And there are some more sounds, which do not appear on the original version (and I am not talking about the later version of the track, which contain totally different music, this is a different issue).
So, if you want the original version, you must stick to the original issues. I don't know the version on the WahWah-release.
bloop

Popol Vuh - Aguirre bloop

31. Januar 2020
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD

I did compare it again.
The Aguirre-choir on the original Version is NOT there. This must have been added later for the SPV Version.
If you don't believe, compare at 12:05 - 12:30 (approx.)
Like Aguirre III (on the SPV), which is a sampling affair (sample looped percussion and sampled choir)
ultimathulerecords

Popol Vuh - Aguirre ultimathulerecords

15. November 2019
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD
I think those sounds are actually there on the original LP, but are very subdued as the LP version has all the treble end lobbed-off. I did compare them one to one in my digital editor, and had to re-EQ the LP rip to reveal the additional sounds heard on the CD. It is also not so evident that Conny Veit is playing glissando guitar on the LP version. The Wah Wah release is from the SPV master.
EposLab

Popol Vuh - Aguirre EposLab

12. Oktober 2018
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Quad, Pld. SQ 6040
Does anybody knows the sound difference between the first Italian and first French release ??
ultimathulerecords

Popol Vuh - Aguirre ultimathulerecords

15. November 2019
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Quad, Pld. SQ 6040

They both sound identical. The PDU issue is heavier vinyl and a deeper cut.
EposLab

Popol Vuh - Music From The Film "Aguirre" EposLab

12. Oktober 2018
bezogen auf Music From The Film "Aguirre", LP, Album, Quad, 840.103

Does anybody knows the sound difference between the first Italian and first French release ??
eliks_postindustry

Popol Vuh - Aguirre eliks_postindustry

26. April 2018
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD

While I agree that this album is better suited to vinyl, it is still an amazing piece of music. This is where you start. Also, "Morgengruss II" must be one of the more blissful, relaxing pieces of rock music ever created, right there with "Albatross". In general, this album is equally celestial, as it is dreamy (nightmarish) and strange. The definitive Popol Vuh album.
hafler3o

Popol Vuh - Aguirre as reviewed by hafler3o

17. Juli 2017
geändert over 3 years ago
bezogen auf Aguirre, 6xFile, MP3, Album, RE, RM, VBR, none
Possibly one of the most beautiful combinations of music and cover art I own. Look at the cover and you will guess the music. A little technicolour, a little proto-new-age, a little mystical, a little inhumanly ethereal. Overall, the feeling is of connectedness, for me (despite the bit-and-bobs nature of its construction) it holds sway like a wise friend. Cultivate that friendship and be suitably rewarded.
sshenriksen

Popol Vuh - Aguirre sshenriksen

30. Dezember 2015
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, LPS158
Anybody have a problem crackles and pops on this repress? Because mine sounds like a bowl of rice crispies...
viens

Popol Vuh - Aguirre viens

8. August 2019
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, LPS158
I bought Nosferatu Soundtrack (like Aguirre, is part of Popol Vuh's re-releases) and had exactly the same problem, these pressings are terrible. Sleeves, posters and artwork are stunning but in the end the music is what matters and it sounds terrible.
biosca

Popol Vuh - Aguirre biosca

2. Mai 2018
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, LPS158
Confirmed, my MINT copy also sounds like BORC, specially in quiet parts
DroneBob

Popol Vuh - Aguirre DroneBob

16. Juli 2017
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, LPS158
Yeah, a little bit. Had to laugh because of the "bowl of rice crispies", though.
IBOLTON

Popol Vuh - Aguirre IBOLTON

19. Juni 2016
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, LPS158

Yeah, definitely a problem. Needs another repress with a better company.
EposLab

Popol Vuh - Aguirre as reviewed by EposLab

2. April 2014
geändert over 7 years ago
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, RE, 20 21275-8, KK 20 21275-8

Nice detailed and smooth sound !
rtype909

Popol Vuh - Aguirre as reviewed by rtype909

16. Januar 2013
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, RM, Pap, ARC-7188
Track 6 is a lot cleaner and does not seem to have come from a straight vinyl recording (cf. the rest).
rtype909

Popol Vuh - Aguirre rtype909

16. Januar 2013
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD
What do people think of this CD? I think Aguirre would sound much better on vinyl as i feel there is a lot of aliasing going on.
rtype909

Popol Vuh - Aguirre rtype909

25. Juni 2018
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD
hi the SPV is a lift from the vinyl and not a very good extraction at that. I think perhaps the Japan may be better but otherwise we need to wait for someone to do a direct master from the magnetic tapes, if they exist. I assume they do because Aguirre the movie came out on Blu ray recently, with a new print realised from old tapes and the audio has been cleaned up with DTS-HD
giullare

Popol Vuh - Aguirre giullare

27. September 2017
geändert over 3 years ago
bezogen auf Aguirre, CD, Album, RE, SPV 085-70142 CD
yes....incredible but true :-(.....great album but for me not is from the masters original (maybe the japan press cd is good??)
progfan97402

Popol Vuh - Aguirre progfan97402

10. September 2012
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, Album, Quad, Pld. SQ 6040
That's right about that choir organ which many mistake for a Mellotron. That same goes to Amon Duul II's Tanz der Lemminge (Dance of the Lemmings) and Wolf City, Jimmy Jackson happened to use that same choir organ on those two albums. I knew right away when I heard that choir organ that it wasn't a Mellotron, as the choir organ could hold those notes indefinitely, while you can only hold a note up to 8 seconds long with a Mellotron.
ultimathulerecords

Popol Vuh - Music From The Film "Aguirre" as reviewed by ultimathulerecords

10. Juli 2012
geändert over 5 years ago
bezogen auf Music From The Film "Aguirre", LP, Album, Quad, 840.103
Popol Vuh's "Aguirre" album is an oddball curio, in that 1. it is not really a soundtrack to the said film (i.e. there's music on the album that's not in the film at all, and music by Popol Vuh in the film that's not on the album), and 2. it is clearly recorded over a span of years, by various Popol Vuh line-ups, and with a much richer instrumentation than is credited on the cover! But, that said, it is still nonetheless a classic, from the majestic choral Mellotrons that open it, down to the cosmic ambience of the ever so spooky "Vergegenwaertigung" - it's the quintessential guide to the many styles Popol Vuh passed through up to then, and some new ones!

All issues of "Aguirre" have the wrong musician details. It is in fact Jimmy Jackson and his choir organ that features on the Aguirre 1 & 2 tracks. Also it is said that it's Conny Veit making the abstract scuttling guitar sounds on "Vergegenwaertigung". The recordings on the album span 1972 to 1974, with two tracks "Morgengruss II" and "Agnus Dei" being alternative takes of tracks available elsewhere. And, if Djong Yun is on the album, her contribution is barely noticeable.
comassola

Popol Vuh - Aguirre comassola

16. November 2010
bezogen auf Aguirre, LP, RE, KK 20 21275-8
For the piece Aguirre, on this album, Florian Fricke used a mellotron-like instrument called the choir-organ. This basically consisted of keyboards which operated tuned tape loops running in parallel with one another. The loops could be sustained indefinately. He used tapes of human voices on the tape loops, giving the otherworldly human/ electronic effect heard in this track.