thafunkmonk

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest as reviewed by thafunkmonk

3. Juni 2020
geändert 5 months ago

This pressing is amazing. As soon as the bass drum hit kicks in you are sent to the moon, my friends! Now this is DYNAMIC range.
One of the records you can use in your favor when discussing why vinyl is better.
Jonas.HE

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest Jonas.HE

29. Februar 2020
on B2 the last kicks sound bad on my copy, does anyone has the same problem?
thx
owain_k

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest as reviewed by owain_k

23. Juli 2019
geändert about 1 year ago
All too often, high profile collaborations end with up more style than substance – however right from the get go, ‘Tomorrow Comes The Harvest’ is everything you could wish to hope for. The skills of legendary drummer Tony Allen are balanced perfectly Mills’ live 909 programming and use of effects, in a space where nothing takes prominence. The addition of Allen’s bandmate Jean Phi Dary on keys gels their compositions together with the addition of his cosmically inspired keys.
chrissyboy73

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest as reviewed by chrissyboy73

16. November 2018
Very impressive 10" ep. The music is superb. A diamond collaboration of two top musicians. The pressing alone is magnificent. Great bass and great clarity. A modern classic.
motu2001

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest motu2001

26. März 2019
Bingo Bango!
(also... at least 10 words must be entered) =P
plaidzebra

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest plaidzebra

26. März 2019
Matt_L
Mine sounded quite low but I turned the volume up and it sounded fine. Anyone tried that novel approach!?


You've missed the point of the criticism of this press. Of course anyone can turn it up as loud as they like. When the limit for how much music is pressed into a record is pushed, the grooves are closer together and the vinyl has to be mastered to be a lower volume. When you turn up the volume on a vinyl record, you turn up the noise along with the music. This is why people don't like records that are pressed at unnecessarily low volume, and why people are complaining about this record being quiet and expressing a preference that it be pressed on a 12". It might sound fine to you, but for some people, it could have sounded better. If all four tracks had been pressed onto one side of a 12" at 33rpm, people would be making the same complaint.
Matt_L

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest Matt_L

19. November 2018
Mine sounded quite low but I turned the volume up and it sounded fine. Anyone tried that novel approach!?
IllJanne

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest IllJanne

25. Oktober 2018

Mine too. Really disappointed that it plays so low. I had to check that it wasn't just a promotional release that they pressed liked that intentionally.
motu2001

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest motu2001

24. Oktober 2018
Think you're right about that one. =(
(here are fifteen more words for you Discogs so you can post this comment) #lame
diegolellidj

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest diegolellidj

24. Oktober 2018
15 minutes per side on 10 "inches the result is low volume
motu2001

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest motu2001

23. Oktober 2018
Haven't noticed in all the 10s I have. Most sound great.
Mark_Anthony

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest Mark_Anthony

23. Oktober 2018
10 inch format is generally an abomination. I avoid it like the plague.
motu2001

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest motu2001

18. Oktober 2018
I know and then I see that it's mixed by FK... aaaahhh!
sahalldorsson

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest sahalldorsson

18. Oktober 2018
Mine too, much too low. A real shame, such an outstanding record.
hairyderriere

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest as reviewed by hairyderriere

14. Oktober 2018

Future classic. Hypnotic, new beats and tunes. Really successful collaboration.
morphis2525

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest morphis2525

12. Oktober 2018
This seems like a monster record for me, I'll be playing this for decades!!!!!!!!
Old_Boy

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest Old_Boy

9. Oktober 2018
geändert over 2 years ago

On The Run has got the feel of a dexter wansel cut - very nice indeed - what a collab
kamenov

Tony Allen, Jeff Mills - Tomorrow Comes The Harvest kamenov

3. Oktober 2018
geändert over 2 years ago

Sooo good! Sound is both raw and slick at the same time!