Among the labels of the Carl Lindström AG were Odeon, Parlophon, Beka, Fonotipia and Imperial (2).
The company was first located at Brückenstraße 13a in Berlin, where Carl Lindström had his machine workshop since 1899, before it moved to larger premises at Große Frankfurter Straße 137 in 1906. In 1904 Carl Lindström sold his machine workshop to Max Straus und Heinrich Zuntz, who merged the company with their own Salon
Kinematograph Co. GmbH to form Carl Lindström GmbH. To raise further capital this company became Carl Lindström AG in 1908. In 1919 Carl Lindström's own facilities opened at Schlesische Straße in Berlin SO36, where both shellac records and gramophones were manufactured.
With the foundation of the Electrola Gesellschaft m.b.H. in 1925 by its British parent The Gramophone Co. Ltd., its competitor, the Columbia Graphophone Company Ltd. acquired a substantial share of the Carl Lindström AG, eventually controlling the company in 1926. When The Gramophone Company and Columbia Graphophone merged to become Electric & Musical Industries Ltd. in 1931, their respective German daughters Electrola Gesellschaft and Carl Lindström AG belonged to the same UK parent company. Consequently in 1932 Electrola's own production facilities in Nowawes near Berlin were closed and Carl Lindström AG became the manufacturing arm of the Electrola Gesellschaft mbH.
The company, a GmbH again since 1951, moved to Cologne-Braunsfeld, Maarweg 149, in 1952, where Electrola GmbH operated under the same address. While Carl Lindström GmbH was responsible for recording and manufacturing, Electrola took care of A&R and distribution. The two companies merged to form EMI Electrola GmbH in 1972.