ErioRaggen

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by ErioRaggen

28 de diciembre de 2020

Really chill album. But the overuse of some instruments tends to make it a bit boring from time to time. But if you listen to each song iduvidually you can really just completely relax to these songs. this is just the type album that makes me quiet, and thats pretty impressive. its a solid 4/5
steresi

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell steresi

3 de noviembre de 2020
editado 3 months ago
I picked up one of the new pressings (P11 on the sticker for the barcode) and it's a PERFECT copy. I had none of the issues the original did and sounds splendid. Look on the back of the LP on the barcode sticker and anything that ends in P10 or above is the new cut and should sound great!
kaspergm

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell kaspergm

24 de octubre de 2020
editado 3 months ago
Bought my copy in 2020 (black vinyl) and it plays without major problems. It should be noted that there is some background noise/hiss on some tracks - particularly on B4 (John My Beloved) - which is NOT a vinyl issue, this is part of the actual audio of the album and is also on the CD version.

EDIT > Should add, my version has "-RE2" added in the code on the runout, and according to the comment made by an Asthmatic Kitten representative in the "The Ascension" LP section, there have been made new and better pressings of this album, so likely that's why mine plays fine.
steresi

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell steresi

27 de octubre de 2020
This is great to hear. When did you get yours and did you purchase it from a record shop or online?
philr.815

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell philr.815

29 de septiembre de 2020
editado 4 months ago
Are the lyrics on the insert out of order on all pressings? Eugene is in front of Fourth of July on the lyric sheet
yellowbillycat

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by yellowbillycat

28 de septiembre de 2020

I don't know what I did in a past life to deserve this, but my copy is one of the best-sounding in my collection. No surface noise, no pops, and pressed very loudly.
cabaliw

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell cabaliw

25 de noviembre de 2020
is there an online store where you got this good copy?
ys5

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by ys5

8 de agosto de 2020
I played my copy of this for the first time since purchasing it in 2016 (did not open it out of sleeve prior). Quite loud pops on Side A. Terrible loud surface noise and loud pops on Side B. Literally thought I was going to have to bin it and get a different pressing because the noises was that loud rendered it basically listenable. After playing it through I used some cleaning fluid, a micro fibre cloth and a vinyl brush on it and now all of the noise and the loud pops are gone! I don't know heaps about vinyl but I thought I should post this to let others know that cleaning the record seemed to fix all the issues I had and might work for you.
Mteeg

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Mteeg

27 de julio de 2020
Confirming so many of the reviews here to add I literally thought my record player was busted when I put this on. Easily the worst pressing of any record I own. Beggars belief considering the music it's supposed to be representing. Borderline unplayable. Such a shame.
NathanGrosse

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by NathanGrosse

8 de abril de 2020

Like many others have said, my copy of this pressing has relatively quiet playback, some irregular pops, and an overall thinner sound; BUT it is still listenable. If you would like to own this record on vinyl, I would say it's still worth the purchase. I really hope Asthmatic Kitty does a repress sometime soon on heavier vinyl. There is so much more potential on this beautiful work of art.
SeanKeneddy

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by SeanKeneddy

31 de marzo de 2020
I own an AudioTechnica LP-120 and the record has some minor cracks, pops, and hissing, but it seems relatively consistent with how the songs sound on streaming platforms. This is all to say - the vinyl itself is not a markedly worse experience than streaming, and it's a bummer to hear that a lot of folks seem to have some issues with their pressing. I own hundreds of records and, although this isn't the best-sounding pressing I own, I don't think it sticks out as a black sheep among my collection in any way.
Slow_Pulse_Boy

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Slow_Pulse_Boy

12 de febrero de 2020

My pressing is fine. No issues at all. A miracle?
JQ1017

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by JQ1017

22 de diciembre de 2019

I bought my copy of Carrie & Lowell at the Sydney show of Sufjan Stevens' 2016 Australian tour.

The first few times I played my copy it wasn't a great experience - the disc was dirty and on playback you could hear a ton of crackling and pops. It was disappointing.

I knew I had to clean the disc so I bought some record cleaner spray and that helped slightly but it didn't do much.

Next step was acquiring a Project Spin Clean which I have used religiously to clean all my vinyl new and existing before playback.

The SpinClean helped clean it up significantly and placing the disc in a Mobile Fidelity Anti-Static sleeve helped in addition.

Each time I playback the record now you can hear less and less of the surface noise. Is it a miracle? Possibly. I'd say 95% of the pops and crackles have gone and you only hear one occasionally.

If you still have a copy of the album in your collection then it is worth trying to clean it using a record cleaning system (if you have access to one) and placing it in an anti-static sleeve (if you haven't done this already).

I am probably one of the people who got lucky with their copy in the end.
pedross

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell pedross

21 de octubre de 2019
I've got a new stylus after the first listening of this. Floor noise is absurd and distortion in side B is alien. Too bad
WesHeadley

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by WesHeadley

7 de julio de 2019

I have three copies including two of this pressing and one of the clear. All are horrid and I have serious doubts that there are more than a VERY few decent pressings of this one out there. I have a high resolution system and a Hannl RCM. No amount of cleaning even begins to improve these copies. Pure shit. The album itself is a masterpiece. This was a true lost opportunity.
DanGoldbach

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by DanGoldbach

6 de julio de 2019
Unlistenable. Overwhelming surface noise and distortion throughout. The worst-sounding record in my collection. Such a pity as this is one of my favourite albums and it could sound phenomenal on vinyl.
philkao

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell as reviewed by philkao

25 de junio de 2019
My pressing is pretty nice. Quiet, pops and clicks present but not distracting. Not much background rumble and hiss either. Some hiss definitely exists in the source tape, as between a couple tracks the hiss drops out.
Asswupn

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Asswupn

22 de abril de 2019
Mine sounds great , how it should , I have a decent set of vinyl lugs on me , here’s my honest assessment , vinyl 7.5 out of 10 - lp12 at120eb cart marantz 6906 , project phono se box , as for cd same ish , but missing the vinyl , you know what I mean,, sound , streamed through Apple TV via same marantz slightly inferior to both previous , note vinyl was hand cleaned with eBay spray and micro fibre cloth , hope this helps anyone , thereby i defo reccomend vinyl for this amazing album .
Asswupn

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Asswupn

22 de abril de 2019
Marantz 6006 that was my mistake adding word now for 10 atleast rule on posts silly really
tartifless

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell tartifless

21 de marzo de 2019
Mine is very listenable, i gave it 2 spin-cleans and a record doctor V wash.
It had lots of static before i washed it and also the surface is not pristine shiny (there are some blurred places).

However the sound is definitely very good, no distortion or sibilance, no loud pops, only very few crackles that are not noticeable in full length play.

I agree that some pressings are dead quiet, however all my records that have more than 40 minutes on one record have some crackles.
So far i noticed crackles only on 2 songs for less than 2 seconds each.

My material is REGA RP8 with AT33PTG/II cart (microline) and ARIA phonostage.
Yes i have better pressed records, yes it is a shame most Asthmatic Kitty records or not the best-pressed records, however it is a decent listening experience with very few surface noise. I am quite sure i would not hear any with my HANA SL shibata stylus.
Asswupn

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell Asswupn

22 de abril de 2019
Agree , totally totally totally totally totally 10 words reply shizzle etc
asthmatickittyrec

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell asthmatickittyrec

14 de abril de 2019
Thanks for the thoughts, and for picking up the record. Glad you're enjoying it. And you have a great setup! :)

- John at AKR