• rjh_54 over 7 years ago

rjh_54 edited over 7 years ago
    I'm a college student and really can't afford a super high-end turntable at the moment. For Christmas I got one of those Crosley Cruiser "portable" suitcase-looking record players and I returned it within a week seeing as after just three days any album I would play would play very slowly.

I found a good deal on this 6-in-1 Nostalgic Entertainment Center. In addition to records, it plays CDs, Cassettes and there's an AM/FM radio. I wasn't seeking out a machine that had these functions, but they were added perks.

The sound quality is pretty great, though that wasn't a huge selling factor for me as I've got limited space and can't set up an elaborate home theater system in the place I'm at. Don't get me wrong, sound quality IS a factor for me, but ultra-high-end isn't really in the cards right now. The thing is, I feel like the quality is slowly starting to diminish, though not as noticeably or as quickly as the Crosley one I got. I'm noticing my albums are playing slightly slow again.

I'm thinking this one is also crapping out on me, I feel like I'm at a loss here. Can anybody recommend a decent quality turntable that's $100 or less? I know someone who has this Jensen record player that actually plays albums consistently and if the sound quality wasn't absolutely horrendous I'd just buy that.
  • ThomasP64 over 7 years ago

rjh_54
    I'm thinking this one is also crapping out on me, I feel like I'm at a loss here. Can anybody recommend a decent quality turntable that's $100 or less? I know someone who has this Jensen record player that actually plays albums consistently and if the sound quality wasn't absolutely horrendous I'd just buy that.

Probably not at $100.00 or less. The Audio-Technica AT-LP120 isn't bad. but it costs more than you want at this time. KAB offers a preowned, reconditioned belt-drive Technics for $169.00:
    http://kabusa.com/frameset.htm?/