Ensemble 0* ‎– 0 = 12

Wild Silence ‎– WS22
CDr, Album, Limited Edition

Tracklist Masquer Crédits

1 Janvier
Composed By – Marihiko HaraKoto – Rieko Oe
2 #68
Performer – Cyril SecqScore – Sylvain Chauveau
3 I Will Give My Love An Apple
Arranged By, Performer, Recorded By – Joël Merah
4 Beverly's Troubadour Piece
Performer – Julien Garin, Stéphane Garin, Sébastien LlinarèsWritten-By – Lou Harrison
5 Mai
Composed By – Marihiko HaraKoto – Rieko OeRemix – Rutger Zuydervelt
6 Lantern
Arranged By – Petar KlanacPerformer – Anna Puig, Céline Flamen, Gordan Trajković, Isaac Rodriguez, Jean-Sébastien Dureau, Julien Garin, Júlia Gállego, Stéphane Garin, Sylvain ChauveauWritten-By – Clogs
7 Sekar Gadung
Performer – Didier Aschour, Emmanuel Curt, Joël Merah, Julien Pontvianne, Mark Lockett (2), Stéphane Garin, Vincent Planès
8 Août
Composed By – Marihiko HaraKoto – Rieko OeRemix – Rainier Lericolais
9 Mossgrove
Composed By – Rachel Grimes
10 For The Black Monk
Composed By, Performer – Joël Merah, Stéphane Garin, Sylvain Chauveau
11 Monochrome Gold
Composed By – Ensemble 0*Performer – Audrey Lauro, Catherine Evrard, Claire Vailler, François Schulz, Isabelle Sainte-Rose, Morena Prats, Myriam Pruvot, Sarah Foulquier, Sylvain Chauveau, Valérie Leclercq
12 Decembre
Composed By – Marihiko HaraKoto – Rieko OeRemix – Sylvain Chauveau


In 2016, Ensemble 0 was 12. To celebrate this, the group decided to release a new track every month of the year on their Bandcamp page, gradually unveiling a display of 12 pieces in 12 months for their 12th anniversary. Those recordings representing the different aspects of 0’s music are now compiled for the first time for the Wild Silence label under the title 0 = 12.
On the interpretation side, the tracklisting features revisited versions of pieces by Rachel Grimes, the band Clogs, Lou Harrison, traditional gamelan classic Sekar Gadung, and english folk song I Will Give My Love An Apple adapted for acoustic guitar.
But there are also 0’s compositions: Monochrome Gold pays tribute to Yves Klein, For The Black Monk evokes Ad Reinhardt’s late black paintings, #68 is a list of verbal instructions that allow a real freedom to the guitarist (here: Cyril Secq from the band Astrïd).
The last category shows proteiform tracks blurring the limits between composer, partner and producer : four short pieces for koto composed for the 0 ensemble by japanese musician Marihiko Hara, recorded in Kyoto and later remixed by Machinefabriek, Rainier Lericolais and by 0.