Kas Product ‎– Try Out

RCA Victor ‎– PL 37603
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 One Of The Kind 3:25
A2 Man Of Time 3:22
A3 No Shame 3:15
A4 Countdown 3:24
A5 Never Come Back 3:17
A6 Underground Movie 2:38
B1 So Young But So Cold 3:00
B2 Digging In A Hole 3:04
B3 Sober 4:28
B4 Breakloose 2:58
B5 Pussy X 3:31

Sociétés, etc.



Recorded through August 81 at Sunrise studio (CH).

"P" 1982 RCA (spine)
Printed in France

℗ 1982 RCA Victor
Made in France

Some copies came with a three panel bio/reviews insert.

Code barre et autres identifiants

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, machine-stamped runout): ⩓82-1 PL 37603 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, machine-stamped runout): ⩓82-1 PL 37603 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, hand-etched runout): PL 37603 A Ʈ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, hand-etched runout): PL 37603 B Ʈ
  • Rights Society: SACEM SACD SDRM SGDL
  • Price Code: RC 250

Autres versions (5 de 10) Voir tous

Cat n° Artiste Titre (Format) Label Cat n° Pays Année
PK 37603 Kas Product Try Out(Cass, Album) RCA PK 37603 France 1982 Vendre cette version
RCALP 3102 Kas Product Try Out(LP, Album) RCA RCALP 3102 UK 1982 Vendre cette version
MO001 Kas Product Try Out(CD, Album, RE, RM) More Over MO001 France 2012 Vendre cette version
MO001LP Kas Product Try Out(LP, Album, RE, RM + 12") More Over MO001LP France 2012 Vendre cette version
CDSA 54090 Kas Product Try Out(CD, Album) Les Disques Du Soleil Et De L'Acier CDSA 54090 France 2005 Vendre cette version



Ajouter un Avis



2 août 2012
edité over 4 years ago

KaS Product are an act that I had no knowledge of until I discovered the Tigersushi compilation So Young But So Cold back in 2005, in which they provided the title track.

Shame on me, that I only recently decided to investigate them thoroughly.

What did I find?

Well, on this first album it's pure New Wave meets Electro meets Punk euphoria. And, if you choose to investigate the other 2 albums they released up until 1987 you will find it is a formula that they stick rigidly by.


So, let's get into this, their debut album Try Out…

One Of A Kind starts off like some kind of Islamic prayer, but with the lyrics "Don't wanna hear another lie, I couldn't drown myself down, under the sky" and you're like WOW.

In the next 5 seconds you get the first real taste of KaS Product. With a high tempo (we're talking 160bpm+ across most tracks here) combined with skittish electronics (courtesy of Daniel Favre aka Spatz) and ultra passionate vocals / lyrics by the always enticing Mona Soyoc (who to my mind brings similarities with Lora Logic (Essential Logic) and Kate Jackson (The Long Blondes)), you are enraptured.

Man Of Time is Siouxsie & The Banshees gone electro goth, with doom synths droning over Mona's mantra of "Time's against you / me".

No Shame brings the tempo down, and we're in cabaret territory. So seedy, so seductive, and rather like a genuine interpretation of Soft Cell's dreams of illicit decadence. Mona's vocals shine here (as they always do), so passionate.

Well, I could bring you through the entire album but I'm listening to it as I type this and quite frankly I want to listen to it instead of typing.

Go on Youtube and find So Young But So Cold, Never Come Back & Man Of Time (or for something deliciously Mighty Boosh / Noel Fielding style go for Digging In A Hole).

Miss Kittin & The Hacker fans take note of these early 80's innovators...

Prepare to let KaS Product take over your life.