elekktro

Warp Records elekktro

18 octobre 2018
Which is why i have decided its time to sell my warp records collection. I stopped collecting after about 125 releases on vinyl. Managed to get many promos and rarities but i would agree with most that it lost its way many years ago. They are now following the money and making more for the film industry.
jbinjapan

Warp Records jbinjapan

28 octobre 2018
edité 5 months ago
Agreed. I was there when Warp was born (as I am from Sheffield and remember FON) - but Warp Records (apart from the odd release) lost its way around the turn of the century. And because it hasn't been based in Sheffield for a long time it may have lost its soul.
cornejod

Warp Records cornejod

27 juillet 2018
Did it ever occur to anybody that the new bands issuing repetitive , crappy music that fans of Warp despise so much, could be the result of larger labels with more cash attracting the types of bands that "would have been cool" on Warp? Another possibility could be that this is the type of crap that most bands are putting out now - even the venerable ones from yesteryear, as they are too afraid to create something new, and prefer to put out the same shit everybody else does, just to be safe and keep those checks coming. When you are 20 something and put out a crap record, you have nothing to lose. When you are 30 -40 something and you've put out successful records in the past decade, you now have much to lose if you try being a 20 something and put out something that could now wreck your career. Ask Sir Macca.
jbinjapan

Warp Records jbinjapan

18 mai 2018
I remember helping out in FON before Rob and Steve took over the shop and rebranded it. But apart from setting up Warp Records they still kept buying independent releases (especially 4AD). Division Street was a great place to browse records back in the 80s and early 90s. They used to let anyone DJ in their shop as well. Great blokes who changed the face of electronic music worldwide. Rob is sadly missed; I hope Steve is well.
jbinjapan

Warp Records jbinjapan

28 octobre 2018
edité 5 months ago
That's true  warpedboy2. I can remember buying some imported hardcore punk records from there as well (from the record boxes upstairs). Great shop of that time. Shame it is no longer around.
warpedboy2

Warp Records warpedboy2

18 août 2018
I used to but my Death Metal albums from the Warp shop all those years ago.
I probably still have some with Warp price stickers still on them.
szalero555

Warp Records szalero555

9 novembre 2014
Aphex Twin - Syro
Flying Lotus - You're Dead
Clark - Clark
Plaid - Reachy Prints
Rustie - Green Language

Good comeback Warp, keep it up
oldhippierick

Warp Records as reviewed by oldhippierick

19 septembre 2014
Marty Robbins The Chronological Classics Marty Robbins 1960-1961 (2011)
Label: Warped Records [6026] CD 2011
steady-j

Warp Records steady-j

30 septembre 2013
@ Dubvulture Yeah erm how about 11 reasons why WARP is no joke in the last 12 months or so

Nightmares On Wax
Clark
Oneohtrix Point Never
Rustie
BoC (still!)
Ae (still!)
Mark Pritchard!!
Brian Eno
Flying Lotus
Squarepusher (still!)
THITH (yes really)

I think you are wrong about Gonjasui, Hudmo, !!! and Jamie Lidell
Personally I would agree with most of the rest of your list, and also reserve judgement on Bibio, Darkstar, Mount Kimbie, Kwes and others (we can't all like everything) and its true that around 2007 WARP was dominated by indie rock sounds. Now it is much more diverse and looks to its roots as well as holding its own against a vast array of rival/fellow labels
jaydubbleya

Warp Records as reviewed by jaydubbleya

3 décembre 2010
edité over 7 years ago
Warp Lives!
Clark, Bibio, !!!, Battles
nuff said
selectajones

Warp Records selectajones

24 novembre 2009
edité over 9 years ago
Beware the label-bashing below...

Warp records is a landmark on the electronic music scene that, with success and the inevitable evolution of electronic music, have a different focus to when they were so beloved by enthusiasts in the 90's.

Like any busy label, their releases are not always timeless and to everyones taste; and nor were those from the 90's.

The influence this label had when dance music and electronica were still growing will ensure it always has a chapter of its own in that story. As a sizeable institution on the independent music scene lets hope they can continue to support progressive and exciting artists
pressedtrousers

Warp Records as reviewed by pressedtrousers

24 janvier 2009
In 1998 Warp make a big deal of their 10 year anniversary, the tagline being "total fucking independence". They had a roster of the cream of IDM, and friendly affiliations with most everyone else in electronic music. True, the remixes comp they put out to celebrate this was weak and a clear signpost of IDM becoming a bit stale, but overall their profile was at its peak.

In 2008 there were no birthday celebrations. No special releases or flags being waved.
Maybe out of respect for the absence of the late co-founder Rob Mitchell. Or maybe just an acknowledgment that they are now just another London label, doing what it has to to stay in business - which has tended to mean signing some dubious acts and losing focus.

Perhaps this is what pissed AFX off so much that after the contractual-obligation releases [a remix album, and a reissue of the 2 rare EPs] he left under a cloud.

Perhaps this is why Plaid - surely a Warp fixture?!- were rumoured to be looking for a new label a couple of years ago?

Perhaps this is why such a once-hypermodernist label has a rarely-updated website, with nothing more interesting than release dates and accompaning PR paragraphs.

Perhaps this is why Bleep, after such a successful start, has become an also-ran. Boomkat literally piss all over Bleep in the downloads market, offering FLAC downloads to audio purists - where Bleep used to do so, but don't bother with them any more.

Though the last year has seen some interesting, worthy stuff, half of it seems like revisiting the past [Leila finds a new home on the label, AET's latest, more interminable Squarepusher and NOW] and half of it seems like box ticking / scene-chasing [Rustie remixing virtually every release, Gang Gang Dance, Flying Lotus, Hudson Mohawke]. And that's just the respectable stuff...

Doing what you have to to survive... is it really worth it? Do they really have hipster A&R men out there telling them what's cool, and signing a respectable token artist from every emerging scene? Because it looks that way, and that's not good. That's not pioneering or creative or interesting.

And when are they going to realise that Jamie Lidell is this decade's Jimi Tenor?*

*a waste of time.
claptom141

Warp Records claptom141

4 décembre 2017
Agree, same with XL record, these record labels are not pionering anymore, that's a fact, not an opinion, but that's not their purpose nowadays I guess. They are proper isntitutions and their role is to acknoledge new niche aesthetetic, artiste and scenes. They find emerging artists and help them to reach a larger audience, enter the music industry, become professionals. They democratise aesthetics. Good or bad, that's another debat.
pressedtrousers

Warp Records pressedtrousers

15 mai 2011
Not at all. I don't think he's very good at all. Hipster Jamiroquai.
valour

Warp Records valour

15 mai 2011
Jamie Lidell a waste of time? surely you jest...
pressedtrousers

Warp Records pressedtrousers

9 janvier 2010
Well, 2009 proved me wrong. A complete overhaul of the websites and a full-on anniversary bonanza [if a year late]. And even prior to that I was begin to re-evaluate my feelings towards the label. What I wrote off as 'box-ticking' actually turned out to produce some of my favourite electronic music of the year.

Sometimes it's nice to be wrong. I guess you just find yourself in the position you're in and just do your best, and you can't fault Warp for that.
GalaxyExplorer

Warp Records as reviewed by GalaxyExplorer

23 mars 2007
edité over 12 years ago
Warp's decline has been long and painful, and there are potentially many reasons for this. I see some factors as being beyond their control.

First, their venerable acts have aged. Autechre, Aphex, Plaid and the rest of them aren't 20-something anymore. Consequently, their output quality and quantity have suffered. Most of them either never tour (Boards of Canada) or rarely do (Aphex). A two-day fest in London doesn't count.

Second, the label signed some very questionable acts in the early 2000s. What in the world was Vincent Gallo doing on Warp? Some others seem to be more concerned with their image than music.

Third, the genre that Warp really pioneered (IDM) ran out of steam early in this decade. Autechre in particular spawned countless imitations, none of which ever really improved upon the original formula. The genre is simply a dead end.

Furthermore, check out the number of reissues Warp produces. Everytime I visit their site, there's news about old recordings being republished. That's when you know you're through.
steady-j

Warp Records steady-j

4 octobre 2012
Looking back through my collection and WARPs back catalogue, 2007 was indeed a pretty dismal year, with a handful of indie guitar based releases and little else. But IMO there has been something of a resurgence for WARP in the last couple of years, and the balance has been redressed with very strong electronic releases from the likes of Plaid, Rustie, Flying Lotus, a reinvigorated Brian Eno and Squarepusher, and supporting acts Hudmo/TNGHT and Gonjasufi. It's still not perhaps as consistent as it was back in the heyday of the late 90s where the anticipation for every new release from BoC, Aphex, Autechre or TLS felt like another birthday, but certainly WARP has got its swagger back.