dstassen

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) as reviewed by dstassen

5 mai 2019
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7

Sounds absolutely brilliant! It's a must to store it in top poly inner sleeves, considering the terrible cardboard the inners are made of.
dj_jasonb

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations - The Best Of (Special Edition) dj_jasonb

24 février 2019
en référence à Private Investigations - The Best Of (Special Edition), 2xHDCD, Comp, S/Edition, 9873051

Track 2-11 on my copy (which I have owned since the original week of release) has a pressing error, where a minute or (if even that far in) the track / cd freezes / pauses. Anybody else copy have the same issue or just mine?. Have always been curious.
dev_lin

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) dev_lin

28 décembre 2018
edité 4 months ago
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7

Quite interesting... Having taken all the opinions under considerations, I still decided to include it in my collection. No regrets.
It looks great, sounds great, no problems.
As far as I am concerned this issue is well worth the money.
curtisstephen

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) curtisstephen

18 septembre 2018
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
Bought this brand new from HMV sept 2018 don’t know if same pressing but barcode and etchings in the runout grooves match above. Mine sounds brilliant!
MathijsH

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) MathijsH

2 décembre 2018
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
I've got a version with different runout, also a 2018 purchase. Side 1 for example has "154229E1/A" and "9874052-A" stamped and "9874052-A" etched
vgonis

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations - The Best Of as reviewed by vgonis

31 mai 2018
en référence à Private Investigations - The Best Of, CD, Comp, 9874050
A nice compilation, combining both Dire straits and Knopfler solo work.

Roughly every 10 years we receive a new "best of" from Dire straits. In 1988 we had "Money for nothing", in 1998 "Sultans of Swing" and this is the third best of entitled yet again as one of their most famous songs "Private investigations". Even though I still believe that "Money for nothing" is by far the best of them all, even though it doesn't cover the three last records of the band, this particular compilation has a great difference. It contains songs from both Dire Straits and Mark Knopfler solo records. For a serious fan, this compilation also offered a new song, but since it has been issued at the Harris/Knopfler collaboration "All the roadrunning", it has nothing new or unique to offer. The record company thought it was a good idea to market three different versions of the record, one as a single disc, another one as a double disc, and a third one as a deluxe packaging with book containing the 2CD version. The one CD version is way too limited for both Dire straits and Mark Knopfler solo work. The two CD version unfortunately devotes one CD for Dire straits and the second one to Knopfler's solo work. This is totally unfair to Dire straits work that is not fully represented. The deluxe edition is nothing special, with a book containing photos and a small text, that don't quite please the target group, the serious fan.
vincefisher

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) vincefisher

9 octobre 2018
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7

Wholeheartedly agree. The surface noise throughout is terrible and so prominent in the quiet sections (of which there are many). Dynamics just feel lacking at times. (Played on Linn LP12)
Tonymour

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) as reviewed by Tonymour

26 novembre 2017
edité about 1 year ago
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7

Paradisiac songs by THE master
But oh man, what a crappy pressing.....
Mercury are you pressing records with your shoes ????

the most crap i am facing is with ''mercury'' records generally...
I will avoid this pressing company next time and artits should claim for such negative impact on their art
clmt55

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) clmt55

5 mars 2018
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
shoes? I think big boots. Bad pressing! I will use the cover as a painting and I throw away
the vinyl
Okain

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) Okain

19 avril 2017
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7

Biggest fault with this release is that some songs are censored...Verse 2 of Money for nothing is missing the entire verse, on the recording that is, the verse is included on the lyrics sheet, so one could sing it oneself I guess... Puritans taking the world...don't like the song, don't listen to it? I dunno... Never thought Mark sang about a homosexual here, rather about a "faggot" (see Southpark about the issue, they have a great take on this problem)...
bbark01

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) bbark01

20 avril 2017
edité over 2 years ago
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
It's not really censored, as much as it's using single versions of the songs. The CD has the full length versions. It's too bad they couldn't (or didn't) add a third piece of vinyl so they could include all the songs at full length on the vinyl set as well. Actually, after looking, to include everything on the CD, it'd probably have to be a 4 LP set.
mistreated

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) mistreated

28 février 2016
edité over 2 years ago
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
The gatefold cover of this premium release vinyl lp oozes quality, with a nice shiny picture of a beautiful, iconic, red Fender Stratocaster, reaching up to the heavens toward a threatening sky.The music we all know and love and the sound quality, when played on a decent turntable, is spine- tinglingly clear and spacious and just breathes it's magic all over you. My only gripe concerns the lps inners, stiff card!, believe it or not. Definitely a no no where vinyl is concerned. The lyrics are printed on each inner and a really good job has been done to make this release as good as it could be. So Mercury records, where's the poly inners a release like this cries out for? They should be standard issue with vinyl albums and not an after thought. One last thing, i put my copy into two, top notch poly inners, to protect the vinyl, and then had a bit of a struggle trying to place them inside the gatefold sleeves, without them scrunching up at the corners, another 2mm would've made it much easier to do this. So, C'mon record companies get your act together, a bit more thought is required on your part, not much more, to make these releases the best they can possibly be. Anyway, as an example, i bought, through Discogs, Stevie Nicks's last lp a double vinyl offering called "24 Karat Gold, songs from the vault", deluxe version, and that lp is a gatefold with a lyric insert and nice vinyl friendly, poly inners.lovely. (by the way, a great album).
percydovetonsils

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) percydovetonsils

6 octobre 2017
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
I speak of the flimsy plastic sleeves included with new records. Specialty sleeves never present the same problem. As for card sleeves, it's simply a matter of opening the sleeve against one's body and extracting the record by grasping the run-in. I've never scratched a record in a card sleeve except for a couple of cases where the sleeve was poorly manufactured and couldn't be expanded.
mistreated

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) mistreated

7 novembre 2016
edité over 2 years ago
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
In my experience stiff card inners tend to scuff precious vinyl no matter how carefully LPs are removed and replaced. I use a particular brand of poly inner,(Nagaoka Stat Disc File No 102),must be for more than thirty years now, and have never had a single one bond to the vinyl as you describe.That sort of damage is surely caused by too tight storage, moisture and/or central heating/sunshine, ie: heat. I get the advice about being careful with my own vinyl LPs, but i don't understand the words, 'are manageable with a bit of intuition,' regarding stiff card sleeves. I'd be interested if you could enlighten me, and anyone else who reads these posts, as it may be of help to other collectors on Discogs wondering which is the best way to store their LPs.
percydovetonsils

Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (The Best Of) percydovetonsils

22 avril 2016
en référence à Private Investigations (The Best Of), 2xLP, Comp, 180, 987576-7
Poly inners bond to the vinyl. Stiff cards are manageable with a bit of intuition and don't affect the vinyl unless one is careless.