• lateatnight over 8 years ago

lateatnight edited over 8 years ago
    What have been/are, in your opinion, the most prominent and reliable sources for Electronic Music's activists and enthusiasts?

I am studying this genre - and, possibly, some of its styles in more detail - and I'd like to track changes in trends and tastes by reviewing some good source.
    Yet, I have NO IDEA on the best sources for this genre. I assume Billboard is not one of them :-)
    At the same time, it is not easy to find very niche fanzines in libraries' archives or so.

Suggestions and help are welcome!

Thank you!!

Nobody there giving me a hint? :-(
  • OceanTiki over 8 years ago

"Electronic" is more of a method rather than a "genre".
  • Ron242 over 8 years ago

There is no such thing as a 'reliable source' for music journalism. No easy way. Let's say you categorize it and start with soul, blues, classical and even jazz. Ideally one would design an application (or database (hint)) depicting the lot from start to finish. That would not only categorize the official but also the unofficial, formal and non-formal information et al. This is also why there is so many cultural diversity in music and artists. And i for one am quite pleased for that.
  • Christopher_Jion over 8 years ago

well.... the method enters in as a condition of the artform itself...
    sooo it kinda is a genre.
  • dj_julie over 8 years ago

lateatnight
    What have been/are, in your opinion, the most prominent and reliable sources for Electronic Music's activists and enthusiasts?

sounds like something the fuzz would ask

dj_julie
    sounds like something the fuzz would ask

Ok: let's say I am trying to track the genre, over time. And the genre has styles. I need to monitor what has been said about the genre, over the last decades. Should I give up, or should I maybe try to do my best??
  • synthetixsounds over 8 years ago