• ChuckDK about 1 year ago

Hey everyone! I’m an illustrator with a proposed project called "Stories from the Grooves".

Pick 1 album from your collection and write 1-3 paragraphs of the story behind why it’s important to you/your collection/the situation behind purchase/etc. It can be a silly story or a serious. And then I'll turn it into a mini-comic; hopefully to post online (ie a webcomic).

I can’t promise I’ll be able to draw all the stories (I'll try) but I thought this would make a great illustration project and a great way for me to just hear people’s stories about an album in their collections.

I can be emailed at: storygrooves@gmail.com
    And the comics will be posted at: storiesfromthegrooves.tumblr.com
  • carleedefelice about 1 year ago

I love this idea!
  • rinkrat about 1 year ago

On one trip to look for vinyl in Orange County, we arrived to find the record store closed. While cruising home I noticed a garage sale and figured maybe it wouldn't be a total loss. I found a copy of Yesterday and Today by the Beatles with the Butcher cover clearly visible under the new cover. I asked "How much for the Beatles LP with no record inside?" The answer came back, "10 cents". Needless to say I paid the dime and peeled the new cover off the next day with some isopropyl alcohol. One of my best finds of all time.
  • tcjj00 about 1 year ago

tcjj00 edited about 1 year ago
    Wouldn't know how to write 2-3 paragraphs but my most memorable one is I once picked some records out of an old abandon truck in middle of cow pasture and found Slim Harpo - Baby Scratch My Back on the Excello label, He's a bluesman who recorded in my town on the early 50's

O Yea and the guy I picked them from was kinda loony, he wanted to be a man of god and start a church under a big tent in that cow field
  • theoneillster about 1 year ago

Well!