The World Of Skin* ‎– Ten Songs For Another World

Young God Records ‎– yg cd2, Young God Records ‎– YGCD 2
CD, Album

Elenco tracce Nascondi Riconoscimenti

1 Please Remember Me 5:07
2 Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes
Arranged By [Original Arrangement] – Jarboe, M.Gira*Written-By – Traditional
3 The Child's Right
Percussion [Hand Percussion] – Andrea Pennisi
4 Everything For Maria
Bass Guitar – Tony MaimoneDrum Programming [Drums, Pecussion] – Roli Mosimann
5 I'll Go There, Take Me Home 3:56
6 Black Eyed Dog
Words By, Music By – Nick Drake
7 A Parasite And Other Memories 3:01
8 Dream Dream 5:36
9 You'll Never Forget 3:29
10 Mystery Of Faith
Lyrics By [German Text] – M.Gira*Narrator [German Narration] – Mr. Hans J. Blatter*Translated By – Edda Baumann

Società, ecc.


  • Artwork [Front Cover Assemblage 'Cerberus']E.K.Huckaby*
  • Design [Cover Design], Artwork [Concept]M.Gira*
  • Drum Programming [Drums, Pecussion]M.Gira*, Steve McAllister (tracks: 1 to 3, 5 to 10)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Electric Guitar, Acoustic GuitarMr. Clinton Steele* (tracks: 1, 3 to 6, 9)
  • LayoutDesignland
  • Mastered ByHowie Weinberg
  • Photography ByKeith Maltbey
  • Photography By [Circular Insert Photos Front And Back]Jarboe, M.Gira*
  • ProducerM.Gira*
  • Programmed By [Bass]M.Gira* (tracks: 1 to 3, 5 to 10), Steve McAllister (tracks: 1 to 3, 5 to 10)
  • Recorded By, Mixed BySteve McAllister
  • Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Keyboards [Keys], Sampler [Sound Samples], Tape [Tapes]M.Gira*
  • Vocals, Keyboards [Keys], Piano, Backing Vocals [Background Voices], Performer [Harmonies]Jarboe
  • Words By, Music ByJarboe (tracks: 1, 3 to 5, 7 to 10), M.Gira* (tracks: 1, 3, 5, 7, 9)


Recorded April-June 1990 at B.Monster Studio, N.Y.C.
Mastered at Masterdisk N.Y.C.

Tracks 1, 3, 5, 7, 9: Young Gods Publishing/Island Music.
Tracks 4, 8, 10: Copyright Control.
Track 6: Island Music.

Clinton Steele appears courtesy of Silvertone Records.
Thanks to Rob Collins, Steve McAllister, Steve Berg, Daniel Gira.
Special thanks to Catherine and Nicholas Cresole.
Very special thanks from Jarboe to Mary Ellen.

Manufactured and distributed by Revolver.
Made in England.
℗ & © 1990 Young God Records.

Cat# on back cover, spine and booklet: yg cd2
Cat# on CD: YGCD 2

Codice a barre e altri identificatori

  • Barcode (Text): 5 018615 500223
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5018615500223
  • Matrix / Runout (Mirrored): YGCD 002 · MASTERED BY NIMBUS



Aggiungi recensione



13 gennaio 2018

Ten Songs For Another World was the third in (The World of) Skin trilogy also comprising ‘Blood, Women, Roses’ (1987) and ‘Shame, Humility, Revenge’ (1988). Whereas Jarboe performed all vocals on the 1987 album and Michael Gira all the lead vocals on the 1988 album, this final work sees an even distribution.

Michael’s portion includes the album’s two rock songs ‘I'll Go There, Take Me Home’ and ‘You’ll Never Forget’, plus the alt-folk tracks ‘Please Remember Me’, ‘The Child's Right’ and ‘A Parasite and Other Stories’ which has a lovely melody in contrast to its acerbic lyrics.

Two of these ten songs are covers, and both interpretations are startling. Jarboe concludes her inspired rendition of Ben Jonson’s ‘Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes’ with a recital of The Lord's Prayer over spacious ambient effects. Nick Drake's ‘Black Eyed Dog’ opens with sinister breathing, erupts in a howling inferno and fades away on rhythmic barking.

The folky numbers ‘Dream Dream’ and ‘A Mystery Of Faith’ have a similar understated hypnotic flavour. In the latter, a German narration emerges, faint at first but steadily waxing to overtake and displace the vocal. This male vocal provides an exposition on the identity of the self in its relation to the universe.

Jarboe’s elegy for Maria Callas is the jewel on this crown of an album. Arresting imagery meets striking delivery on ‘Everything For Maria’, a portal to events at the deathbed of the diva. There’s a cinematic immediacy to the scenarios which make them remain in mind.

The mysticism of Skin’s first two albums and Swans’ work of the period is sustained here to deliver a truly otherworldly listening experience.