occidenta67

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) occidenta67

23 novembre 2019
modificato 19 days ago
Remix by mad prof on every single : the best
Remix by mad prof on this album : the one that were not chosen at that time
Other songs : remix of songs that were never released, even those remix

The last past years, make me really think that massive attack doesn't consider his fan as it should be.
The "heat sensitive cover" for the Mezzanine remastered, who care? apart some hipsters.. and finally they are not able to put this out....
The remix from Unkle, Limited to 1000 hand-numbered, make that most of true music lover cannot have the chance to listen it on vinyl..
In 2016, three EP, we have "Dear Friend" with the same title on both side... come on guys!!!!
The single Paradise Circus... only on cd...
And i can go on and on and on......

oh, i forgot.... Mezzanine in DNA spray.... no comment..

Massive Attack = Massive Business Attack
marcoprolo

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) marcoprolo

11 novembre 2019
Surpringsing to me. Thought the cover is gatefold cause of the preview pics. Okay the first is also single covered. Somehow it's strange that I haven't opned it now cause of all that talk I read. No good songs or even available, no good quality, coloured vinyl .. 180 gram or not? Limited? How many?? As collector I'll keep it anyway. ettr open it cause sometimes a quality check is essential. What things get sold 'sealed' 'and therefore 'mint'. Only to sell a maybe bad disc more expensive cause 'sealed' is kinda quality stamp. I open the stuff carefully and take a look. Not to listen to it but check if everythings fine with the pressing, coloured,180gram, downloadcode and gimmicks like inner sheets stickers, posters, cards, CD, etc. inside? That's in my opinion better than buy saled stuff which is maybe not what it should be..
Is that now a 180 ram , coloured, limited (how many) good soundig viyl, or what is it? And is that downloadecode inside? Maybe someone help out i case I don't open it. Somehow it looks a bit like they need money. Why put noe out '98 stuff in a hip outfit? Sounds relaxed, listened to it - but not the vinyl.
1Sullow1

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) 1Sullow1

1 novembre 2019
modificato about 1 month ago
Wow. So the 20th anniversary deluxe 3 disc vinyl box set w/coffee table book boils down to this (as evidenced by the fact that this disk is labeled side E and side F). At least it’s something…
s.pressman

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) s.pressman

5 novembre 2019

As announced by Massive Attack before this release...

"We’ve decided to withdraw the Mezzanine special edition package as the design materials were no longer available.
After many months of extra work and research we felt that the alternative packaging ideas were not relevant to the original album project and decided to release the Mad Professor Dub versions instead in order to make use of the vinyl.
Apologies to anyone who pre-ordered the special edition."

so yeah.... this is all we get...
Still - it's pretty good.
mm420rbital

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) mm420rbital

13 ottobre 2019
After a bit of comparison it seems to me that the only tune on this album that has been previously released is Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise) which is identical to Back/She Comes. While all other versions are similar to those that exist on Singles 90/98 they are indeed alternate dubs. I still do agree with CtheB that I would love to have seen dubs of the rest of the songs from the original album especially Mezzanine as that's my favorite track from it. Here's to hoping some Mad Professor versions surface!
inkling23

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) inkling23

11 ottobre 2019
My copy didn’t include a download code. Anyone else? Also, is that front sticker removable?
s.pressman

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) s.pressman

7 novembre 2019

Both Mezzanine album and Mad Prof downloads apparently (I only just logged on to redeem downloads... haven't listened to them yet).
buhloone

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) buhloone

7 novembre 2019
Ordered mine on September 6th. Contacted support and they said no download card comes with the vinyl. Is your download of the remixes or just a download of the original Mezzanine album?
s.pressman

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) s.pressman

5 novembre 2019

Hi,
I ordered mine on 16th August from the same site...

https://store.massiveattack.com/products/massive-attack-vs-mad-professor-part-ii-mezzanine-remix-tapes-98-lp

Download card included.

Currently the website makes no mention of download included... i can't recall if it mentioned it being included it when I purchased it....

Perhaps only the first ??? amount did and then it was no longer?

When did you purchase yours?
s.pressman

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) s.pressman

5 novembre 2019
modificato about 1 month ago

I bought mine direct from the Massive Attack online store and it includes a "Sound of Vinyl" download card/code.
buhloone

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) buhloone

2 novembre 2019
Contacted Sandbag who supports the Massive Attack online store and here is their response:

“Thanks for your email.

Unfortunately, there is no digital download included with purchases on our store. I can't say for certain if this is the case across all online retailers but sadly I can't provide one for you.

Sorry for any inconvenience caused.”

So there is no download card included with the vinyl. Not sure where the person who created this release page purchased their copy. Maybe they provided a download link via their site. Kinda sucks
buhloone

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) buhloone

19 ottobre 2019
Same. No download code with my copy either. Guess I will have to buy the digital version separately.
CtheB

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) as reviewed by CtheB

2 ottobre 2019
modificato 2 months ago
These are supposedly previously unreleased dub mixes, but "Inertia creeps (floating on dubwise)" seems to be the previously released "Back/she comes", which appeared on the "Inertia Creeps" single and the "Singles 90/98" boxed set, both 1998.

As for the rest, I'm disappointed that most of these tracks are ones for which a Mad Professor remix was already available; I'd hoped that there would be dub mixes of "Dissolved girl", "Man next door", "Black milk", and the title track. They would have made this a more worthwhile standalone release.
mm420rbital

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) mm420rbital

13 ottobre 2019
For what its worth only one of these mixes was featured on the Singles. I have a good bit of these singles and while a lot of the Mad Professor dubs are similar these are different versions. All the times are different for each song and MP has seem to done more than just one dub for each tune. For instance Teardrop is titled Teardrop (Mazaruni Dub One) hinting that there is more than one version. On the single for Teardrop there is a MP Mazaruni Vocal Version and Instrumental both of which are different to the version on this album. The same is evident for all mixes on this album except for Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise) which seems to be the same as Back/She Comes
olivgrau

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) olivgrau

13 ottobre 2019
Oh yes, 5 mixes are already available on the singles. In fact, a disappointing release. I just bought the three "new" mixes online and compiled it with the available mixes to this album.
Horst-aus-Wien

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) as reviewed by Horst-aus-Wien

27 settembre 2019

Because of "No Protection" I travelled to see the Mad Professor live in Vienna. No letdown here - superb remixes from MA's masterpiece. 5 out of 5 stars.
HiFiSy

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) HiFiSy

27 settembre 2019
The prettiest looking record and nastiest dubs. Love the sound of this album - many highlights. Must find out why its taken so long to surface.
zevulon

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) zevulon

8 ottobre 2019
No, that would be different mixes, c comment from CtheB
"..Inertia creeps (floating on dubwise)" seems to be the previously released "Back/she comes", which appeared on the "Inertia Creeps" single and the "Singles 90/98" boxed set, both 1998.

As for the rest, I'm disappointed that most of these tracks are ones for which a Mad Professor remix was already available;.."

steven_finnegan

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) steven_finnegan

26 settembre 2019
Good to hear. I purchased this blind on the strength of the original and, of course, No Protection. Look forward to my copy arriving in the mail
giantreptile

Massive Attack V Mad Professor - Massive Attack V Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes '98) as reviewed by giantreptile

25 settembre 2019
As a dub fan, and of the opinion that Mezzanine is a 10/10, I came into this with great expectations. I tend to shy away from remix projects, and dub for me can be a very fine line, i.e. 70's era focused. So with all of that, I'm here to say that this album is essential.