Najee ‎– Plays The Songs From The Key Of Life - A Tribute To Stevie Wonder

EMI ‎– E2-35704
CD, Album, Club Edition

収録曲 隠す クレジット

1 Love's In Need Of Love Today
Bass – Chuck RaineyClavinet, Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Ronnie FosterDrums – James GadsonGuitar – Ray FullerPercussion – Sheila E.Soprano Saxophone – Najee
2 Have A Talk With God
Bass – Chuck RaineyDrums – James GadsonElectric Piano [Wurlitzer], Synthesizer [Arp Odyssey, Memory Moog] – George DukeGuitar – Phil UpchurchSoprano Saxophone – Najee
3 Village Ghetto Land
Flute [Flute With Strings] – Najee
4 Contusion
Alto Saxophone, Lyricon – NajeeBass – Freddy Washington*Composed By [Interlude Section] – George Duke, NajeeDrums – Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler*Electric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer [Fairlight] – George DukeGuitar – MIchael SembelloPercussion – Sheila E.
5 Sir Duke
Alto Saxophone, Tenor Vocals – Daniel Higgins*Bass – Freddy Washington*Drums – Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler*Flute – NajeeGuitar – MIchael SembelloPiano – George DukeTrombone – Reggie Young (2)Trumpet – Gary Grant, Jerry Hey
6 I Wish
Alto Saxophone – NajeeAlto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Daniel Higgins*Bass – Byron Miller, Chuck RaineyDrums – Michael White (5)Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – David T. Walker, Ray FullerHandclaps – George Duke, Rashid Duke, Wayne HolmesOrgan – George DukeTambourine – Sheila E.Trumpet – Gary Grant, Jerry Hey
7 Knocks Me Off My Feet
Bass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Mike White*Electric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer [Mini Moog] – Greg PhillinganesFlute – NajeeGuitar – David T. WalkerPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaSynthesizer [Memory Moog] – George Duke
8 Pastime Paradise
Bass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler*Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Sylvester Rivers, Jr.*Flute – NajeeGuitar – Ray Parker Jr.Organ [Farfisa], Synth [Super Jupiter] – George DukePercussion – Paulinho Da CostaTenor Saxophone – Daniel Higgins*Trombone – Reggie Young (2)Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Gary Grant, Jerry Hey
9 Summer Soft
Bass – Chuck Rainey, Freddy Washington*Drums – Michael White (5)Flute – NajeeGuitar – David T. Walker, Ray FullerPercussion – Sheila E.Piano – Greg PhillinganesSoloist, Piano – Herbie Hancock
10 Ordinary Pain
Alto Saxophone – NajeeBass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler*Electric Piano [Rhodes Pad] – Sylvester Rivers, Jr.*Electric Piano [Rhodes], Synthesizer [Mini Moog Bass, Memory Moog] – George DukeGuitar – Ray Parker Jr.Percussion – Paulinho Da Costa
11 Saturn/Ebony Eyes
Bass – Chuck RaineyDrums – James GadsonGuitar – Phil UpchurchOther [The Girls] – Latisha Jones, Rekesha StewartPercussion – Paulinho Da CostaPiano, Vocoder [Roland], Synthesizer [Mini Moog, Arp 2600, Memory Moog] – George DukeRecorded By – Rashid DukeSoprano Saxophone – Najee
12 Isn't She Lovely/Joy Inside My Tears
Bass – Chuck RaineyGuitar – James Gadson, Wah Wah Watson*Piano, Synthesizer [Memory Moog, Arp String Ensemble] – George DukeTenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute – NajeeVoice [Baby Sounds] – Jamal Rasheed (2)Wind Chimes – Sheila E.
13 Black Man
Clavinet, Electric Piano [Wurlitzer], Synthesizer [Memory Moog], Electronic Drums [Synare] – George DukeDrums – Michael White (5)Guitar – Paul Jackson, Jr.*Soloist, Bass [Piccolo Bass] – Stanley ClarkeSoprano Saxophone – NajeeTenor Saxophone – Daniel Higgins*Trombone – Reggie Young (2)Trumpet – Gary Grant, Jerry Hey
14 Nigiculela-Es Una Historia/I Am Singing
Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin – Paul Jackson, Jr.*Flute [Alto Flute] – NajeePercussion – Paulinho Da CostaSynthesizer [Arp Odyssey Bass] – George Duke
15 If It's Magic
Flute [Alto Flute] – NajeePiano, Synthesizer [Arp Odyssey], Synthesizer [Arp String Ensemble] – George Duke
16 As
Bass – Freddy Washington*Drums – Leon 'Ndugu' Chancler*Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Patrice RushenElectric Piano [Wurlitzer], Synthesizer [Memory Moog, Mini Moog, Arp String Ensemble, Arp Odyssey] – George DukeFlute – NajeeGuitar – Ray FullerPercussion – Sheila E.
17 Another Star
Acoustic Guitar – Paul Jackson, Jr.*Bass – Chuck RaineyDrums – James GadsonElectric Guitar – Ray FullerFlute – NajeePercussion – Sheila E.Piano – Ronnie FosterPiano [Piano Fills] – Patrice RushenSynthesizer [Memory Moog Pads] – George Duke
18 All Day Sucker/Easy Goin' Evening
Bass – Chuck RaineyClavinet, Electric Piano [Rhodes], Vocoder [Bode Vocoder], Synthesizer [Arp Odyssey, Mini Moog] – George DukeDrums – James GadsonGuitar – Wah Wah Watson*Soprano Saxophone, Flute – Najee




This CD was available through Columbia House membership.

All songs produced by George Duke for George Duke Enterprises.

All tracks recorded at O'Henry Studio, Burbank, CA except, "Black Man" at Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, CA and "I Am Singing" and "If It's Magic" at LeGonks Studio, Los Angeles, CA.

George Duke appears courtesy of Warner Bros Records.
Stanley Clarke appears courtesy of Epic Records.
Patrice Rushen appears courtesy of Sin-Drome Records.
Herbie Hancock appears courtesy of Mercury Records.
MIchael White appears courtesy of Noteworthy Records.
Ray Parker Jr. appears courtesy of Arista Records.
Paul Jackson, Jr. appears courtesy of Sweeca.

SPECIAL THANKS TO Dave Rosas, Karen Taylor, Frances Pennington, Gary Beech, Andrea Torchia , and all the staff at EMI Records.

To Mr. David Vetter (my first saxophone and flute teacher) for pointing me in the right direction. Thanks to Rosemarie Castanza, Larry Greenwich, and Michael Rod.

To Emilio Lyons at Rayburns Music in Boston.
Ruben Allen and staff at the Sax Shop in North Hollywood, CA. Stewart Killens in New York, and Walt, Will and Ken at the House Of Woodwinds, Oakland, CA.

Thanks so Sam Wards for his assistance on "Mood Indigo".

To my sons, Jamal and Noah who participated in the recording of "Isn't She Lovely". To the rest of my family for their love and support throughout the years.

To Mr. Stevie Wonder for the inspiration of your music.

Most of all, a special thanks to The Creator, who makes all things possible.

Thanks to all the artists, musicians and arrangers who participated in bringing their unique skill to this record.

Photos of Amazon River/Brazil/Landsat Image courtesy of EROS Data Center Geological Survey.


  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L043
  • Matrix / Runout: 35704RE1 1-1-7
  • Rights Society: ASCAP