Emperor Norton


Emperor Norton Records, was a Los Angeles-based electronica, hip-hop, and dance-music record label. Among the artists featured on the label were Ladytron, Arling & Cameron, Money Mark, Ugly Duckling, and Fantastic Plastic Machine. Additionally, it released the soundtracks to such movies as Lost in Translation, CQ and The Virgin Suicides. The company was named after Joshua A. Norton, a San Francisco citizen noted for proclaiming himself Emperor of the United States and Protector of Mexico in 1859. The company was purchased by Rykodisc in 2004 and was then acrimoniously shut down later that year, with Rykodisc inheriting its back-catalog. On March 23, 2006, it was announced that Warner Music Group acquired the Ryko Corporation for $67.5 million.

Parent Label:Rykodisc
Sublabels:March Records
Contact Info:

Emperor Norton Records
102 Robinson Street, Los Angeles CA 90026
tel: (213) 427-1580, fax: (213) 427-1588



Edit Label
Data quality rating: Correct
295 submissions pending


ArtistTitle (Format)Catalog NumberYear