db1980

United Record Pressing db1980

January 6, 2021
edited 11 months ago
I don't know how many United pressings I have total, but the ones I have are mostly fine with only one or two having notes indicating issues, my Cage The Elephant is actually a pretty nice pressing for example and the other reviews seem to agree. Is the bad reputation due to just inconsistent quality, or are there certain years, pressings batches, etc that are garbage? Have I just been lucky?
patientot

United Record Pressing patientot

March 11, 2021
A stopped clock is still right twice a day. Some people do get lucky with decent pressings but many people are just not very picky and do not know how to identify things like a record pressed off-center. They think it is supposed to sound like that with the arm swaying side to side and the music getting seasick. Many people have poor pitch sensitivity as well. Consider also that many people play records on plastic junk boxes.
movceo

United Record Pressing movceo

March 1, 2021
United was particularly bad between 2012-2016. I found they improved after that, although their pressings are still more on the mediocre side of things.
movceo

United Record Pressing movceo

December 12, 2020
I should also mention another way to identify United pressings that don't have the ⓤ in the deadwax (such as those from Sony and Universal) - if there is "NRP" in the deadwax, it is probably pressed at United. NRP (Nashville Record Productions) is the company United uses to cut their lacquers. I don't often see "NRP" in the deadwax of anything that wasn't pressed at United.
nelson_iii

United Record Pressing nelson_iii

September 23, 2020
Have they stopped putting "ⓤ" or "Ⓤ" in the deadwax as of 2020?
movceo

United Record Pressing movceo

July 4, 2021
edited 5 months ago
So it seems Sony/Columbia has allowed United to press the ⓤ into the runouts again - Two recent examples Giveon - When It's All Said And Done... Take Time and Peach Pit (3) - Being So Normal
nelson_iii

United Record Pressing nelson_iii

October 4, 2020
At least some plants use a catalog numbering system in their runouts.

So, here's another article on Analog Planet by Malachi Lui (https://www.analogplanet.com/content/vinyl-review-explosion-spiritualized-bob-dylan-and-carly-rae-jepsen) about the same Dylan record, but he goes as far as saying "...they discontinued the etched “Ⓤ”.
movceo

United Record Pressing movceo

October 1, 2020
nelson_iii
Gotcha. According to Analog Planet Bob Dylan - Rough And Rowdy Ways is a United Press without the ⓤ which I wouldn't have figured out without the article. A Sony release.

Sony must have adopted the same policy as Universal. I think it's a shame because we really should be able to identify where these records were pressed. It's super easy with CD's, for example, because of the IFPI numbers. I wish we had a similar system for vinyl. Another really bad pressing plant that is difficult to identify is Erika Records, as they leave no clues in their deadwax at all.
nelson_iii

United Record Pressing nelson_iii

September 27, 2020
Gotcha. According to Analog Planet Bob Dylan - Rough And Rowdy Ways is a United Press without the ⓤ which I wouldn't have figured out without the article. A Sony release.
movceo

United Record Pressing movceo

September 26, 2020
I know that a few years back, Universal told them not to put the ⓤ in the deadwax anymore - their reasoning was apparently that they considered it "advertising", but I suspect it's because they didn't want customers to know they were used United as a pressing plant (due to United's bad reputation). It looks like some of the non-Universal 2020 pressings still have the ⓤ in the deadwax.
o-l-y

United Record Pressing o-l-y

June 30, 2020
I wish there was a way to have known about how terrible United was before working with them. I put an order in last October 2019 and I still haven't received vinyl order as of June 2020, because of their lack of customer service (Nate Bridges) and ability to problem solve. I received over 5 test pressings that sound like garbage, a ton of surface noise like scratches on 180 gram of vinyl. Now after months of trying to get them to figure this out I have a different contact person (Beth Procter) who is dropping the ball again, giving me a run around and not following up with me when she promised she would. I've been waiting for over a week to hear about vinyl labels printed off centered. It's basically a complete and total shit show and I feel incredibly ripped off. I just want to prevent any further catastrophes for others and make sure no else has to go through this nightmare of endless back and forth.
VinylOnly1

United Record Pressing VinylOnly1

September 20, 2019
Bad pressing..Worst of my whole collection. Never again. Go for CD. (Portishead Third)

joeyms16

United Record Pressing joeyms16

November 21, 2021
just go for a better pressing plant u don’t have to go for cd
soukous25

United Record Pressing soukous25

August 10, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
very bad pressing, avoid if you dont want to get disappointed straight from the opening... you can expect everything, bad center, small dents, surface noise etc. such quality should not exist nowadays, i am suprised impulse gave them to press their reissues... means they dont give a f.. about quality after all.
kyle15

United Record Pressing kyle15

December 11, 2018
This place pumps out scratched, off-center, DIRTY records. They're nearly worse than Rainbo, who at least doesn't ship product that looks like it was used as hockey pucks. These guys don't seem to have any care for quality control. For shame for shame.
joeyms16

United Record Pressing joeyms16

November 21, 2021
united bought rainbo’s equipment when they folded a few years ago, sad to see united has become even worse than rainbo now. my united pressings are worse than my rainbo pressings
ApolloBoy

United Record Pressing ApolloBoy

August 5, 2019
Also I had to bore out the center hole with a razor blade because it was too small and I had to wiggle it onto the spindle...
ApolloBoy

United Record Pressing ApolloBoy

August 5, 2019
I recently got a copy of Chvrches' "Every Open Eye" which was pressed by United and was pretty disappointed with the QC. The labels on both sides are so off-center that the runout groove is partially covered up by the label (!) and there's a consistent click in between a couple of tracks that no amount of cleaning could fix. Now I know to be careful next time LOL.
vinylfilmaholic

United Record Pressing vinylfilmaholic

December 17, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
Rainbo’s stuff can come out looking pretty hockey puck as well. Really sad. Makes me sad that a lot of the majors use these guys. Gotta stick to importing records I guess.
MrWordsWorth

United Record Pressing as reviewed by MrWordsWorth

September 21, 2018
Not sure who is worse - United or Rainbo, but given the lack of quality control and the high frequency of off-center, warped, noisy vinyl both press, does it really matter? You have to think they really don't care about music at all based on what they pump out. It's just product and we suffer as a result.
BeatlELO10538

United Record Pressing BeatlELO10538

May 12, 2019
Rainbo. Definitely Rainbo. Abbey Road sounds like it was played in a washing machine.
REENO

United Record Pressing as reviewed by REENO

September 14, 2018
Very few domestic pressing plants have any degree of Quality Control these days, especially compared to the EU or Japanese plants, which pride themselves on pressing quality records.
United Pressing seems to press a lot of off-centered records, as do most USA-based plants. Sad really, as the mastering engineer's work is rendered worthless if a record is not perfectly centered.