Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence image

Artificial Intelligence is a series of albums by Warp Records released from 1992–1994 to exhibit the capabilities and sounds of electronic music. Warp described the new (post-rave electronic) music as "electronic listening music" to clarify that it was meant more for the mind than the body. The sleevenote on the 1992 compilation said "Are you sitting comfortably? Artificial Intelligence is for long journeys, quiet nights and club drowsy dawns. Listen with an open mind."

The series is remarkable for its inclusion of groups and individuals who would later become leaders in modern electronic music, techno, and ambient, such as Alex Paterson, Plaid, Richard D James, Richie Hawtin, and Autechre. Every album in the series, aside from Dimension Intrusion, has its name enclosed in parentheses on its cover. Each of the albums was released on vinyl, cassette and CD; each of the artist albums was also released on limited edition coloured or transparent vinyl. A video release, entitled (Motion), was also released for the series. Finally, each release except Ginger was distributed in the United States by TVT/Wax Trax! Records.

Parent Label:Warp Records


Edit Label
Data quality rating: Correct
52 submissions pending


ArtistTitle (Format)Catalog NumberYear