Artists I Have Seen Live

By DrSilence DrSilence
updated 3 months ago

This is just for fun, and because as I get older, I sometimes have trouble remembering whether or not I've seen certain bands. I figured I'd better write it all down before my memory starts playing tricks on me. The process of making this list is actually bringing back a lot of memories, not just of the bands themselves, but of events associated with certain concerts.

This list is limited both by memory and by artist pages available on Discogs.

  1. Scorpions

    5/23/80, Cow Palace, San Francisco. First concert. My dad took me and a friend, and I remember him being dismayed at the rampant drug use and falling down (literally) drunk people in line. He also was reluctant to let us get too close to the stage.

    7/18/82 Oakland Coliseum, Oakland, CA
    9/4/82 Oakland Arena, Oakland, CA

  2. Ted Nugent

    5/23/80. No comment.

  3. Van Halen

    10/9/1980, Oakland Arena. Nosebleed seats. This was the last concert my dad took me to. He fell asleep.

  4. Iron Maiden

    7/18/82 Day on the Green, Oakland Coliseum, Oakland, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/iron-maiden/1982/oakland-alameda-county-coliseum-oakland-ca-53d3afa9.html
    9/4/1982 Oakland Arena, Oakland, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/iron-maiden/1982/oakland-alameda-county-coliseum-arena-oakland-ca-5bd01784.html
    3/21/85 Cow Palace, San Francisco, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/iron-maiden/1985/cow-palace-daly-city-ca-43d3ab9f.html

  5. Girlschool

    9/4/82 Oakland Arena, Oakland, CA

  6. Motörhead

    8/13/83 The Stone, San Francisco, CA. This was my first non-arena live show. I got to talk to Lemmy a little bit. He chortled at my Mercyful Fate shirt. https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/motorhead/1983/the-stone-san-francisco-ca-4bdb9722.html

    11/30/85 Henry J. Kaiser convention center, Oakland, CA

    8/14/15 Warfield, San Francisco, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/motorhead/2015/the-warfield-san-francisco-ca-3f7c19f.html

  7. Metallica

    9/3/83 The Stone, San Francisco, CA
    3/15/85 Kabuki Theater, San Francisco, CA (got there late and then got kicked out for stagediving, so didn't see the entire show).
    8/24/85 Ruthie's Inn, Berkeley, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/metallica/1985/ruthies-inn-berkeley-ca-43d6d7e7.html

  8. Raven (6)

    9/3/83 The Stone, San Francisco, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/raven/1983/the-stone-san-francisco-ca-13f7a5d9.html
    8/22/08 The Rockit Room, San Francisco, CA
    7/24/10 Tidal Wave Festival, McLaren Park Amphitheater, San Francisco, CA

  9. Armored Saint

    8/8/83 Ruthie's Inn, Berkeley, CA. This was my first show at Ruthie's.

  10. The Faction (2)

    1984 or '85 at the New Varsity Theater, Palo Alto, CA
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/flyerannex/6607689207/in/photostream/

  11. Ill Repute

    1984 or '85 at the New Varsity Theater, Palo Alto, CA

  12. The Drab

    1984 or '85 at the New Varsity Theater, Palo Alto, CA

  13. Mercyful Fate

    10/21/84 Club Can't Tell, Sacramento, CA (A two hour drive on a school night to see Mercyful Fate's second ever U.S. show). https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/mercyful-fate/1984/club-cant-tell-sacramento-ca-3d62967.html Ticket stub here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/flyerannex/6607630943/in/dateposted/

    10/26/84 Kabuki Theater, San Francisco, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/mercyful-fate/1984/kabuki-theater-san-francisco-ca-33db3cb1.html Ticket stub here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/flyerannex/6607635221/in/dateposted/

  14. 14

    Exciter

    Exciter

    7/24/85 The Stone, San Francisco, CA

  15. 15

    Voïvod

    Voïvod

    6/10/86 Keystone Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
    6/12/86 The Stone, San Francisco, CA
    5/25/87 Stage Coach Inn, San Jose, CA
    Show in S.F. with Eric Forrest on vocals. Late nineties.
    11/17/12 Fox Theater, Oakland, CA
    2/20/15 Oakland Metro, Oakland, CA
    6/7/16 The Ritz, San Jose, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/voivod/2016/the-ritz-san-jose-ca-63968e3f.html

  16. 16

    Anvil

  17. Possessed

    4/12/85 Kabuki Theater, San Francisco, CA

  18. Celtic Frost

    6/10/86 Keystone Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
    6/12/86 The Stone, San Francisco, CA
    10/3/06 The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/celtic-frost/2006/the-fillmore-san-francisco-ca-63d98a33.html

  19. Running Wild

    6/10/86 Keystone Palo Alto, Palo Alto, CA
    6/12/86 The Stone, San Francisco, CA

  20. 21

    G.B.H.

  21. Dirty Rotten Imbeciles

    2/21/86 Sherwood Hall, Salinas

  22. Plasmatics (2)

    Sometime in May, 1987? One Step Beyond, Santa Clara, California

  23. 25

    Melvins