Candy_Guru

Biosphere - Departed Glories as reviewed by Candy_Guru

May 19, 2018
referencing Departed Glories, CD, Album, STS281CD

There's an interesting story behind this album, and even behind the cover photo... but that aside, is the music itself any good? I'm sorry to say that this is the weakest point in Biosphere's otherwise exceptional catalogue. Too much air, too little substance.
jonarmst

Biosphere - Departed Glories jonarmst

September 23, 2017
referencing Departed Glories, CD, Album, STS281CD
Well, I've got an unpopular admission to make: I was the guy who didn't like Biosphere's supposedly "seminal" album "Microgravity" back in the day: I found the excessive use of "spacey" vocal samples from the likes of astronaut recordings and self-hypnosis tapes to be a bit contrived off the bat, with the whole effort coming off as a bit cloying with some inappropriate, New Agey sort of piano type sounds (keep in mind I haven't listened to this since probably 1994 so it's not exactly fresh in my head.)

Fast forward almost a quarter of a century and I decided to check up on some of his more recent output, and I'm very glad I did! "Departed Glories" is probably one of the best ambient albums of the decade. It definitely shows a LOT of evolution over the years: this is certainly not the "spaced out vocal sample" sort of ambient you'd expect from the early 90's -- it's more like an evolution of Zoviet France inspired "processed soundscapes" although Biosphere might have beaten ZF at their own game here. Truly an innovative and excellent recording and it is very heartening to see someone not only at it after such a long time but still continuing to one-up themselves in the quality department.
vinylvine

Biosphere - Departed Glories vinylvine

June 12, 2017
referencing Departed Glories, CD, Album, STS281CD
A very good ambient recording from Biosphere. Nothing like I've ever heard, at least not while awake.
Not for everyone. But for the ones who likes it, I would suggest in twenty years tlme you'll play and treasure it still.
Sorry_Mom

Biosphere - Departed Glories as reviewed by Sorry_Mom

March 21, 2017
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP

An unexpected gem for me. Not a big fan of the cover, tho the story behind the album helps. This album reminds me of Bill Nelson's "Chance Encounters in the Garde of Light" - an airy 80's ambient masterpiece. But it is darker. Like a bad dream. Almost frustrating at points. Some songs feel trapped in a moment of danger. Whilst others feel like you found the perfect hiding place in your mind. His best since N-Plants in my opinion. Cheers.
Sorry_Mom

Biosphere - Departed Glories Sorry_Mom

April 25, 2017
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP

I agree, the cover has grown on me esp considering the inspiration behind it.
cpeck

Biosphere - Departed Glories cpeck

April 13, 2017
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP

Great review, well put. I would argue that the photograph on the cover is evocative of exactly this: "...darker. Like a bad dream. Almost frustrating at points. Some songs feel trapped in a moment of danger. "
bell-end

Biosphere - Departed Glories bell-end

November 28, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, CD, Album, STS281CD
Missed out on the ltd vinyl editions on this,not sure how that's even possible because I'm on bleep's mailing list?!!
Can't win 'em all I guess!
notec

Biosphere - Departed Glories as reviewed by notec

October 27, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP
the problem with releasing a non-gatefold package with multimedia (this package comes w/CD in plain white cardstock) and tight shrink wrapping is - you end up with damaged vinyl (lots of scratches on the surface shaped like the cd. the pressure was so severe that it left black ink cd hub imprints on the inside of the outer sleeve from the cd pressing up against the black paper inner sleeves of the records. both lps had edge mutilations (scuffs) that extended into both lp lead-ins making replay very noisy (VG/G+). the surface on all 4 sides of the lps suffer from bad smearing/scuffing from said pressure 'caused by the "floating," dragged around cd inside the outer sleeve. music like this is best heard when the vinyl is quiet. having a flair sticker stuck to the front cover ruins the cover also, imo....

sharing the cover with Black Forest / Black Sea - Black Forest / Black Sea 2003 release
reTcon

Biosphere - Departed Glories reTcon

November 19, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP
I never understood the categories for vinyl on discogs.. Realistically, there are only three and a half:
(near)MINT - scratchy - unplayable.
when you buy VG/ VG+ you never know what you get.. mostly those records are so scratchy they are close to unplayable.
and the category "Good" means worn out, smeared and noisy records. Sorry for the rant, have you made similar experiences?
MU-SICK

Biosphere - Departed Glories as reviewed by MU-SICK

October 11, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, CD, Album, STS281CD
Best Ambient Album in a while.
Serious Mysticism....the Story behind it (musick for a nun hiding in the woods. ..Short version), sums it up.
This is so good!!!
Get it, no matter which colour, format....
Livysound

Biosphere - Departed Glories Livysound

September 23, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, STS281LP, STS281CD
Nice one Mark Trimbee.... let’s buy a copy and take the piss selling it at extortionate prices!
Good to see people like you who have obviously supported Geir Jenssen output since day dot!
And equally well done Smalltown Supersound for limiting this to a 100 copies on clear vinyl.
Yours sincerely A.Very disappointed Biosphere fan and collector!
bell-end

Biosphere - Departed Glories bell-end

September 28, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, STS281LP, STS281CD
I would be interested in either the white or clear vinyl.have a look at what I'm selling,possibly there I possibility for trade?
mrsuds

Biosphere - Departed Glories mrsuds

September 26, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, STS281LP, STS281CD

If You a biosphere fan it was announced on his social accounts as bleep limited version - I bought from bleep for 32 bucks .. and it was available whole day... at the end You can buy regular version so dont complain .
kuma.chan

Biosphere - Departed Glories kuma.chan

September 23, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, STS281LP, STS281CD
I agree but at the same time if I saw it I would have bought an extra copy to flip if I had seen it :D I missed this one but did get the white vinyl pressing that followed shortly after (and only bought one copy to give others a chance ;) )
miodek

Biosphere - Departed Glories miodek

August 21, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP
These are one of the inspirations for Jenssen’s latest project, which he began working on this project around five years ago, while he was based temporarily in Krakow, Poland. Living near the Wolski forest, his daily walk took him past sites - beautiful and at the same time terrible - where Poles had been executed during the second world war. After researching the area he discovered that a Polish medieval queen Bronislawa, had hidden among the trees with some nuns in the 13th century to escape the invading Tartar hordes, and that a monument to her memory had been built and then destroyed by invading Austrians in the 19th.

It made him speculate about what kind of music someone like Bronislawa might have heard while trembling among the trees? Not real music, surely, but something the fears in the mind might conjure up. He went in search of local folk music, from Poland and Ukraine, and began to work with that material to transform it into something reflecting psychological trauma.

Around the same time he stumbled on Prokudin-Gorsky’s photographs and was immediately struck by the way they brought history, with its long departed souls, a little bit nearer. One image in particular, of an Armenian woman in a forest in what is now Turkey, especially got under his skin. ‘The crystal clear yet haunting atmosphere fascinated me,’ he says.

All of these inspirational elements came together to provide the necessary propulsion to make Departed Glories, an album that sets the back of the neck hairs quivering in just the same way. It’s almost entirely constructed from hundreds of snippets of Eastern European And Russian folk music recordings, melted together to transform them into 17 unsettling and occasionally blindingly radiant beatless tracks. Each sample fragment is like a sliver of glass plate, and like the photos, it has left a music that is radiant, ghostly and unforgettable.

Source: http://smalltownsupersound.robotmerch.com/en/smalltown-supersound/biosphere-(pre-order)/c-72/p-1287?ref=cat
BassBytesRecords

Biosphere - Departed Glories BassBytesRecords

September 24, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP
This is brilliant info, thanks. I'm loving this album, I think it's up there with his best work.
dr_mercury

Biosphere - Departed Glories dr_mercury

September 21, 2016
referencing Departed Glories, 2xLP, Album + CD, Album, STS281LP
Thanks for the background information on this release. Really anticipate hearing this even more now.