Harrison_Bergeron

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth as reviewed by Harrison_Bergeron

September 10, 2020
edited 5 months ago
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, CD, Album, mex228

I'm still flummoxed that "Titanic Rising" is the more critically acclaimed and appreciated album over "Front Row Seat to Earth". Not that I'm complaining--I'm glad Natalie's finally receiving the overdue accolades she deserves.

But, "Front Row" to me is clearly Weyes' finest album and is oddly underappreciated. With powerfully poignant songcraft, cohesion, and emotional pull, I always find myself drawn in and submerged by this music.

I'm sure Natalie's sick of the Karen Carpenter comparison at this point, but on this LP she undeniably embodies those qualities that made Karen a once-in-a-generation musician: the vocal and songwriting chops as well as depths of emotion to bring us along on a spiritual journey.
Kraftwerker1981

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth Kraftwerker1981

September 2, 2020
edited 5 months ago
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, CD, Album, mex228
Got a brand new copy via Resident Records in Brighton a few weeks ago. Sounds great, with no surface noise, pops or crackles
purlieu

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth purlieu

November 8, 2020
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, CD, Album, mex228
Why would there be surface noise or pops on a CD??
IzzeLupin

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth IzzeLupin

March 20, 2020
edited 10 months ago
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Blu, MEX 228
Had an earlier pressing that was terrible sounding. This one is a slightly better mix (still not great on a few tracks), but my copy has a lot of pops and extra noise which is annoying. This may be because the inner sleeve really clings to the disc and is barely big enough, had this same issue on a Drugdealer album as well. Guess it's a Mexican Summer issue in general, hope they sort it out.
IzzeLupin

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth IzzeLupin

March 20, 2020
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, mex228, MEX 228
Honestly she deserves better than the poor quality of this scratchy, muddled pressing. Please step your game up and honor these great songs.
guillen.memo

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth guillen.memo

February 26, 2020
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Blu, MEX 228
Far superior pressing than original one. Still sounds muddled, but my copy is free of clicks and pops.
steresi

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth steresi

March 3, 2020
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Blu, MEX 228
It's a pretty good pressing. I noticed some distortion on her vocals on "Diary." You hearing any of that? Maybe it's just mine.
peterbourbon

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth peterbourbon

March 15, 2017
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, mex228, MEX 228
Hm - my copy sounds good. A few clicks and pops here and there, but nothing dramatic. Maybe luck? Well - finally it's GZ Media...and with them it's always a gambling - we know it.
WesHeadley

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth WesHeadley

January 30, 2017
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, mex228, MEX 228
The vinyl quality is not good. Cleaning repeatedly may improve it-- but it's a mediocre pressing at best. Mexican Summer seems to not care much about the quality of their premier products judging from the number of bad pressings I've purchased from this label. Pity-- they do a disservice to their signed artists. The music is really good. More's the pity.
drd77

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth drd77

January 1, 2017
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, mex228, MEX 228
I like the music, but the vinyl quality is not very good in my opinion. It sounds muddy compared to streaming from Apple Music. It's also very noisy.
Anyone else notice this?
joern.a.schneider

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth as reviewed by joern.a.schneider

October 24, 2016
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, mex228, MEX 228

7 Words- awesome!! Anthem... ! Best tune for autumn-days... an the rest of the year.
capobvious

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth capobvious

October 21, 2016
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Num, Blu, MEX 228
70's inflected awesomeness and Natalie Mering's voice is so good... but my blue-green splatter pressing is noisy as f*ck.
guillen.memo

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth guillen.memo

December 22, 2016
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Num, Blu, MEX 228

Mine is pretty good, up until the end of Can't Go Home and the beginning of Seven Words. There's a bit of a pressing issue and there's a loud pop that is just unbearable and cringe worthy... Pretty upset about it, but too beautiful of an album to not play it!
capobvious

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth capobvious

October 25, 2016
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Num, Blu, MEX 228
Dang, I must have gotten a bum copy. Oh well, good album.
alexgussa

Weyes Blood - Front Row Seat To Earth alexgussa

October 23, 2016
referencing Front Row Seat To Earth, LP, Album, Num, Blu, MEX 228
My copy sounds quiet & great.
Yeah, I also expected more splatter.