Chrome_Era

Doves - Lost Souls as reviewed by Chrome_Era

June 21, 2019
edited 2 days ago
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262

Flawless pressings for both of the 2xLP and GREAT sound / no noise. I'm tempted to get all of these Doves reissues, but this one is the crown jewel as far I'm concerned. Yes, lack of a gatefold sucks and a little on the pricey side, but they did take great care with this reissue.
Mather

Doves - Lost Souls Mather

June 19, 2019
edited 4 days ago
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Beautiful pressing EXCEPT I've got some intermittent right channel pops/crackle during the last 30 seconds of Side A & B. And I've got the same issue on The Last Broadcast and Some Cities except Some Cities it's on side C & D. Frustrating since the other discs in all three cases are perfect. And the dynamics on these pressings are unreal. GZ Media strikes again. Brutal.
rob.newson.5

Doves - Lost Souls rob.newson.5

June 14, 2019
referencing Lost Souls, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, HVNLP 26
Fantastic album. I have a fully signed version (by whole band) of the first pressing in mint condition. Anyone like to speculate what that might go for on Bargain Hunt?
_donovan_

Doves - Lost Souls _donovan_

June 14, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
I am grateful for all the doves reissues, sound is excellent. Feel like gatefold is missing - always a bit cheap when 2 X records are crammed into a single cover.
8bitBarry

Doves - Lost Souls 8bitBarry

June 13, 2019
referencing Lost Souls, CD, Album, HVNLP26CD, 5253192, 7243 5 25319 2 9
This is a masterful release, exactly how reissues should be delivered - I recommend all three. Wonderful instrument separation, lovely full sound with deep bass. I now understand more about this album that ever before.
mcalnd

Doves - Lost Souls as reviewed by mcalnd

June 12, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
GZVINYL press, no cutting engineer used to cut the disc, no gatefold sleeve. This deserved better. Universal does it again!
chasing1138

Doves - Lost Souls chasing1138

June 6, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Am I crazy or do all three reissues come with a single insert with only HALF the lyrics on them? Poor packaging aside, the pressing and sound are all great.
chasing1138

Doves - Lost Souls chasing1138

June 7, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
That's good to know, I was worried that the QC for this all over the place
JayNap1981

Doves - Lost Souls JayNap1981

June 6, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Agreed, the packaging is pretty bad and these should be gatefolds. That said, previous releases only have lyrics for certain songs too, it's not just these represses. It's just a thing Doves have always done in their liner notes.
iamtheresurrection

Doves - Lost Souls as reviewed by iamtheresurrection

June 5, 2019
edited 18 days ago
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
I was really waiting for this reissue since years (original copies are worth a kidney): now i'm a happy guy. While i'm writing i'm arrived to my fave track, Catch The sun.
What can i say but WOW! Seriously, this release sounds AMAZING! I own the original CD edition (which sounds rather good, btw) but this is a proper modern vinyl release: i can finally hear nuisances i've never heard, it's warm, dynamic (!!!) and with the right amount of punch.
What -quite- disappoints me is the packaging instead: for this double vinyl reissue the production decided to use a normal sleeve instead of a gatefold one (shame!!) and put a single 12x12" insert with the lyrics.
I'd trade the (useless, imo) download code with a gatefold sleeve to exactly replicate the original vinyl edition.
iamtheresurrection

Doves - Lost Souls iamtheresurrection

June 8, 2019
edited 16 days ago
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
and i can confirm that, to me, WYIN actually sounds good! (subjectivity, you know ;) )
.Richard.

Doves - Lost Souls .Richard.

June 7, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262

I was worried when i saw this comment, as you said the Placebo Without you im nothing reissue sounded good. However, on this occasion the Doves reissue does sound good 😃
Ramzy

Doves - Lost Souls Ramzy

June 2, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
So psyched to finally own this as I got into Doves (like a lot of people I guess) with The Last Broadcast, so I missed out on the LP first time round. Worth the wait as it sounds brilliant and the artwork looks great at full size - so much better than the CD I played the hell out of a decade and a half ago!
matt2011

Doves - Lost Souls matt2011

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Just to comment on the sound quality, I have played mine all the way through and it sounds good! I had my doubts at first what with the colored wax and Universal's spotty repress history, but it sounds rather excellent. I have the original US issue, and the sound quality is on par with that. My only complaint is the fact that my original US press has a nice gatefold sleeve where this reissue does not have the gatefold. Weird, considering this reissue is pretty pricey. Other than that, I'd recommend this.
pepesilvia99

Doves - Lost Souls pepesilvia99

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Just started to listen to my copy now but the quality was an absolute dumpster fire. So much noise you would think it was 30 years old. Will exchange for a other copy in the hope i am just unlucky. Underneath the noise, i can hear it sounds great though, noticed more detail in instrumentation than cd version. Well...above the crackling at least!
granorob1

Doves - Lost Souls granorob1

June 17, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
I was worried when I first put this on, as I've got a fair amount of crackling on track 1, but it diminishes as the track plays out, and the rest of the side is fine. The other three have no problems, and the whole thing sounds great overall.
espendo

Doves - Lost Souls espendo

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
This is a relief! Here's to hoping my copies sound as good as this!
pepesilvia99

Doves - Lost Souls pepesilvia99

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
On 2nd copy now. Happy to report noise free so just a random stray dud. Sounds beautiful as i suspected. Very dynamic. Very detailed. Bass sits really nice in the mix, lovely wide soundstage. Acoustic guitars sound nice and present. Thumbs up here.
krudster

Doves - Lost Souls krudster

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Why the heck would they reissue these as non-gatefold editions? They're not exactly cheap, either. How disappointing.
chasing1138

Doves - Lost Souls chasing1138

May 31, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Comments on the sound? From the US so my copies still have about two weeks before they arrive
Holmes1981

Doves - Lost Souls Holmes1981

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls , 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Gre, 7748262
Sounds pretty damn great to me. Quiet, flat and dynamic.
mariangoldenville

Doves - Lost Souls mariangoldenville

May 30, 2019
referencing Lost Souls, CD, Album, HVNLP26CD, 5253192, 7243 5 25319 2 9
The reissue will be on a single cover, I´m still very satisfied with my original Gatefold what i bought in the year 2000.
krudster

Doves - Lost Souls krudster

June 1, 2019
referencing Lost Souls, CD, Album, HVNLP26CD, 5253192, 7243 5 25319 2 9
I've glad I've still got all my originals, but it really bugs me when bands do cheapskate reissues. Some bands have gone the other way, e.g. Super Furry Animals Fuzzy Logic was turned into a gatefold release, as were all the Cardigans reissues. With vinyl reissues, the packaging is just as important. As soon as you skimp on something, you just make the originals even more desirable.
chasing1138

Doves - Lost Souls chasing1138

May 30, 2019
referencing Lost Souls, CD, Album, HVNLP26CD, 5253192, 7243 5 25319 2 9
I know that it's all about the music, but that is a bit upsetting