royal01

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 royal01

July 10, 2019
edited 4 months ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP

To much surface noise on my pressings. I don't recommend this pressing it will ruin your listening pleasure. I think the only way to receive a good pressing is to wait for a reissue that is not pressed at Rainbo.
StuccoHolmes

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 as reviewed by StuccoHolmes

July 9, 2019
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP

Not even a clean on an Okki Nokki would help with the amount of surface noise. I would avoid this pressing. I love RTJ but I'll be sticking to digital. Not a great pressing.
aaroninlatin

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 aaroninlatin

June 4, 2019
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
My copy isn’t as horrible as some have received, but I do agree it is mostly bass and treble and sometimes the vocals get buried. I don’t have the surface noise issues. Not the best pressing, but listenable. Hopefully RTJ4 is higher quality. Still though, listenable.
SAllison

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 as reviewed by SAllison

April 14, 2019
edited 7 months ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
I was just introduced to Run The Jewels and loved what I heard except for the dynamically compressed sound quality. When I saw that Sterling did the vinyl mastering job I visited my record shop and dropped the cash on RTJ 2 and 3 in hopes of better sound.

Yeesh what a waste of money. This is the first terrible pressing I've gotten from Sterling, very disappointed. As others have said there is a bit too much surface noise for a brand new pressing. Disc one was badly edge warped. Sound quality is exactly the same as the digital copy on RTJ3, if not slightly worse. I ripped side D of RTJ2 and dropped it in Audacity to confirm my suspicions on these pressings; yep, just as brickwalled at the CD. Sounds like the same deal on RTJ3.

Stick to digital with RTJ3; you'll find no sonic improvement on vinyl.
s_y_n_t_h_b_e_n_t

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 as reviewed by s_y_n_t_h_b_e_n_t

March 9, 2019
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP

I love RTJ and this album especially, but the pressing I have is pretty bad. Cracks and pops on the first track of each side of each record, and one of the songs has a vibration on both vocals, like they're rapping through a box fan. Worse sounding pressing in my whole collection.
lazylistener

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 lazylistener

May 13, 2018
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
I would get this since it's a fun, fun album as always, but associating vinyl with RTJ is becoming just as nauseating to think about as with Jack White or Fleetwood Mac.
dominic_dancing

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 dominic_dancing

October 20, 2018
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
Why's that? I don't understand the intention of your comment.
mcalphax

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 mcalphax

March 8, 2018
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
My records were flat like a pancake, but had terrible surface noise on side A and B. C and D were okay I guess. There also was some dirt stuck in the groove which I couldn't get out. I don't get it. What's the point of getting a STELLAR master and cut at Sterling to then have it pressed at Rainbo?
doctorg

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 doctorg

January 17, 2018
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
My copy of this is quiet and has excellent sound. It is not a "loud" mastering, but you can always turn it up. The mastering job is excellent with lots of depth, detail and texture in my opinion. I would rather have this than a "loud" mastering where the record can push the needle into mistracking and distortion. Musically, I rate this as a significant forward movement for Run the Jewels with more subtle rhymes and rhythms than ever. Top rating from me.
DUMP_TRUCK

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 DUMP_TRUCK

December 31, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
Yeah I've tried 3 times so far to get a copy where side 3 doesn't have crazy surface noise, I guess I'm going to give it one more shot. Not sure if i should try amazon again, or another retailer. A shame for such a great album.
8bitBarry

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 8bitBarry

November 23, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
I love this recording, but despise the record! It's like they had no idea how to master for vinyl. Stay digital my friends.
1. Its quiet
2. Its squashed
3. Its all bass and treble

You loose the voices all the time.

Should have asked their mate DJ Shadow, whose latest, The Mountain Will Fall, is masterful.
marcoprolo

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 marcoprolo

March 21, 2019
edited 8 months ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
8bitBarry Yeah right Shadoew would be awesome. But that's almost unthinkable that they can't get a nice mastering together. There are people out there..
bonesuo

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 as reviewed by bonesuo

October 30, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
good cover and stickers but warped and noisy copy, very disappointed
venusvinyl

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 venusvinyl

October 4, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 14xFile, FLAC, Album, none
FYI - Have just added the version that came with the RTJ pendant and gold chain with the 2xLP Gold Vinyl as this had a stickered barcode that differed to the version that came without. At least in the UK anyways.
GPrime506

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 GPrime506

June 23, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 14xFile, FLAC, Album, none
Couldn't differentiate disc one from 2. Really had to look in the wax to find which side was which.
tekkno-guy

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 tekkno-guy

September 13, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 14xFile, FLAC, Album, none
It must be really hard to do that with FLAC files.
durrbot

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 durrbot

June 11, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
A1 warped on the outside, and a ton a surface noise on the entire album. I love the album but I am disappointed in my copy from what I have read from others.
Jewbotcrusher

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 Jewbotcrusher

May 17, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
Low mix but not noisy nor warped, at least my copy.
danementzer

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 as reviewed by danementzer

May 1, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP

This album is absolute pure fire. My favorite album of the last year, hands down.
Tasteful_Sideboob

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 Tasteful_Sideboob

April 29, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP

Considering it's a hip-hop album, very good mastering, but damn that A1 side. A lot of surface noise (after washing) and also slightly warped.
nickflipdry

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 nickflipdry

April 23, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 2xLP, Album, Gol, RTJ003LP
Very good packaging, every side sounds great, however my side three has a lot of extra static/surface noise. If they weren't in crappy paper sleeves there wouldn't be so much static. I got mine on amazon for $16CAD so I'm not going to return it however, if would be nice if record companies would use poly lined sleeves.
Raynite

Run The Jewels - Run The Jewels 3 Raynite

April 23, 2017
referencing Run The Jewels 3, 14xFile, FLAC, Album, none
Have the RSD tote if anybody wants one. I am keeping the pins though, so only the tote is up for trade...