StockAvuryah

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 StockAvuryah

December 22, 2018
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
To answer CTheB below about the price :

Yes it costs too much, but it sounds better than what you compared it to. That is the "attention to detail". Sonic details.

I can confirm it sounds incredibly good. Only thing I would say is pretty awful is the lack of printed booklet. Got it for 45€ though. Was the average price outside of the nin.com website 1 year after the release.
CtheB

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 as reviewed by CtheB

October 19, 2018
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
To put the cost of this item into perspective (I'm using UK prices, but US or RoW ones will be comparable):

Depeche Mode's "Remixes 2 81-11" cost me (new, in 2012) £50, inclusive of postage, for 6 records in 1 full-colour hardback box with another hardback box inside it, with full-colour, gloss-finish spined sleeves for each record, and a 12" foldout insert with text. This works out at £12.50 per record, and each is beautifully presented.

Rammstein's "XXI" set cost me (new, in 2015) £185, inclusive of postage, for 14 records in 1 embossed hardback box with another another hardback box inside it, with 7 full-colour, gatefold sleeves, including some foil-blocking and gloss finish. This works out at £13.21 per record, and each is beautifully presented.

Nine Inch Nails' "Fragile Deviations 1" retails at £60–£65, inclusive of postage, for 4 records in 1 easily damaged cover, with designless inner sleeves. This works out at £15–£16.25 per record, and each is badly presented.

Even taking into account any inflation in prices since 2012 and 2015, and even if the Depeche Mode or Rammstein boxes had been, say, another £20 each, those boxes would still outdo "Fragile deviations 1".

This is Trent Reznor. And what he claims is his "insane attention to detail".
amplific

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 amplific

October 11, 2018
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
I got some box set sleeves from bags unlimited and just tapped up the excess on the back with clear packaging tape. Works so far.
chameleon860p

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 chameleon860p

February 18, 2018
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02

Wow great alternate takes, instrumentals and unheard bits of music. This deserves a CD release. My sealed copy has a dented corner from poor packaging, I'm keeping it though. Ive heard the entire album digitally and like it. Looking forward to Deviations 2.
minusthesnake

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 minusthesnake

December 7, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, 00602557386103
This pressing, like all of NIN's 2017 vinyl reissues, is damn near perfect sonically. Full and dynamic with almost no surface noise to speak of. The packaging, however, is a disaster. I had to buy 6 copies before I found one in mint condition. The sleeves are too tight to hold the LPs so they're very prone to crack and the cardboard is so thin that the spin creases like crazy when put into a mailer. All in all the packaging is not appropriate to hold 4 LPs and it's made worse by the fact that the cardboard isn't thick enough. It's also very minimal for the $80 list price. The LPs come in generic white sleeves and all that's inside is an 11"x11" piece of thick paper with the tracklisting on one side.
HTRJackLuminous

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 HTRJackLuminous

January 30, 2018
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, 00602557386103
“The packaging, however, is a disaster.”
I agree!
Hate to be that nitpicking guy, but I think the whole packaging could've been a bit more sturdy and well, as the whole thing arrived a little buckled at the corner already, which is a bit of a p.i.t.a. considering what I paid for it.
pytsekas

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 pytsekas

December 27, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, 00602557386103
I have poly lined inner sleeves, which I think are perfect (better than plane paper or printed versions (which often are too big, records move inside and ruin sleeves ))
unusualchannels

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 as reviewed by unusualchannels

December 3, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
I think this is brilliant. The perfect antidote for Christmas music! Love the vinyl, presentation and downloads. Each song is like a short symphony of noise. I am not a big NIN fan and tend to listen to dark ambient music. This is a nice break from my normal listening material which is usually a bit more subdued. 5 stars.
whitespyder

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 whitespyder

December 2, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
"Patience is a virtue", right?
I've contemplated buying this for a year and, because the reports from Sandbag were so bad, i was hoping Amazon would be selling this. Which they are now. 20 bucks cheaper. No S&H fees. No hassle.
So, Trent, good thing you fired Sandbag, but start by being honest & fair to NIN fans from the start.

As for the product in itself:
- Records are well pressed, pretty quiet, sounds as good if not better than my original copy of the Fragile.
- Cover/art is pretty disappointing. Only a (fat) gatefold + a sheet of paper for the tracklist + a download card.
No fancy presentation, no explanatory booklet, no detailed credits, no cool inlay/inserts.
I usually don't care that much about that, but when you see what other bands do for re-issues (Smashing Pumpkins' MCIS, Radiohead's OK computer...), the original price & the pretentious announcement speech, you start thinking 'someone' should have put more thought into it before pulling the trigger...
dmoracze

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 dmoracze

November 26, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
Wait, there is a release of this that actually has a Parental Advisory warning on it? Do they know its instrumental, haha?!
Satur_9

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 Satur_9

February 17, 2018
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
It reads "starfuckers, inc." I'm assuming that's the reason.
lamous

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 lamous

November 29, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
it's a parental advisory warning without words in it. get it?
unusualchannels

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 unusualchannels

November 19, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
Hi, I posted a reply as well, I am curious if the vinyl comes with a download code.
jthomi

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 jthomi

November 27, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02

My Add Violence 12" bought in Germany has a download card.
minusthesnake

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 minusthesnake

November 20, 2017
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02
Yes, it does include a download code. All of the new reissues do, but the Add Violence 12" doesn't.
jthomi

Nine Inch Nails - The Fragile: Deviations 1 as reviewed by jthomi

November 19, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Fragile: Deviations 1, 4xLP, Ltd, B0026309-01, B0026309-01ST02

Very clean and clear, but powerful pressing. Sounds very good! Packaging is a little sparse but nonetheless a great addition to the NIN collection. Very nice to hear 50+ minutes more of the FRAGILE sessions.