bass-response

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 bass-response

January 19, 2021
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
In response to other posts regarding quality issues, I purchased this box set over 4 years ago. I played all of the discs (CDs, DVDs and BDs) within a few weeks after purchasing. I did not encounter any issues back then. Today I checked the Obfusc/ation and Reverb/ation BDs, no visual degradation and they play fine. The Obscured By Clouds CD plays fine as well. I visually checked all of the other DVDs and BDs and there are no signs of "disc rot" or any kind of disc discolouration or "bubbling" on the data side. I will test all of the other discs and if I discover any issues I will report back later.
frodrigues

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 frodrigues

January 18, 2021
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
Bought this box a few days ago and, ironically, I don't have problems with the BD so far (haven't watched them all yet), but the replacement CD, the album Obscured by Clouds), doesn't play. Anyone with the same problem?
bass-response

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 bass-response

January 19, 2021
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
I purchased my box set over 4 years ago and today I played the Obscured By Clouds CD with no issues encountered. My BDs seem okay as well. See my other post above.
The_Titan_Find

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 The_Titan_Find

April 12, 2020
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

Bought my copy recently. After the return deadline! Two of the blu rays are faulty, in ‘Obfusc/ation’ and in 'Reverb/ation' (but the ones on 'Continu/ation' appear fine). Have emailed but no reply yet. VERY annoying!
nlgbbbblth

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 as reviewed by nlgbbbblth

March 17, 2020
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
So is it safe to buy a new copy of this from Amazon UK now? Given the issues with the incorrect disc and rotting BDs.
The_Titan_Find

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 The_Titan_Find

April 12, 2020
edited 10 months ago
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

Unfortunately, no. Bought mine recently. Shipped from the UK by Amazon but an Italian stickered import (otherwise identical). And yes, 2 of the blu rays are rotting! Have emailed the replacement email address but have had no reply to date. It seems that officially, the cut off date for the replacement discs was 20.01.2020! Will try complaining to Amazon...
The replacement CD was included in the set though :)
milky-way

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 milky-way

September 27, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
The issue about bubbling/discoloured BlueRay discs after storage is apparently affecting various customers of this expensive boxset, as also extensively discussed in the Steve Hoffman Music Forum (https://forums.stevehoffman.tv/threads/pink-floyd-the-early-years-blu-ray-issues.875818). And indeed many of them also report that several BR discs are now unplayable! This is very annoying, considering the high prices of this box.
I just checked my box, which I stored in a clean place in the dark since when I bought it a couple of years ago for a discounted price in a Mediaword shop in Italy (I paid 270 euro for one of the last two sealed sets they had for sale, as I would have never bought it at the high prices this was offered for sale in the beginning). And to my enjoyment all discs, including BlueRay ones, are still perfect and immaculate with no sign of deterioration in any of the areas of the two sides. So it seems this defect is not present in all the copies, or maybe it only affected some of the sets sold worldwide...
maxal

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 maxal

September 1, 2020
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
milky-way: better play those CDs loads before they all start bubbling up. This is an expensive item and is bought as a definitive, archival piece. As you yourself are saying, you are carefully storing yours. This mishap happened to the wrong product, it looks like a beautiful set.

They must have got the plastic recipe slightly off balance. It’s weirdly worrying when what was at purchase a shiny silvery disc, within months goes all “bubbly” and won’t play. I thought CDs / DVDs were supposed to last ‘forever’. It does make me wonder, what if some take five, ten years to degenerate? Of course eventually time corrupts everything, but you expect at least a few decades of reliability . . .
tjrael

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 tjrael

October 3, 2019
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

The replacement program is now underway so we can expect the new discs arriving soon.
edfom

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 edfom

September 17, 2019
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
BUYER BEWARE! People who have purchased this when it was first released are now starting to report bubbling and a form of disc rot on many of the blu rays. If you own this, check your discs now. I purchased mine the day it was released and have discovered three of the blu rays are now showing signs of rot. There's a bubbling or peeling on the data sides that extend from the outer edge into the data section. Some are reporting their discs showing this deterioration are now unplayable.
tjrael

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 tjrael

October 3, 2019
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

The replacement program is now underway so we can expect the new discs arriving soon.
mysticbreath

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 as reviewed by mysticbreath

August 9, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

The people who enjoy this box set should note that the BBC sessions that are included in this box set are not sourced from the original master tapes, but are instead sourced from on-air bootleg recordings. This is because BBC erased the master tapes because they considered them useless for future commercial value meaning that the on-air recordings are the only surviving copies of the BBC sessions. Because of this, the recordings from 1967 suffer from terrible sound quality, and are incomplete.

The Zabriskie Point recordings are not sourced from the original raw recordings, but are instead remixes. This is because the people who edited the soundtrack into the film destroyed the master tapes after the film was released. The same exact thing also happened with "More" and "The Committee" which is why parts 1 and 2 of "The Committee" soundtrack are ripped directly from the film and not from the master recordings.

Because of those reasons, I give this box set a low rating.
It is a simple cash grab filled with remixes and incomplete recordings sourced from bootleg sources and films.

There are at least over 20 songs that are missing from this box set Including "Rooftop In A Thunderstorm Row Missing the Point", "I Get Stoned", "Pink Theme", "Flapdoodle Dealing", "One in a Million", "Experiment" ("Sunshine"), "Green Onions", "Richard's Rave Up", "The Boppin' Sound", "Stefan's Tit", "Paris Bar", "Theme (Dramatic Version)", and "The Merry Xmas Song",

There are still a lot of other material on this box set that I think is good such as the live video recordings,
John Latham sessions, More outtakes, "Song 1" and "Roger’s Boogie".



ace2prime

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 ace2prime

July 3, 2020
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
While you could look at this set as a "cash grab," it is very convenient to have all this material in one collection. Given that the master tapes have been destroyed in many cases, this may be as complete and of the best quality one will find without having to dredge through the seemingly countless, often mediocre bootlegs that have been released over the years, Those regurgitated bootlegs appear to be much more of a cash grab than this set.
wildblunthickok

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 wildblunthickok

February 6, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
Also missing Seabirds according to someone else's review. The actual track Seabirds has vocals, including the word "seabirds" in the lyrics. Or at least I'm assuming that review got that right...
carchiav

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 carchiav

January 12, 2019
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
If the first one or two blurbs you mentioned how essentially the originals were destroyed. Does that mean that what they included in this box set is the best we're gonna get? If so, I think that even though it's probably a cash grab, it's an enjoyable one at least.
Ackaraga

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 Ackaraga

August 5, 2018
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

This is the mother of all archival box sets, and my favourite by any artist by far. Two gripes: the inclusion of BOTH DVD and Blu-Ray, as it should have been either/or. Who needs both? Secondly, in the 45s, a replica acetate/test of "Vegetable Man" b/w "Scream Thy Last Scream" would have been nice. RSD?
maxal

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 maxal

July 9, 2017
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
This box set looks fab for Floydians who want to hear everything, but it's great that it's available in chopped up smaller packages as well.

However, the five vinyl singles don't seem to be available separately. Or are they? (Does anybody know?) It'd be great to be able to get these five vinyl singels brand new . . .
gavaxeman

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 gavaxeman

May 18, 2017
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

Finished - brilliant set - the live gigs in 1971 with John peel introducing awesome - the live Pompeii set essential - fabulous set and haven't even started on the blu rays yet
gavaxeman

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 gavaxeman

May 17, 2017
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1

Working through all the audio discs in one day due to enforced sitting on arse due to back injury - this is stunning - up to the man and the journey now and am blown away by the quality - also the pain drugs may be enhancing it some what
mightyvinyl

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 mightyvinyl

March 22, 2017
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
Does anyone know the barcode found on the EU/UK box set? I'm overwhelmed by all the images that were uploaded, GREAT JOB, but the barcode image seems to be missing. Does this actually carry a different barcode from the "purported" Japan issue 0-889853-61952-8?
cooked71

Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 cooked71

February 16, 2017
referencing The Early Years 1965-1972, Box, Comp, Ltd + CD, Mono + CD + DVD-V, NTSC + Blu, 0190295950255, PFREYB1
If you'd be willing to pay about two squillion dollars for a twenty-five LP box then be my guest!