nomiss

The XX - I See You nomiss

August 14, 2018
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, YTLP161V
I have both the clear and the box version (black). The clear has a really bad sound quality with cracks and pops all over. Get the black one on this fantastic album.
goldencalves

The XX - I See You as reviewed by goldencalves

October 6, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing I See You, LP, Album, YTLP161

My standard black copy sounds great. Some mold release grime here and there, little light scuffs from the cheap paper sleeve, but pressed on center and sounds relatively clean. Some, but very little, unobtrusive and non-repetitive surface noise, (my setup will pick it up if it's there, always, irritatingly). Sounds better than most new vinyl I get, pressing wise.

Mastering-wise, it isn't brilliantly dynamic or extremely clear, not in the "audiophile" sense, but its certainly serviceable and sounds good, thumps where it needs to etc, and I won't be bothered to listen to it in other formats.

Music-wise, this album is super great. I'm not an xx super fan or anything, their first album is pretty good, but this right here is the sweet spot. Several huge emotional payouts throughout, the kind that make you ecstatically dance while you're listening alone. You can't help it.

Kudos to the rest of the band for giving Jamie Smith more production/instrumentation responsibilities; this album trends his way hard and it works really, really well. Hardly a perfect album, but a great messy one.
ballptpentheif

The XX - I See You ballptpentheif

October 18, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, YTLP161

yours had stuff on it too? mine had a scary piece of black foam looking material stuck to it. it was scary trying to pick it off of the surface but I was able to do it without leaving a smudge. otherwise the album sounds great like you said.
Sunbird76

The XX - I See You Sunbird76

July 21, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X

Just bought new from my local record shop; everything is included and the records play perfectly. (Grading stars are not used for scoring)
Marcellas

The XX - I See You as reviewed by Marcellas

April 29, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, YTLP161
Poor pressing which skips on the opening tracks of A & B. Rest of the album seems ok. Shame as it is a great album and sleeve. Reading the other reviews it looks like the look of the draw whether you get a good copy or not.
kppatrick1971

The XX - I See You kppatrick1971

March 13, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, YTLP161
Yeah vinyl seems thin but sound quality is awesome . Mine came with download voucher and vinyl is clear .
Phonographix

The XX - I See You Phonographix

February 20, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, YTLP161V

Can't confirm the bad sound reviews regarding the clear vinyl. On my system the record sounds dynamic and full of detail, the soundstage is broad and there's almost no surface noise or crackle. One of the better modern pressings, imho. If you're interested, I use a Music Hall MMF7.1 turntable with Benz-Micro Ace-S Low cartridge and a Lehmann Black Cube SE II phono pre-amp.
YAOF-Design

The XX - I See You YAOF-Design

February 16, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
The vinyl is skipping on the first song “Dangerous” as soon as the singing begins. I asked to change it at the store where I bought it, I waited a month to receive a new one and there is the same problem... Anyone else with this same issue?
YAOF-Design

The XX - I See You YAOF-Design

April 19, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
No, I dropped out for this release... I will try again later in a year or two :/
tiptioetip

The XX - I See You tiptioetip

April 5, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
Hey! I've gone through 4 copies all with the same issue you've described above. Did you manage to find a good copy? If so, where can I get it?Thanks!
brussels75

The XX - I See You brussels75

January 31, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, YTLP161V

Very disappointed by the pressing quality and the mastering. Much compression, surface noise, muffled sound. The CD sounds better but dynamic range is even worse (unfortunately, as usual nowadays).
simbrind

The XX - I See You simbrind

March 11, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, YTLP161V
I've got some quality issues with my copy, surface noise on tracks 3, 4 and 5 on side A. Haven't listened to side B yet...
Arkwarkw

The XX - I See You Arkwarkw

January 31, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, YTLP161V
Really love this album. The vinyl sounds also great! I'm also happy that cd came with the lp.
Arthaus

The XX - I See You Arthaus

January 29, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
Anyone missing the CD's? Box sealed, but no CD's included.
acinthaslay

The XX - I See You acinthaslay

January 27, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
Still waiting for mine to arrive in the mail. Anyone in the US still waiting for theirs?
butmun

The XX - I See You as reviewed by butmun

January 26, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle + CD, Album, YTLP161V

So far, I do not like the songs as much as those from the 2 previous albums.
But what a sound ! Not listen to the CD so far, but vinyl sound is amazing, realy great production.
MrShocktime

The XX - I See You MrShocktime

January 25, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle, YTLP161

The first two songs on both sides are really noisy/staticky. After that, sounds good. Just my copy?
MrShocktime

The XX - I See You MrShocktime

March 30, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle, YTLP161

No it's without a doubt an issue on my copy. It's a repetitive staticky defect that overbears the music.
GarionOrb

The XX - I See You GarionOrb

March 18, 2017
referencing I See You, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle, YTLP161

Nope, not just you. I think it's just the way those two songs are.
carlosrmanuel

The XX - I See You as reviewed by carlosrmanuel

January 23, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X

I found the 12" full with pressing noise and distortion on voices. The LP have some ocasional distortion too. I have the transparent vinyl also and the pressing is excellent what is not common with coloured vinyl.
Any one with these
problems too?
Sharpmarker

The XX - I See You Sharpmarker

January 30, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X

Yes the voices are terribly distorted on mine. Especially Romy's voice. Pretty disappointing.
cblackburn94

The XX - I See You cblackburn94

January 25, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
Yes I have the same problem, I find that the female voice distorts in the quieter sections. Most noticeable on "A Violent Noise" and "Performance" on the A side of the album
jvwoodford

The XX - I See You jvwoodford

January 21, 2017
referencing I See You, Box, Dlx, Ltd + LP, Album + 12" + CD, Album + CD, , YTLP161X
Very unhappy with the fact both CDs and vinyl did not come shrink wrapped inside the box. Because of this the glossy finish of the packaging has scuffed and scratched leaving ugly marks. Such a simple additional bit of care would have been nice.