soundandlight

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I soundandlight

June 14, 2019
referencing The Temple Of I & I, CD, Album, Promo, esl 222
"Promo copy in cartonslave." What's a cartonslave? Anybody know this?
guzzer

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I as reviewed by guzzer

March 6, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, CD, Album, esl 222
Everything a Thievery record should be. Its warm, it washes over you, it brightens your dark corners. Breaking new ground? - not really. But its wholly satisfying and relaxing
DJ_Roland

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I DJ_Roland

February 28, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

Does this release also have the Printed innersleeves like the US release is mentioned?
CookyRanks

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I CookyRanks

February 28, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

yes it has. It's a nice copy, gatefold, printed innersleeves + poster...
Blurb10

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I Blurb10

February 17, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

Every time I expect a new Thievery album to radically depart into a darker, more beat-driven, psychedelic territory, I get another album that's a slight variation of their typical sound. (How cool would it be to see Garza tackle 60's psychedelia, something he touched upon on a few tracks on "The Cosmic Game"?) "Temple" is another case of Thievery doing what they are best at: sunny vibes, guest vocalists having fun, reggae, that recognizable Thievery pseudo-1990s chord in the background... Highlights here include the energetic hip-hop "centerpiece" "Letter to the Editor", Mr. Lif doing his thing on "Ghetto Matrix" and "Fight to Survive" and the instrumental, groove-driven "Let The Chalice Blaze".
All in all, a quality album that will appease fans of Thievery, while not breaking any new ground. Sometimes familiarity is reassuring, nostalgic, a dip into the past. One can't argue the top-notch quality of its production and the pleasantness of its vibes. Less of a departure than the uber-tropical "Saudade" but (unfortunately) less dark than The Cosmic Game, this lies firmly in the middle in terms of Thievery oeuvre.
DJ_Roland

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I DJ_Roland

March 8, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

Can't agree more, totally my feel about this too. For now I do like it and 'accept' it as a fan, but I do feel more than ever the wish that it is time now to move on for them. Saudade didn't get me unfortunately but they should try to re-invent their current sound, and I think this is really do-able and still keep that fresh vibe with all these different singers and artist in their group. I heard them live last week in Amsterdam and it was great and real fun, but that repeated 90's background beat needs some new fresh take. Let's hope for the best.
mkrzych

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I mkrzych

February 17, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
Anyone about the pressing quality please for this record? How does it sound on vinyl?
quintanaCGN

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I quintanaCGN

January 18, 2018
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
Sound is great, but the pressing is really bad. Lots of markings and the vinyls are warped which makes it hard to drop the needle without skipping the first few grooves. And side A had a defect that caused loud clicking noises at the end of track 3 (when it is slowly fading out). It's such a shame. Had to return it and hopefully I will get a better copy one day.
DJFunkyGroove

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I DJFunkyGroove

April 29, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

The pressing quality is very good +. Buy with confidence!
turntable1

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I turntable1

March 29, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
Pressing and sound quality is excellent. MPO generally do a great job with their pressings.
movceo

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I movceo

March 18, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
DJ_Roland
@ those two reviewers answering about the good quality. Have you heard their InGrooves represses? I really have this question too because all the represses I bought of their earlier albums on InGrooves were totally sh*t. Bad audio quality, some records even had loud crackle or hiss and strange marks on some records straight out of the sealed releases, thin quality vinyl and lots of warped vinyls. And that for that price they cost...:( I was absolutely gutted. Sincerely hope these pressings are better!


Vinyl record quality is very much dependent on the Pressing plant that was used. The InGrooves represses were done at United Record Pressing which is one of the worst vinyl Pressing plants in the world. They have zero quality control and are known for Pressing noisy vinyl. Thankfully, InGrooves used MPO for this Pressing and it sounds great. I hope they will go back and do those represses at a better plant.
Mac_Dee

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I Mac_Dee

March 16, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
I sense an occasional hiss on the A-side but it might as well be my bad ears.
DJ_Roland

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I DJ_Roland

February 28, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

@ those two reviewers answering about the good quality. Have you heard their InGrooves represses? I really have this question too because all the represses I bought of their earlier albums on InGrooves were totally sh*t. Bad audio quality, some records even had loud crackle or hiss and strange marks on some records straight out of the sealed releases, thin quality vinyl and lots of warped vinyls. And that for that price they cost...:( I was absolutely gutted. Sincerely hope these pressings are better!
Blurb10

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I Blurb10

February 17, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222

Great quality, crisp and the bass is excellent. A lot of the new vinyl pressings are sub-par to say the least, but this is great.
waxheaven

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I waxheaven

February 17, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
Sounds good as should be, no need to worry about it!
DEEJSMOKE

Thievery Corporation - The Temple Of I & I as reviewed by DEEJSMOKE

February 15, 2017
referencing The Temple Of I & I, 2xLP, Album, esl222, ESL222, esl 222
Ok real thievery sounds
For me the real bombs are in the a side and b side particularly letter to the editor ,strike the root love has no heart and obviously the temple of I & I
Great work!