madotsukig1rl

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me madotsukig1rl

April 30, 2021
edited about 1 month ago
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
he'll obviously be repressing this. shelling out this much for such a serious record feels kinda messed up. just give him some time to actually, yknow, make more copies once the plants go back to normal after covid actually ends.
mhrobbins25

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me mhrobbins25

January 6, 2021
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040

Sound and production quality-wise, the gatefold is nice and very thick. The poster and booklet are also very high quality. The pressing is dead silent, and Elverums sparse acoustics and vocals are crisp, rich and clear. Thematically, this album is almost impossible to “enjoy” as it’s essentially the artist’s expression of grief over the devastating loss of his wife to cancer. Each song is a raw, emotional punch to the gut, and it’s been hard to keep dry eyes listening to this album front to back. Seaweed was the first song I ever cried to, so if that gives you any idea on what you’re getting into.
JonahUniverse

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me JonahUniverse

August 2, 2020
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Just so everyone knows, that $75 record that sold on here was a test pressing, not the standard record. This is available directly from the artists website please support them
csuder

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me csuder

January 30, 2018
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
If you are just discovering this one... buy directly from Phil... I'm not aware of any surface noise or skips.. side A bummed me out so bad, I've yet to flip
Exai

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me as reviewed by Exai

December 24, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040

I'm very conflicted about this album. There's no doubt it's a real work of art, and for me the best album of the year, though it's not really fair to compare it to any other albums, safe maybe for Sufjan's Carrie And Lowell. On the other hand it's an album that, maybe because it came out when I was having hard time with my life myself, gave me worst panic attacks I've ever had, and I still keep getting those.

I saw Phil play most of these songs at a concert earlier this year, and they were even more powerful when I could see him sing them. He had lots of copies of this album with him, but I couldn't bring myself to buying that and got something else instead, because I'm straight up afraid of listening to it.

Absolute masterpiece, yet I can't recommend it. But I can say that at that concert Phil played a few new tracks, and they were even better and more moving, while being a bit more optimistic in tone, and if he's going to make a new album out of these, it's going to be even better than this.
leonthepro

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me as reviewed by leonthepro

September 9, 2017
edited over 4 years ago
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040

What an album indeed. Just to be clear it sounds great. Near flawless pressing and the gatefold is sturdier than you would think. Some might complain about a noise floor but Im quite sure its just the recordings themselves. Great all around. But with that out of the way I think its important to understand what you are buying. This is not a piece of musical revolution. Some parts of it I feel are quite smartly put together like the beat in some songs seemingly matching the sound of a life support machine in the background. But Its about a mans life and thoughts after his wife's departure from life. Whats important here are the lyrics which is why its great that they are all featured (with few errors) inside the gatefold. The singing is clear and should be the focus of the listener. Its a terribly depressing session to have but its unique and worth a listen.

Equipment used:
Rega RP1 with base carbon cart
Cyrus 2 amplifier
System Fidelity SF5030 tower speakers
Custom made HQ speaker cables
android2k3

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me android2k3

July 31, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
I repeat DO NOT BUY THIS FROM DISCOGS,
please buy from Mount Eerie's website
x_TheBadDad_x

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me x_TheBadDad_x

November 8, 2019
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040

leonthepro
android2k3 I repeat DO NOT BUY THIS FROM DISCOGS, please buy from Mount Eerie's website Unless you are an EU buyer, or perhaps they can offer special shipping like stating the value of the package as 5$ instead of 25. Otherwise some of us need to pay a 25$ customs fee that makes it overpriced. I got mine from a UK shop online called Norman records.

Thanks for the reminder of Norman Records, leonthepro...I use them regularly but hadn't checked if they had this back in stock. I'd have loved to buy direct too, but shipping to the UK was more than the record, then the customs charge on top would have been ridiculous too. Looking forward to finally having this on vinyl, one of my favourite albums of recent years - its sad but beautiful.
StijnDeNys

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me StijnDeNys

January 25, 2019
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Pretty expensive if you are living outside the USA like me, to be honest... I was lucky enough to discover a copy in a small store in Brussels.
leonthepro

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me leonthepro

September 7, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040

android2k3
I repeat DO NOT BUY THIS FROM DISCOGS, please buy from Mount Eerie's website

Unless you are an EU buyer, or perhaps they can offer special shipping like stating the value of the package as 5$ instead of 25. Otherwise some of us need to pay a 25$ customs fee that makes it overpriced. I got mine from a UK shop online called Norman records.
evertonis111

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me as reviewed by evertonis111

April 6, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Sadly my copy has some annoying surface noise in the right channel throughout the first side, but I'm hoping its just my copy... Getting a replacement tomorrow.
evertonis111

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me evertonis111

May 6, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Yes, actually. No problems at all with my new one. Sorry for the late reply
alexgussa

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me alexgussa

May 2, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Same here. First 3-4 tracks on side A in the right channel.
Does your replacement sound better?
Sophienem

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me Sophienem

March 30, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Anyone else's lyrics have a couple typos in it? Mine has one on Toothbrush/Trash and one on Crow. I don't really mind at all but was just curious.
csuder

Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked At Me csuder

March 31, 2017
referencing A Crow Looked At Me, LP, Album, ELV040
Yes, same...The overall packaging is top notch Phil. Vinyl sounds great.