tomkerry2345

Slowdive - Slowdive tomkerry2345

August 17, 2019
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
Great album by slowdive, let down by the quality of the vinyl, terrible pressing, shame really.
cptdavious

Slowdive - Slowdive cptdavious

May 4, 2019
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
I now own the Black and Silver version. The Black version is far better sounding and is without defects like the Silver one had. Such an amazing album BTW. Its perfect.
Anthon40

Slowdive - Slowdive Anthon40

April 16, 2019
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, San, DOC132
Crackles and a few light pops mostly side two. Probably better than the other versions from reading the reviews. Nice and flat. Sounds great otherwise.
cptdavious

Slowdive - Slowdive cptdavious

February 17, 2019
edited 9 months ago
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
I have the Silver version of this album. I always vacuum clean my records prior to playing (even new ones). Surface noise is minimal, and there are no pops. However on some tracks I get a weird distortion usually in the left channel. The distortion was most concerning because its unnatural sounding ... I thought the distortion was because of my turntable setup, but my system is carefully configured (tracking force etc) and I double checked everything to be sure. It happens in the same areas on the record and I have no issues with other records in my collection. Its apparent there were some quality issues. Always go black vinyl if you want quality. Amazing album otherwise though!!
Disco_Russ

Slowdive - Slowdive as reviewed by Disco_Russ

January 22, 2019
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
My favourite track just keeps changing, but at the moment its Don't Know Why, incredible!!
ipodman715

Slowdive - Slowdive ipodman715

December 26, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
Mine sounds fantastic as well (the center hole was a bit small). Got it at their US tour a year ago.
biznotic

Slowdive - Slowdive biznotic

November 28, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
If your copy sounds bad, it may just need a good bath and scrubbing. I washed mine and it sounds perfect. Silence between tracks and during quiet parts.
SoyUnPerdedor

Slowdive - Slowdive SoyUnPerdedor

February 15, 2019
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
I wish this worked on my wife. . . .
ssk13

Slowdive - Slowdive ssk13

November 20, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Blu, DOC132JLP, none
Has someone compared the blue and clear? I have the clear and I thought it actually sounds very good.
JBB007

Slowdive - Slowdive JBB007

November 10, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
A great album, however the record itself was concave not flat. Kind of a funnel in a certain way. Maybe it had been put in sleeve too quickly out of the manufacture press? Never seen anything like this before. Had to get rid of it.
abg_gpl

Slowdive - Slowdive abg_gpl

November 25, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
It's called dishing and it's caused, as you correctly guessed, by pressing plants not waiting until the vinyl is cool enough to package the record. It's something that you never saw until the recent resurgence of vinyl. Plants are under pressure because demand is outstripping supply and corners are being cut by some plants. You can 'fix' it by using a record flattener like Vinyl Flat. I've had 3 copies of this record and all 3 were both dished and warped. A friend of mine has a Furutech record flattener and the copy I kept is now acceptably flat, although it's still a touch noisy in parts (clicks and pops) despite having been put through my ultrasonic cleaner for a few cycles. The music on this record however more than makes up for it. What a tour de force after a 22 year lay off!!!
jestoon

Slowdive - Slowdive as reviewed by jestoon

October 6, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1

My copy is really nice. No surface noise (except for a little bit at the end of Star Roving), and the mastering is really dynamic
cristianHa

Slowdive - Slowdive cristianHa

August 26, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
This LP sounds better than the CD. I have the japanese CD edition and it sounds very compressed ( I just bought it for the extra track) . About the vinyl, it's not the best quality, there's something "wrong" with some tracks, for example the bass in Star Roving sounds distorted, specially on the CD. Besides that this is a really great record and I really like it. Hope Slowdive keep making more music.
inkling23

Slowdive - Slowdive inkling23

June 23, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Blu, DOC132JLP, none
My pressing isn't that great either. At least the digital download includes a bonus track not on the US download!
chrisco81

Slowdive - Slowdive as reviewed by chrisco81

June 9, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132
Probably their best work, and one of the best albums of 2017
Nonnegativ

Slowdive - Slowdive as reviewed by Nonnegativ

June 8, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Blu, DOC132JLP, none
Horrible SQ on this release. I have been 100 % analogue since the late 70'ties, but a release like this only confirm me that I need to get a DAC. Hov Musicians, Pressing plant and Record Company can allow this release to hit the street is beyound belief.
Bishamondo

Slowdive - Slowdive Bishamondo

May 26, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
Managed to widen the holes enough to fit it on a turntable, and used the VinylFlat to remove the warps, but there is a LOT of surface noise between tracks. :(
Bishamondo

Slowdive - Slowdive Bishamondo

May 26, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
I can't even play my copy; the centre hole is too small for any of my three turntables! It's also visibly warped (I can fix that with my VinylFlat, which usually does a great job reducing warps).
derek365

Slowdive - Slowdive derek365

September 5, 2019
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
Just widen the hole with a twist of a kitchen knife, just 1 or 2 always does it for me.
snacktime

Slowdive - Slowdive snacktime

May 24, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Sil, DOC132, DOC132LPC1
Mine is perfect, clean, and louder than the Japanese blue wax. No surface noise even in the quiet passages.
david_carter1969

Slowdive - Slowdive david_carter1969

May 24, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, DOC132

Had to give the record an immediate clean as it was pretty grubby, but boy does this sound fantastic.
I missed Slowdive first time around and cant believe they were unfairly ridiculed by the press if this is anything to go by. An incredible album from start to finish.
fiveohfour

Slowdive - Slowdive fiveohfour

May 16, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Blu, DOC132JLP, none
If you want an affordable copy that isn’t being sold by a flipper they are available again in the secretly web store
THE_G

Slowdive - Slowdive THE_G

May 21, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Blu, DOC132JLP, none
Thank you also. Just ordered a blue and silver vinyl myself.
PruneJoshRecords

Slowdive - Slowdive PruneJoshRecords

May 16, 2018
referencing Slowdive, LP, Album, Ltd, Blu, DOC132JLP, none
Thank you!!! Just ordered a copy from there website myself