lgxart

Burial - Burial lgxart

April 6, 2016
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, RE, HDBLP001
had both albums on cd and this re-release reminded me that the vinyl must be purchased, as it should for all your favourite electronic music releases. or is that just me. Sublime dubz with a tinge of darkness in reverb spaces. the beats are sophisticated and understated. And as has happened a lot over years, it's alway reassuring to see more groundbreaking and serious music coming out of the UK. Let us pray our creative Islands don't ever dry up ;)
tehswerver

Burial - Burial tehswerver

February 16, 2016
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, HDBLP001
Hyperdub have repressed a lot of their back catalog, including this - up on redeye now
tehswerver

Burial - Burial tehswerver

February 16, 2016
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
hyperdub repress frenzy on redeye including this

At least 10 words must be entered. Please enter at least 3 more.
ILoveGoaTrance

Burial - Burial ILoveGoaTrance

January 12, 2016
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
pretty steril imo, not my cup of tea, too randomly produced for me, lacks coherence
ck

Burial - Burial ck

June 29, 2016
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
ha ha. maybe that trance music has misinformed you..? (friendly joke)
GrumpyLemon

Burial - Burial GrumpyLemon

December 27, 2015
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, HDBLP001

Absoloutly beautiful, every track is pumped with atmosphere and emotion. A definate must have for everyone.
tr6y

Burial - Burial tr6y

December 1, 2015
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, W/Lbl, HDBLP001
If anyone wants to sell a copy let me know I'm very interested.
4Ever5kyler

Burial - Burial 4Ever5kyler

August 22, 2015
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, W/Lbl, HDBLP001

Hi, did any owner of this white label release receive only side a/b from Kode9?
Noid09

Burial - Burial Noid09

April 8, 2015
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
Wow, what's the ridiculously negative comments here? This is a great album.
Dubvulture

Burial - Burial as reviewed by Dubvulture

January 9, 2015
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
One of the most overrated and overhyped albums ever released. The uninspired sample choices (Destiny's Child, '21 Grams' et al) are perhaps warning enough. But pretentious layers of cosmetically-added vinyl crackle are a lazy route to pseudo-'atmosphere'. The 'detailing' that some other reviewers have gawped at is utterly banal, and the idea that this album was in any way ahead of its time in 2006 is an insult to the intelligence. There's nothing here that artists such as Fluxion hadn't done to far better effect half a decade earlier.
lakechoes

Burial - Burial lakechoes

May 13, 2016
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
boring, soulless "2015" comment coming 9 years too late to be read.
alessiomagenta

Burial - Burial alessiomagenta

February 17, 2015
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001

You should also mention Pole and Jan Jelinek then, but it seems that all you Burial-detractors are missing the point.
There's way more than some dusty dub-ambient progressions.
Burial has its own peculiar sense of atmosphere, blended with skillful rhythmic structures onto a strategic minimalistic environment.
In other words, it's not just "dark" or "dopeshit", and then "ah, boring".
I can partially agree on his use of vinyl dust and stuff, ok , but i totally disagree about comparison with Fluxion!
Please... Anyway, degustibus, he's good, but they have way different backgrounds. Here's the point!
Burial come from suburbs, has an obsession for El-B and dark-swing garage grooves, and this great sense of atmosphere (Prayer: you can deny),
suitable for lonely metro rides, deepnight graffiti sessions, headphones and orange fog. That's all here.
Ok, it could be simplistic, but in fact comes out a new formula. And it's enough.
And shame on fanatics that push to love-or-hate everything reaches hype, this is a great look-forwarding work.
This album respects urban solitude (cit.)
Ghostware

Burial - Burial Ghostware

December 25, 2014
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, HDBLP001
Mindblowing album, the dark dub elements are here most apparent imo. Still can't decide which album I prefer most, Untrue or this one.
4Ever5kyler

Burial - Burial as reviewed by 4Ever5kyler

September 4, 2014
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Burial, 2x12", Album, W/Lbl, HDBLP001

An absolutely stunning LP... Thanks burial for your creativity! Keep it up
timibbitson

Burial - Burial as reviewed by timibbitson

May 11, 2013
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
BORING ! how can so much good equipment produce something so dull ! Whoever rates this needs to listen to some good electronic music , Kraftwerk , LFO , Derrick May . Jaun Atkins .
burial = poop . zomby = poop .
devin306

Burial - Burial devin306

May 3, 2015
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
But the important thing is you took the time to insult someone on the internet for not liking something you like.
TIM

Burial - Burial TIM

January 30, 2015
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001

Agreeing with a Tim. It's not very good. Got this like the month it came out. Talked about in the forum about it being different so I took a shot at it. Dissapointing. Played it for a friend a few after because they started heard dubstep. He thought it was ok. I haven't played it since. And I have never wanted. Pretty dull and no heart. No soul. No funk. No space. No nada. No hopes and dreams. No electronic soul. End
Dubvulture

Burial - Burial Dubvulture

October 31, 2014
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
The fact that Burial used 'almost no equipment' might be useful for refuting (part of) timibbitson's review. But it does not in itself validate the record.

'if you think that the only good electronic music is from decades ago'
He didn't say that. The examples he gave might not be recent ones, although some of them are still around and are still producing good music. He did not say that the *only* good electronic music is from a certain period. You've surmised that. Badly.

'it is patently obvious you have no idea what you're talking about concerning this huge, expansive, always-evolving genre'
Whenever one reads people dribbling about an 'expansive, always-evolving genre', one always knows that some drivel is to follow. That's certainly the case with you.

'your credibility is zero'
Who are you to determine his 'credibility'? And why should anyone care about what you believe to be 'credible'?

'and your opinion worthless'
Here you get down to the nitty-gritty: base insult. Quite what makes your opinion any more worthwhile than his is anyone's guess.
Dubvulture

Burial - Burial Dubvulture

October 31, 2014
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
You've answered your own question. 'So what' indeed.
elytskir

Burial - Burial elytskir

October 10, 2014
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
I listen to John Cage and Stockhausen and i love Burial. So what?
timibbitson

Burial - Burial timibbitson

April 2, 2014
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
you need to get out more. i have 30.000 vinyls and burial aint in em any more . . . . .maybe on cd somewhere . . . . . it is so so dull. sounds half finished at best. i make better music with brushing my teeth !
Barking_Spiders

Burial - Burial Barking_Spiders

April 1, 2014
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
I like this album thanks so I won't be taking your kind advice. Also I have over 500 'electronica' albums so I like to think I know a fair about what I think is right for me
dryfist

Burial - Burial dryfist

November 16, 2013
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001

you obviously know nothing about Burial's production process. there wasn't "so much good equipment"; in fact, he used almost no equipment to make this album. and if you think that the only good electronic music is from decades ago, it is patently obvious you have no idea what you're talking about concerning this huge, expansive, always-evolving genre. as such, your credibility is zero and your opinion worthless.
timibbitson

Burial - Burial timibbitson

June 15, 2013
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
i would if i listened to this too much . . . its dull . try listening to Kevin Saunderson . your welcome .
benexhale

Burial - Burial benexhale

June 4, 2013
referencing Burial, CD, Album, HDBCD001
Kraftwerk and LFO are great. But so are Zomby and Burial. There's a difference between chill and dull.