couchlock

Various - Torque as reviewed by couchlock

April 5, 2020
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01
oh boy, this is GREAT! it was one of the first db albums i bought and i heard it so many times....it sounds still kind of futuristic, dark and heavy. one of my favourites, not only of that style but of all styles. real essential. " this beat try to accomplish one thing and that is to get to the future" right, man! 96 to 98 was the golden age of drum& bass and this is a perfect example.
the amen break was still used, but not so dominant as in the jungle music, it was combined with electronic beats and that generated sophisticated rythms, that blow your mind still today.
MyStyleFreestyle

Various - Torque MyStyleFreestyle

April 6, 2021
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01
No mate, its "Here is a group trying to accomplish one thing, and that is to get to the future"
nfmhackers

Various - Torque nfmhackers

September 20, 2018
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01

My copy of this has weird skips and distortion throughout the beginning of "Damn Son" on CD 1. The CD itself is in excellent condition, and I've cleaned both the CD and my CD player multiple times. My PC rips all other CDs fine, and this album was clearly handled with care by the previous owner. I'm guessing it could just be a one-off issue with my copy, or it's with the pressing plant. Anyone else have this issue?

also album is five stars obv
nfmhackers

Various - Torque nfmhackers

April 19, 2020
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01

Doomguy-id
Have you encountered this issue with other CD players, too?

Yeah, I played it back a couple of times in different players (in the car, dedicated stereo, etc) and it still skips once it reaches a certain point. Sucks because that's one of my favourite tracks lol
Doomguy-id

Various - Torque Doomguy-id

April 19, 2020
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01
Have you encountered this issue with other CD players, too?
Ek3kek

Various - Torque Ek3kek

May 29, 2018
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
Isn't the last sound from Squadron the bass sound used by DRS in "Puppeteer"?
Stuck_In_1992

Various - Torque as reviewed by Stuck_In_1992

May 9, 2018
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
I really hate what techstep did the music. However looking back, I really do like this CD set and I now find it quite enjoyable. I just wish techstep could have been a sub style that was played along with the styles that came before it. Instead it became the only sound of jungle... the ONLY sound. That's what I don't like.
jim_skreech

Various - Torque jim_skreech

February 3, 2021
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
I agree, I feel Torque was really the peak of what was being called 'Techstep' - it sounded genuinely futuristic and thrilling, but 98-00, the rhythm and atmosphere was gone, plodding two step beats, and two-note mid-range basslines that had more in common with heavy metal. It was a long way from the sound of the 1996 Techstep compilation on Emotif. I guess I also resent that it was those techstep heavy nights that pushed less dedicated friends of mine away from dnb, and towards the smilier garage and big beat nights.
ColonelTirpitz

Various - Torque ColonelTirpitz

August 4, 2020
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
To me the term "Techstep" doesn't exist as in the early 90's to 2002 they always called this genre Drum and Bass ( Drum & Bass ) and Jungle . I have the feeling that the "Techstep" word emerged after the downfall from Drum&Bass & Jungle which means after 2003-2004 just to then suit easier and lazier the "Dubstep" which is all expect revolutionnary and is more ugly and fast boring as style .

This album by the name "Torque" is one of the best Drum&Bass ever made it is dark claustrophobic like hell is coming to earth . Similar can be said with other labels that offers the same quality

- Prototype Recordings with ;
Cybotron feat. Dillinja : Light Years / Revelations
Optical : Moving 808 / High Tek Dreams
Trace* : Sonar / Sphere
Ed Rush , Optical & Fierce : Custlo / Alien Girl

- 31 Records with ;
Nasty Habits : Shadow Boxing / Prototyped
Nasty Habits : Shadow Boxing remix / March
Fortran : Search / The End Part II

Some of the first 12" from Metro Recordings , Renegade Hardware Recordings , etc...
bonz

Various - Torque bonz

July 11, 2020
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
If you want a really visceral understanding of what this type of track did to the wonderful diverse music of '95 and '96, go listen to any peshay mix from those 2 years and then go listen to a mix of his from '97. The difference is staggering! I love techstep, I really do - but the way this type of track swallowed up any and all creativity from the scene is actually fucking scary to withhold, and serves as a warning to all new passing innovations in music to this day.
pru_piper

Various - Torque pru_piper

February 10, 2020
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
Tech step was the healthy underground move to a scene which became a bit dull and formulaic with jump up after all. The predominant sound in UK Hardcore changed every year dramatically from 92 piano led more happy ravy vivbes to darkside in 93, ragga jungle in 94 and deeper stuff in parallel to jump in 95 / 96. I was really happy that all this ragga stuff and the boring modulated jump up basslines were fading away in 97.
stylez-filth

Various - Torque stylez-filth

January 17, 2020
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
I feel like it's the antithesis to what came before.. Completely devoid of the soul, emotion and togetherness that defined the early 90s. A sign of the times - The same trend was occurring in the London techno scene around the same time.

I agree though, it did turn d&b into a bit of a dull affair. However the no U-turn crew had a way of creating atmospheres that kept the sound interesting to listen to.
stylez-filth

Various - Torque as reviewed by stylez-filth

December 28, 2017
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
Industrial jungle beats, tearing Reese basses and haunting, futuristic soundscapes - if any collection of music signalled the end of the rave dream, it was this.

Cold music for a decaying civilisation!
dehoedtenderandt

Various - Torque dehoedtenderandt

October 14, 2017
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
o well, and who ownz this one, tha'll b me!
vinylisticadventures

Various - Torque as reviewed by vinylisticadventures

October 21, 2016
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01

absolutely essential album for all dnb heads. dark deep rollin bass and masterful drum programming by the masters of techstep themself.
soundbound_88

Various - Torque soundbound_88

September 2, 2016
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01
Classic drum and bass. I don't have much more to say then what was allready said.
Great atmospheric music, at its best when mixed. It lade the blueprint for the later dark/tech d'n'b.
sicxx

Various - Torque as reviewed by sicxx

July 21, 2016
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01
The whole album is absolutely flawless. Beautifully crafted, razor sharp production, every tune is light-years ahead of its time.
Sector 3 though, come on, this tune is straight up malicious. Spaced out, minimal... and brutal. Those sonar robotic horns, seriously, absolutely evil. This is drum & bass
soundbound_88

Various - Torque soundbound_88

August 3, 2017
referencing Torque, CD, Album + CD, Mixed, NUTCD01
Please i like to hear more about that these songs are lightyears ahead of its time. Take for example Wormhole, imo that album was released an year later and it sounds still pretty up to date, when you want to compare Torque with today's d'n'b it sounds like old-school d'n'b. This is still an essential 'techstep' album, with great dark/sci-fi mood.
krunchtime

Various - Torque krunchtime

April 11, 2016
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01

"Proton" always reminds me of "Sonar", "Mutant Revisited", "Cutslo"... That time. Who was first?
hbmf

Various - Torque hbmf

October 7, 2017
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
Cutslo being an anagram of locust - hence a remix
whiteawakening

Various - Torque whiteawakening

April 9, 2017
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
locust from the grooverider prototype comp is also v v similar
solafid

Various - Torque solafid

June 25, 2016
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01

Proton of course, since it was released in 1997 whilst Sonar was released in 1998.
rebel78

Various - Torque rebel78

November 22, 2015
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01

i have a xtra copy with plate 3 having a different colour on the label side (dark red) than ,most of the pressings
drexcia2

Various - Torque drexcia2

May 7, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Torque, 3x12", Comp, NUTLP01
This needs no introduction. The best Techstep album ever created and dare I say one of the best Drum and Bass albums ever regardless of what genre. The other label being Emotiff which pumped out some awesome Techstep in my opinion Doc Scott was instrumental in the early development of the sound on account of Drumz and Shadow Boxing. He would of been a clear inspiration for many artist of the genre.