quinnr99

Art Blakey & Thelonious Monk - Jazz Connection as reviewed by quinnr99

September 19, 2020
referencing Jazz Connection, LP, Album, RE, 37136

sounds solid, needs turned up a little tho. i haven't had a bad Jazz Images release yet. got this for really cheap on amazon too.
ElroySheep

Art Blakey & Thelonious Monk - Jazz Connection ElroySheep

February 25, 2021
referencing Jazz Connection, LP, Album, RE, 37136

Yeah there's a ton of great Jazz Images releases on amazon for super cheap right now, I just picked up three more.
Ricard.Obligatoire

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk as reviewed by Ricard.Obligatoire

June 8, 2020
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278
I love Analog Spark's reissue of The Cranberries so I have decided to take a chance on this album. What a mistake. The bass is completely missing in this recording. How could this mastering pass the QC???? Also, sax and trumpet come from the left speaker while the right speaker has almost no sound. While when piano comes from the right speaker, I can least hear drums from the left speaker. Not sure if this is how the master tape sounds like but at this point I will just hunt for a clean mono copy. Highly disappointed with this mastering!!!
Waxsultan

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk Waxsultan

April 6, 2021
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278
I say bring the bass up, but not insanely. They would have certainly upped the bass in the mix originally but it would cause the early era stylus to jump up off the record when playing. That problem no longer exists. I think Kevin Gray has a very good idea about where the original bass levels would have been in the mix otherwise, but each recording is different. I trust Kevin with this kind of shit.
PTBert

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk PTBert

September 21, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278

A lot of the era's recordings had bass EQ that is completely different from modern standards. I read a discussion about this with one of the superstar mastering engineers (I think it was Kevin Gray, but not 100% sure), where they struggle a lot with what to do - do they bring out the bass from the original tapes and boost it to modern standards, or do they leave it like in the original? It is definitely a tough decision, and whatever they decide to do, it will never please everyone. I love my copy, as I find the sound so vivid, so alive, rich in tone and spatial information; besides the bass it is dynamite, one of the best reissues that I own (in my humble opinion, of course), including Analogue Productions, Mobile Fidelity, and other premium brands.
Edit: I'm re-listening to the record, and the way I hear it I can hear a lot of depth with the drums way behind the brass in the right channel, and it seems to me that the recording engineer and producer intended there to be a conversation back and forth between Monk and the rest of the band. The drums are so clearly defined with a lot of snap in the transients and real power to the kick and tom. The piano is really clear with beautiful attack and decay in the key strokes. The brass is very well presented with lots of air and space around the instrument, and what bass is there - well, it is what it is. When I compare this to what I can stream via TIDAL I vastly prefer this record.
adamrant

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk adamrant

April 24, 2019
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278
This pressing is on Michael Fremer's 100 All-Analog Re-issues Worth Owning. It comes in at #26 and has recently become out of stock on Analog Spark. I ordered my copy when 3 were left. It hasn't shipped to my house yet so I haven't heard it, but I trust Fremer's opinion and can't wait to play it.
leonthepro

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk leonthepro

December 7, 2019
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278
adamrant
This pressing is on Michael Fremer's 100 All-Analog Re-issues Worth Owning. It comes in at #26 and has recently become out of stock on Analog Spark. I ordered my copy when 3 were left. It hasn't shipped to my house yet so I haven't heard it, but I trust Fremer's opinion and can't wait to play it.

Any word on it?
crimsonkings

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk as reviewed by crimsonkings

December 10, 2018
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278

Loyal to the original album. But in this case it's a bad thing. the bass is pretty much inaudible, like it always was until this was remastered for it's 2nd cd incarnation. Which is the likely source of the lp by the waxtime label, which in this special case I prefer.

2 stars for being loyal to an originally bad product. 5 for the music.
leonthepro

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk leonthepro

January 2, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278
khande24
I had the same experience. The bass on this pressing is inaudible. I have the 1999 cd remaster that has full sounding bass. It’s a shame the CD beats the vinyl here because the packaging and pressing is quality in every other respect.

Probably because the recording tape doesnt have much bass. Im assuming its just hella boosted on there with terrible EQ.
leonthepro

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk leonthepro

December 7, 2019
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, LP, Album, RE, 180, RZR-39828-01, 1278
crimsonkings
Loyal to the original album. But in this case it's a bad thing. the bass is pretty much inaudible, like it always was until this was remastered for it's 2nd cd incarnation. Which is the likely source of the lp by the waxtime label, which in this special case I prefer.2 stars for being loyal to an originally bad product. 5 for the music.

I seriously doubt Waxtime did a better job than Analog Spark.
mike_bass1

Art Blakey, Thelonious Monk - The Jazz Messengers as reviewed by mike_bass1

January 2, 2016
referencing The Jazz Messengers, LP, Album, RE, Gat, ATL 50 248
Attention please.
This is not the first italian press, but only the second.
I have the first italian press of the year 1968, with the original black/red label, and it sounds fantastic!!!
dlgale1974

Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers* With Thelonious Monk - Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk as reviewed by dlgale1974

July 20, 2015
referencing Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk, CD, Album, RE, 1278-2

Far from essential in either your Blakey or Monk collection, this is still worth listening to - the opening two tracks work the best fro me.