Arouse

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC Arouse

February 26, 2019
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, LP, Comp, BCM 33422, BCM 422 LP
Was the tune on A4, Extreme - Trasparenza ever released as a 12''? Maybe on a different label/alias? Thanks!
mjb

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC as reviewed by mjb

May 6, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
As a fan and aspiring DJ, I was quite taken with the "Ambient House" or "New Age House" genre in the early '90s, but in hindsight it was barely a genre at all. I would say it was just two things: (a.) a catch-all name for what DJs played in the cushy "chillout" side areas at raves & clubs—i.e., a dreamy, eclectic mix of obscure psychedelic and dubby downtempo music, with and without beats, from past and present—and (b.) the mellowest cuts from the UK & Europe's acid house, deep house, and Italo house scenes of 1988–1991.

Most of the examples that you will ever find on compilations are, rather ironically, the most dance-oriented, melodic, and radio-friendly earworms from that mellow wave of house music. Much of it either was, or just slightly predates, what would come to be known as progressive house. It's not terrible, and surely some of it was heard by ravers in the chillout zones, but compilation albums really overrepresent its presence and importance in the Ambient House/chillout scene.

This DFC compilation, containing mostly tracks just from 1989, is squarely in that category, but manages to go a little deeper into the scene by including a somewhat experimental cut from the Irdial-Discs label (another reviewer says it "sucks balls", but I disagree), as well as The KLF's original ambient, anthemic version of "Last Train to Trancentral", excerpts of which form part of the climax of their iconic album Chill Out. I recommend it on the strength of those two tracks alone.
adylee

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation adylee

March 2, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation, LP, Comp, DFC 57701
another superb compilation my old cassette i played none stop back in the day i took it everywhere ;)
spooondog

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation spooondog

January 27, 2012
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation, LP, Comp, DFC 57701
Supreme album. I bought it for the KLF and ORB, but the rest of it was an eye opener
TheDjProducer

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC as reviewed by TheDjProducer

October 4, 2008
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
Another seminal release with no comment??
The shame of it.

I bought this album the same day i bought The Klf's "Chill out",
so that weekend back in 1990 was one of pretty heady proportions.

One (or is that 2) of my standout favorites on this album are the tracks by Morenas, namly "Hazme sonar" and "Somnambulism".

Via the power of discogs, very recently i managed to source myself an original copy of the DFC 020 release that these tracks were taken from.

Proper lovely loud pressing compared to the album (which is always the case) but it seems that the version of "Hazme sonar" that appeasr on the album is a mix or edit of "The vocal remix" and "The Dream Version".

Like they have taken the front half os one version and the back end of the other and glued them together to create the version that appeasr on here.

And to think i was listening to that cut for all these years and i hadnt even heard it properly until now. Bloody awesome :)

Incidentally, ALL tracks bar one on here are a great way of explaining 1st gen ambient house, but that lux track really sucks balls.

Just had to get that off my chest.
stephen1966

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC stephen1966

August 16, 2015
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
Although there's for couple for sale here on Discogs, I picked up my cd copy on Amazon for less than a fiver.
darktrain

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC darktrain

August 16, 2015
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
where on earth did you find this on cd? I'd love to know and get as i don't do vinyl anymore...or maybe i should lol
darktrain

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC darktrain

August 16, 2015
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
Also had this album back in the day,loved every track apart from the aqua regia track Aqueanosolo,very repetitive and did not go anywhere..Highlights for me are hazme sonar,lux - deepdown(sorry but i love it's trancy style)obviously the orb track and the sueno latino one.Sadly lent this to a supposed friend and never got it back.Brilliant stuff.
stephen1966

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC stephen1966

February 18, 2015
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
Still got this on vinyl from when it first came out, but just added it on cd 25 years later.

A classic then and still is; and although there's probably better compilations out there it has fond memories of a better era when chillout was still ambient house.
adylee

Various - Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC adylee

June 17, 2012
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Ambient House - The Compilation By DFC, CD, Comp, BCM 422 CD, BCM 50422
i agree!! i bought this first day of release on cassette lasted me years until i finally got the CD release i played it to death back to back.......
music for your hearts not the charts on the back cover....;-)