gewellburn

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore gewellburn

April 24, 2020
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
He Never Lost His Hardcore is 5 minutes of musical bliss that will get your granny up and dancing. Worth every penny.
djNostik

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore djNostik

April 23, 2018
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
Not one mention of (IMO) the best track- the music makers. Nice dark psychotic track.. with samples Willy wonka
king_piccy

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore king_piccy

April 7, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
Yeah mate. Totally proper Hardcore sounds I use to remember especially that Intro. Classic! Pukka Tuuuune!!
eazyflow

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore eazyflow

August 1, 2017
edited over 4 years ago
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21

When I was a nipper I used to have a ZX Spectrum 128k. I loved that computer to bits, and each month I would buy magazines like Crash, Your Sinclair, and Sinclair User for the free demo tapes that came selotaped to the cover.

One month, one of these free tapes didn’t contain a game at all, but instead contained a music demo. Once loaded up, each key on the keyboard would trigger a different piece of music - One key I think gave you a 128k rendition of Krafwerk’s ‘Model’. Other keys were original compositions I think…

Anyway, to this day I remain convinced that the bleeps you hear on ‘It’s Ruff’ were taken from this music demo. Everytime I hear them I’m instantly taken back to being a kid again, sat enthusiastically in front of the computer, prodding different keys to listen to the music. I would love it if Neil Rumney confirmed where those bleeps came from, even if it was just to say that I’m way wide of the mark!

It’s a cracking tune from a cracking EP regardless - one that I’ll always cherish.
DJ-Durban

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore DJ-Durban

June 4, 2020
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21

The 'raggamuffin' sample used in Dub War was included in a demo version of OctaMED that came with Amiga Format magazine back in the day :-)
AndyPandy2000

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore AndyPandy2000

July 23, 2017
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
Never Lost His Hardcore was obviously the big one back ih the hardcore era and was also massive again in bangin' clubs around 96/97 playing trance and hard house. Not many tunes fitted in so well in two different periods. I lost the sheer lumbering massiveness of the groove if it was any heavier it'd gringd to a halt but instead continued to do the damage in the rave wherever it was played.
kingprawn65

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore kingprawn65

June 6, 2021
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
In my previous comment it was meant to say “I loved the sheer lumbering...” and “grimgd” was obviously “grind to a halt” .
Johnmarcus

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore Johnmarcus

February 5, 2017
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21

Big Old School Hardcore 12".
"He Never Lost His Hardcore" is the big obvious tune on hear and was the biggest in its day.
But the other 3 are all little gems and played heavily too so take your pick.
Classic Old School Hardcore from Chill.
djrobovw1

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore as reviewed by djrobovw1

June 27, 2016
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
an amazing e.p hear. and you can grab it at a reasonable price, ITS RUFF is the favourite on hear, sounding a bit like MASTERS AT WORK - JUSTA LIL DOPE, each time i hear it, it reminds me of when dj fantasy played it when hit man & her were going live, also on that night was carl cox. Energy Rave - Eclipse Coventry (Hit man and Her) 1992.
aidiothir

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore aidiothir

May 29, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
This is my favourite release from ''Chill'' , with four out of four excellent hardcore tunes full of nrg from Neil Rumney.
earwax7

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore earwax7

December 31, 2015
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
This is an all round classic 4 tunes all demanding a listen and all taking you in different directions,the order is dance floor drum and base or high energy rave I used to cane this back in the day
tangee

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore tangee

July 30, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
Funky In The Place is a tune that has something about it, when I play it I feel just like I did in 1992, its a nicely different tune, can't really explain it, suffice as to say It's Ruff is a quality tune too but Funky In The Place is a little gem..only my thought's of course..
sashaiscool1

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore sashaiscool1

February 17, 2012
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21

its ruff IS the greatest track ever , there can not be any doubt ,surely!!! amazing ,awesome basslines, and very ,very catchy bleeps ,, amazing , a must have for any serious d&b hardcore jungle bass massive old school skool geezers out there
CHAINSAW

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore as reviewed by CHAINSAW

March 1, 2004
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21

The A2 Track of this release contains composed music with a piano track wich is hijacked from an original piece of a great componist Mozart.Very Happy and Classic. A must for a classic house collector.Can't describe it,You should hear this masterpiece of music.
The track "he never lost his hardcore is also a very great classic of 1992.Still today everbody goes wild when hearing this track. A great album of the early 90's.
social

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore as reviewed by social

June 8, 2003
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21

'He Never Lost His Hardcore' is an absolutely hilarious piece of music. Hasn't aged well. Guaranteed to make you giggle, or cringe in horror, depending on whether or not your able to laugh at your former self. Kinda like straight-laced yuppies flipping through yesterday's tie-dyed, bellbottom photos.
AndyPandy2000

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore AndyPandy2000

July 23, 2017
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
I wouldnt have bothered giving him any credence at all he sounds like he thinks he knows everything and knows nothing.
AndyPandy2000

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore AndyPandy2000

July 23, 2017
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
Great reply and the embarrassing thing is he obviously thins he's so "cool" but then proves he doesnt even know what a yuppie is/was.
Probably really always liked indie music or some such nonsense back then thought he better get with the times and pretend to understand this kind of music/scene and then couldn't wait to run off again. Why do morons like this even bother copmmenting on music they no nothing about. I wonder what kind of music he thinks has "aged" well.
Orbtastic

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore Orbtastic

December 2, 2015
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
I never really liked it at the time, there were much better records around, even on the same label. I used to get asked for it constantly, it was lowest common denominator stuff. Like being continually pestered for "that come again bad boy tune" or Dominator.
AskeladdenBlack

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore AskeladdenBlack

July 5, 2015
edited over 6 years ago
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
Maybe if you weren't part of the a scene at the time and first heard about this type of music once top of the pops let you hear the watered down rubbish we in the underground were embarrassed by.
As for Yuppies???? those yuppies must be in their late 60ies if they were part of the hippy movement, learn the definition of yuppy first.
Music doesn't need to age well, there is something beautiful about living in the here & now and not over thinking things. The Rave scene was a collective effort & in the late 80ies & very early 90ies it hit like a ton of bricks & changed music forever, thats it legacy.
Pistachios

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore Pistachios

October 8, 2011
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
I agree with Steve_j. Who cares if the main track hasn't aged well? Maybe yuppies looking at their old photos would do well to remember how much fun they were having in those days instead of wondering whose turn it is to drive the kids to school in the armour plated off-roader they bought for the run to tescos.
steve_j

N.R.G. - He Never Lost His Hardcore steve_j

November 16, 2009
edited over 12 years ago
referencing He Never Lost His Hardcore, 12", EP, TUV 21
That might be partly true, but to rate the whole EP 1/5 because of that seems somewhat harsh. The Music Makers and It's Ruff are superb techno-tinged breakbeat tracks, which still sound great today in old skool sets.