G666

Fever Ray - Plunge G666

April 22, 2020
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Today I checked my blood sleeve and the red gel turned completely clear. At first I thought it had spilled out of the sleeve but no, it just changed it’s color. Very weird.
2johneaton3

Fever Ray - Plunge 2johneaton3

February 27, 2021
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Mine is still reddish. Could have something to do with light exposure? I only play the regular copy. I found this one for a super deal a couple years ago and it stays on the shelf. The light thing is just a guess...
battlenoise

Fever Ray - Plunge battlenoise

November 20, 2020
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Same thing happened to my copy. It turned totally clear! Bit disappointing so I’m pretending it’s supposed to happen,an extension of the original concept. When it did hold its colour,a nurse I knew took one look at it and said it looks exactly like fluid from around the brain. Sounds appropriate! Brett Battle.
Decay_K

Fever Ray - Plunge Decay_K

November 13, 2020
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Yep same! I thought I stored it too hot or something
ubaldoortiz

Fever Ray - Plunge ubaldoortiz

November 8, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Same… anyone have any ideas on preserving the color? Amazon's still carrying some with the red gel sleeve in my country. Was thinking maybe buying another copy and keeping it in a black PVC bag to keep UV rays out if that was the cause…

Then again it could arrive with the gel already clear hahaha
cornlodef

Fever Ray - Plunge cornlodef

October 25, 2020
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2

Mine too! The discogs picture is mine and now the gel is transparent...maybe shall we have to update the pictures?
descongelate

Fever Ray - Plunge descongelate

June 20, 2020
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
mine too! Glad you posted this here because it kind of freaked me out haha The red gel is completely clear now. I wonder if it was intended or. Anyway. Weird.
maxal

Fever Ray - Plunge as reviewed by maxal

January 19, 2020
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
When the familiar gets tired and real change is too slow to come, it is admirable stuff to plunge into the Abyss, attempting to see reality afresh. Not many will follow you into the unknown, but with music, there are always a few in search of the weird. Fever Ray does it with panache, through interesting music and good videos. The video for Mustn’t Hurry is a hypnotic video-loop which in its way magically conveys tired patterns. But away from the music and videos . . . onto the packaging of this special edition, red-gel-sleeved double vinyl of PLUNGE --->

<--- APPEARANCES. I’m not sure if there is a silver lining with this gel cover. Customers will have to take care to ensure it doesn’t split ‘n’ spill on the cream-coloured shag carpet. With time won’t it congeal and become crusty, when you show it to your friends and their grand kids, will it have the same wOw message; surely there will again be something ‘new’ outside? The yo-yo will come back?

Blood, shit and other bodily fluids have all been used in art in the last century. There was Piss Christ. Flaming Lips did a cover for their Heady Fwends ltd vinyl using elite blood. I think Yoko Ono refused that aspect of the project because it was too icky. But she did stand front-row-middle-naked on the cover. All about bearing the human soul. QuaY z qUAy Z Whorl dwee livin.

There have been many ‘subversive’ vinyl sleeves, including sandpaper which would scratch the record on taking it out, the use of blood and Warhol’s zip. The zip one I still like. The blood one, even if fake blood, doesn’t really work for me. What if you get home to find your pet rat gnawing at the plastic, sniffing at the spilt blood? Possibly disappointed if it’s fake. Thank god we can put a record on . . .

. . . maybe not in reality, but in art there is a strict balance between subversion and order for it to work, form and function, (no denying scales and arpeggios) otherwise it is just chaotic noise – even the most unruly of music follows strict rules. Keep the Street Empty for Me is wonderful to listen to and understands balance.

The ltd edition PLUNGE cover is a tad out of balance, clumsy. Maybe there is some meaning there, but it is also bulky, a distractive joke.
mariano93as

Fever Ray - Plunge mariano93as

June 21, 2019
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Any Ideas on how can I preserve the most the gel sleeve?
deadwaxsecrets

Fever Ray - Plunge as reviewed by deadwaxsecrets

April 5, 2019
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Have to agree with previous comments regarding LEAKING, worth removing the PVC Blood sleeve & housing it away from the main LP, preferably in another poly sleeve. My copy suffered no apparent damage but whilst sat shelved in the rack has decided to empty itself all over the floor, looked good whilst it lasted though. UPDATE - having checked further it's leaked all over several albums beneath with 2 sleeves completely screwed
sethelkins

Fever Ray - Plunge as reviewed by sethelkins

October 16, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2

I strongly recommend that anyone who purchases this take the time to remove it from the gel sleeve. It is inevitable that the gel sleeve will break and leak. It's a really cool aesthetic, but lacks practicality. It will break, it will destroy the sleeves of anything near or below it, taking itself with it. The only silver lining is that those of us who maintain the integrity of the gel sleeve will soon have an especially hard to find collectible.

Aside from that, this pressing is fantastic. No complaints whatsoever.
turntable1

Fever Ray - Plunge turntable1

July 18, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
just got this today. love the blood splattered cover. sonically, its a step up on the 1lp version. highly recommended
Greamush_Foose

Fever Ray - Plunge Greamush_Foose

May 2, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Got a first copy and was also damaged in the mail, but the awesome dudes from Bilbo Records (Leuven, Belgium) have replaced the LP for free, second one arrived in mint condition!
Darkanism

Fever Ray - Plunge Darkanism

April 14, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2

Very nice press. Quiet, flat and pretty dynamic despite the complicated textures. Well mixed and mastered. I think the same 180g vinyl comes in the standard version...
jonpm

Fever Ray - Plunge jonpm

April 13, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
Does anyone know whether this version is 33 rpm or 45?
almontagnet

Fever Ray - Plunge almontagnet

April 21, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
I wish it was 45 rpm. It really doesn’t make sense that it couldn’t fit...
Chalkers

Fever Ray - Plunge Chalkers

April 14, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2

It's 33 rpm. Sounds pretty amazing but the music's not quite to my taste.
MSKDCT

Fever Ray - Plunge MSKDCT

April 12, 2018
referencing Plunge, LP, Album, 180, MUT 9701-1
I got 2 download code cards with my copy. Was this part of the release, as part of its free use license?
erik7778910

Fever Ray - Plunge erik7778910

April 11, 2018
referencing Plunge, LP, Album, 180, MUT 9701-1
The record looks really dirty, even after cleaning. It sounds great however, with only a few pops and clicks here and there.
Eltyrion

Fever Ray - Plunge Eltyrion

March 20, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
If you get a chance to go to a Fever Ray Show, they are selling the 2xLP with "Blood" for 50 euros ( Paris Olympia price it may be cheaper in other territories), wich is expensive but much more affordable than the 250 euros damaged version.
sethelkins

Fever Ray - Plunge sethelkins

October 16, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2

I bought it at their show in Portland Oregon USA for $40 dollars. About 35 euros? Maybe less.
oscargiltejada

Fever Ray - Plunge oscargiltejada

March 26, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
same price in Cologne :) I must enter 10 more words
stubuchanan

Fever Ray - Plunge stubuchanan

March 16, 2018
referencing Plunge, 2xLP, Album, S/Edition, 180, RABID061T2
My copy also damaged in transit. All outers, inners and posters were damaged. #designfail