OliverTC

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness as reviewed by OliverTC

March 30, 2019
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115

I always thought Bonkers 3 had a very unique sound to it. 1 & 2 were very much of the classic breakbeat style, and from 4 onwards the bouncy techno influence begins to creep in. 3 is a very interesting mix of the two.

Disc 1 is very good. Some callbacks to Bonkers 1 with remixes of Together Forever and Toytown, then it's straight into a development of the upfront sound. Liquid Night is especially good, and the Antisocial minimix that follows is great. Need Your Love ends it perfectly with some well placed scratching from Hixxy.

Disc 2 is a great showcase of early freeform: Rock The Beat, Here to Invade and Devastator(!!!) are standouts for me.

Dougal's Bonkers debut was inevitable, and he really doesn't disappoint here. Solid mixing and some classic Dougal tracks make CD3 my favourite of the bunch. Going All The Way, Follow The Sun, Complete Perfection, Have It All... I'd list more, but the tracklist is already up there.
Monkfish2

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness Monkfish2

April 26, 2018
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115
"Track 3.08 is incorrectly named Re-Create Creation"

It's not an incorrect name, it's the original name whilst the track was still unreleased, as the majority of the tunes on this album were when the compilation came out. Similarly, Innovate 'The Universe' on Bonkers 4 was renamed 'You make me free' when it came out on vinyl. Further proof of this can be seen in this acetate copy of 'Complete perfection' where it actually has 'Re-create creation' written on it. Dougal probably played it straight off one of these acetates when he recorded his mix for Bonkers 3. https://www.discogs.com/Dougal-Mickey-Skeedale-Innovate-Complete-Perfection-Its-Out-There/release/3233822
SkiverG

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness SkiverG

May 10, 2017
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115
Cracking album has a whole though it's Sharkey's mix that stands out for me.
Silver-Flamezzz

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness Silver-Flamezzz

August 8, 2016
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115
buy this for sharkeys disc 2 freeform mix. the other ones have a few good tracks, but being cheezy hardcore for the most part, they fail to impress as sharkey's mix does. unless you're a drug addict, then listen away to hixxy and dougals mix.
mallam

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness as reviewed by mallam

April 7, 2012
edited over 9 years ago
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115

if anyone has any info on the 3rd tune on sharkey's mix - Ramos & UFO-The Ravechief even an MP3 whatever id appreciate or if it ever had any kind of release? cheers
Triquatra

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness Triquatra

September 20, 2012
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115
then again, having seen your collection I'm guessing you already have it and know about it lol
Triquatra

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness Triquatra

September 20, 2012
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115
If its any help to you, if you haven't already, get hold of
http://www.discogs.com/Ramos--UFO-1-To-1-Dreamesque/release/129573
1 to 1 is actually quite similar to ravechief! both tracks would have fit in perfectly on sharkeys mix of Bonkers 3 too!
Welli

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness Welli

August 9, 2012
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115

Good luck mate. I can't help you but I can tell you that it was never released.
jojosmith2

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness jojosmith2

April 2, 2011
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115
This was my very 1st'Happy Hardcore' CD i listened to. i went out the next day and bought it.It brings back memories from my school days and my very close m8s @ that time. Sadly the friend who got me into it -David Brook (Brooky) died and my younger bro Steven who has also passed away, these tunes were our's. So i dedicate this to the both of you!!!!!!!!!!Thanx for this x Love u both and miss u loads x Jo -Make ur own kind ov music/Follow the Sun/Promised Land. R top 3.
bonkers00

Hixxy, Sharkey & Dougal - Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness as reviewed by bonkers00

June 4, 2003
referencing Bonkers 3 - A Journey Into Madness, 3xCD, Mixed, REACT CD 115

This is my 1st Bonkers cd, and its chock full of happy tunes straight from the UK. Hixxy's mix is really smooth going and he has a good set of happy tunes, espeically "take me to the wonderland", plus, it has some good scratchin' in it.
Sharkey's mix is sorda an early sound of trancecore. I didnt find this mix all to good, though there was a few good songs on it. The mixing is done nicely too, but there could have been some scratchin' in it!
Dougal's mix is nothing but pure old skool happy hardcore! It has some well chosen songs like "follow the sun" and "the big spill", and it also has a cool remix of "steamtrian". The cd tends to be a bit slower than Hixxy's or Sharkey's, but it's still a well mixed cd!!!