hamishmcelnea3

Björk - Utopia as reviewed by hamishmcelnea3

January 15, 2020
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, tplp1381

One of her most unique listens. Flutes are insane and harps shine. Arca's beats are insane and creative but distracting at times tho. Trippy as hell.
Favourite track: Arisen my senses
DameFerlando

Björk - Utopia DameFerlando

December 13, 2019
referencing Utopia, Box, Ltd, Num, S/Edition, Bir + M/Stick + 14xFile,, tplp1381box

Cinema-quality files for the Tobias Gremmler videos. Whoa. So detailed!
DameFerlando

Björk - Utopia DameFerlando

July 12, 2019
referencing Utopia, Cass, Album, Ltd, Lig, tplp1381c
How do they sound? Just kidding. WORDS WORDS WORDS WORDS
gudvardarson

Björk - Utopia gudvardarson

May 28, 2020
referencing Utopia, Cass, Album, Ltd, Lig, tplp1381c

i don't have a cd or vinyl or lossless digital version to compare, but it sounds ridiculously good
Bit-Phalanx

Björk - Utopia Bit-Phalanx

February 7, 2020
referencing Utopia, Cass, Album, Ltd, Lig, tplp1381c
The 2019 tape re-issues sound amazing... if you don't have a dusty old abused stereo.
maxal

Björk - Utopia as reviewed by maxal

December 14, 2018
referencing Utopia, CD, Album, tplp1381cdx
Agreed - Utopia is produced beautifully on vinyl, as are the three album singles. Every detail is catered to perfection: Bjork's voice, the pure brilliance of the music, high music production, cover art and vinyl colour. The four x vinyl Utopia set is a must-have in my opinion. It's one of the best examples of "getting it right" I have bought.

It's strange / interesting what some have pointed out about Bjork's past vinyl production. Apart from a few highly-collectible examples, which are now too expensive, many have commented on vinyl problems. Generally, I've found certain INDIE (!!!) bands / labels are consistently produced well and I've taken it to mean a small company can have better control and perhaps they care more. (So, what's up One Little Indian?)

I'm glad a high standard is achieved for Utopia. One Little Indian got it right. Bjork's artistry in music - quiet bits, high notes, contrast in instruments - demands attentive production. This leaves the rest of Bjork's music crying out to be properly produced on vinyl.
bruhgingi

Björk - Utopia bruhgingi

September 5, 2018
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd

mine came with a free extra a side label stuck right onto the record lol
reTcon

Björk - Utopia reTcon

February 12, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Utopia, 14xFile, WAV, Album, 24 , none
Painful to listen to.. scratchy and brickwalled like hell. What's the point in releasing this in 24 bit / 96 khz?
ShriekElectro

Björk - Utopia ShriekElectro

January 25, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd

Great album, solid pressing, little-to-no interference. There's some noticeable cut-off during some song transitions that seem to ruin the experience, however.

The peach color looks wonderful, though!
leafoscillot

Björk - Utopia leafoscillot

August 2, 2018
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
In what way is this a 2 star review? ?
wassim_elia

Björk - Utopia as reviewed by wassim_elia

January 21, 2018
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Opt, tplp1381

Björk album pressings are quite known for not having the best audiophile quality out there, actually most of them don't do justice to the music that they contain... but wow. I beg to differ with this pressing, phenomenal, breathy pressing. It's dead quiet, clear of clicks and pops, dynamic & grand. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoyed the album as much as I did.
mateus.buzzo

Björk - Utopia as reviewed by mateus.buzzo

December 18, 2017
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
This thing is beautiful! Serious, this is so so beautiful! It was printed on a glossy paper, since the front cover to the sleeve which holds the vinyls. The lyrics to all the fourteen tracks were printed on the sleeves together with an art exclusively for the album and the "thank you" section. The discs... aaaaah the discs! These discs are heavy, but certainly not 180g, and they are peach coloured. Describing them with words is not enough to say how beautiful they are. And the sound quality... except for a few pops on side D, it was immaculate pressed! The vinyl is really quiet with solid bass so we can listen to all the birds and flutes the way Björk and Arca wanted to.
The album itself is really abstract. We can see that on the front cover. I was panicked when I first saw it, but let's think about it. This is abstract, maybe utopic, the way Björk and Arca wanted to be. Listen to those flutes and those birds, see the front cover, the flowers inside and understand the lyrics makes the Utopia experience closer to the Vespertine and Vulnicura experience.
A great great album with a great great Rough Trade exclusive edition. 5 stars once again for this amazing Icelandic musician.
maxal

Björk - Utopia maxal

February 7, 2018
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
Hi Mateus - yes, I will buy Vulnicura and get back to you when I have listened to it properly (stupidly I have been waiting for the price to get a bit cheaper). I watched a live performance of it on the internet and she (and her costumes) were great. I also read a bit, so I know she was aware of the 'sad' content and even made comments on the audience crying . . . she wanted to change that reaction with her next album.

However, like you say, 'the inspiration for the lyrics was her life' continues to apply to Utopia. Of course all her albums have meaning to her and apply her life experiences, but with the latter albums they are much closer and direct to her heart. That is partly what distinguishes the latter albums, they are different in nature, more personal, and less iconic 'pop songs' (if you know what I mean). She has created a unique testament.

[I like Army of Me too, it's one of those songs which prooves her range, really raucous, and the other side of the balance to purer songs like All Is Full of Love. Have you heard the Death Cab for Cutie version of All Is Full of Love? It's on one of their singles, not an album - well worth listening to.]
mateus.buzzo

Björk - Utopia mateus.buzzo

January 2, 2018
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
I love "Post" with all my heart, so I cannot agree more about "Hyper-ballad". I would include Army of Me too. Although my favourite song is not from "Post", this is my favourite album.

About "Vulnicura" - give it a try. If there is something "Vulnicura" is not is a bad album. "Stonemilker" is one of the most beautiful things I've ever listened. But keep on mind that: 1) she wrote the album to talk about HER feelings about her marriage and its break-up. On the booklet, together with the name of the song, you can find the date when the fact she is exploring happened - and - 2) "Vulnicura" is a depressive album on purpose, so help yourself and do not expect a "Post" or "Volta" inspiration. The inspiration for the lyrics was her life.
Start to listen to the album together with the lyrics. Read them while you're listening or read them before that. Again, if there's something "Vulnicura" is not is a bad album. Give it a try and write to me your experience.
maxal

Björk - Utopia maxal

December 30, 2017
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
Yes, I definitely know what you mean about the Utopia cover - it also applies to many of Bjork's previous albums. I distinctly remember having the exact same feeling with the Homogenic cover, she looks like a Japanese alien. That hairdo and the elongated neck, many hairdos (and don'ts) in between - all the way to the Vulnicura album (odd wound in her tummy there), which you say is now one of your favourites. Interesting you didn't like it at first, I understand. Thanks for the tip: Vulnicura is the ONE Bjork album I haven't bought. It's time I give it a try.

I have quite a few Bjork favourites for different reasons. In fact one I can turn my back on is 'It's Oh so Quiet' which was loved by many - for me it's too much like something from a Musical (but I loved 'I've Seen It All', which she did with Thom Yorke for Dancer in the Dark). Hyperballad is great with all its remixes.
mateus.buzzo

Björk - Utopia mateus.buzzo

December 22, 2017
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
I'm glad you laughed hahahaha but that was true, isn't it? The album cover is so bizarre that now is one of the most amazing covers she ever delivered. I love it now. And yes, sometimes we need to be patient with new things, but probably we have difficult to accept different. This is human nature.

Me, for example, when I first listened to Vulnicura I classified it as the worst album on her entire carreer. Now, is one of my favourite things ever. People expect that Björk always deliver something like Debut or Post (my favourite), but people change, carreers change. We all change.

She chose to not record easylistening classics and that's what make her different from all the nowadays artists. But she always did. Jóga is not a bubblegum pop song and it is a classic. As well as Pagan Poetry and so many other.

For those who say Utopia is not a easy-listening album, they should try to listen to Vulnicura with the lyrics and pay attention on what she wanted to tell us with the album. They should do the same with Utopia. I'm sure they'll change their minds.
maxal

Björk - Utopia maxal

December 19, 2017
referencing Utopia, 2xLP, Album, Ltd, Pea, tplp1381ltd
Nice review. The second to last paragraph you wrote made me laugh! ('panicked when I first saw it'). Yes, I know what you mean, I wondered what the album would be like too, but like you say, the flutes, birds and flowers - all deliver. (And now, you have got used to it, don't you like the bizarre album cover?) Maybe we need to be patient with new things . . .

I think Bjork plays a difficult game being experimental. We love her for it when it goes right, but then can be too quick to criticise or take time to appreciate. With Bjork's skills I am sure she could churn out more easylistening classics, but choses not to. For that decision, she gets a smaller audience. The reward however, is that Utopia is a beautiful, original piece of music.

Regarding those who say they don't like the Utopia album: their dislike doesn't create an absolute statement on the album's relevance. There are people who seriously appreciate it.
Bitsteam

Björk - Utopia as reviewed by Bitsteam

December 16, 2017
referencing Utopia, 14xFile, WAV, Album, 24 , none
An extremely loud and lifeless master that makes it impossible for me to get through to the music.

WHY?
reTcon

Björk - Utopia reTcon

December 25, 2017
referencing Utopia, 14xFile, WAV, Album, 24 , none
Yes, it sounds overly-compressed and the music can't breathe......So unnecessary.