GyulaDudas

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by GyulaDudas

November 25, 2018
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, For, PZ 34427, 28 146 XOT
Hi! What label?? "Made In Germany" in run-outs?? Please write about it a bit more description.
SoundsFromThePocket

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear SoundsFromThePocket

June 29, 2018
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, V 2068
I have a copy, not gatefold, on NOVA (6) MFD by Enjoy Rock Culture Ltd. G.I.O. 0577. printed in West Germany. Spine & label say ML-001, and labels say 'Music Life'. Asian price sticker is on the NOVA outer poly jacket.
discophage

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear discophage

May 3, 2018
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RE, 180, VR2068
Anyone has heard about those 2012 Lp copies ? Would be cool to read something about it and the other TD reissues. Thanks.
gorgoo

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear gorgoo

October 24, 2017
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RP, Gat, V 2068
My copy : Matrix / Runout (Side A run-out area): V-2068-A-2
Matrix / Runout (Side B run-out area): V-2068-B-1

Aerobots

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear Aerobots

March 10, 2017
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, Gat, PZ 34427
Virgin ‎– PZ 34427 Why is this not listed as gatefold [gat]?
Mine is and the pictures seem to indicate this one is, too.
aoguy

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear aoguy

October 9, 2016
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, Gat, PZ 34427
I have a similar version to this. The album info. on the labels are printed higher up with the serial number just below the Dragon logo.
CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

July 21, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RE, Gat, VI 2068
Does anyone else have this pressing? I'm wondering if it's just a bad pressing or if I got hosed on this purchase. This is a repress from Virgin International. The amount of surface noise is ridiculous, plus, this pressing is super quiet! I have to crank it way up just to hear it...which just makes the surface noise louder, lol. Tangerine Dream is amazing but they require near perfect pressings to be experienced the way they're supposed to be heard, imo. Then again it might just be my copy.
Robertwisconsin

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear Robertwisconsin

February 28, 2018
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RE, Gat, VI 2068

Mine has moderate surface noise. Will try to get it a good scrubbing on a VPI. Recording level is a bit low, but pretty good dynamic range.
Nolan.E

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear Nolan.E

March 22, 2017
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RE, Gat, VI 2068
My copy is beautiful. No surface noise. Has a notch cut out if that means anything.
CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear CNTRL_SCRUTINIZER

July 27, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RE, Gat, VI 2068
Ha! Okay, good to know. Makes me feel a little better...but yeah, this record sounds like crapola!
jbindeman

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear jbindeman

July 26, 2016
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RE, Gat, VI 2068
nope, my copy is the same way. it sounds like it was recorded underwater, in a bad way!
simmo506

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by simmo506

February 11, 2016
referencing Stratosfear, CD, Album, RE, CDV 2068
A classic album from the masters of E/M. Tangerine Dream at the peak of greatness.
bullfinchart

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by bullfinchart

December 10, 2014
referencing Stratosfear, CD, Album, RE, RM, TAND 8, 7243 8 40065 2 5, 7243 8 40065 25
Although Tangerine Dream's output (certainly 1970 - 2000) is a run of continually evolving albums, Stratosfear is a significant one from a stylistic perspective. After many years of largely improvised output, from psychedelic krautrock, through drone to pulsating synthscapes, Stratosfear is the first TD album to feature strongly composed melodies. The main theme in the title track, introduced near its start, is a surprisingly catchy melody, something the group would continue to work with over the next ten years. The album also sees the re-introduction of a wider array of instruments, including electronic percussion, piano, harpsichord, harmonica, and acoustic, electric & bass guitars, after several years of largely 'electronic' sounding music.

Of course this isn't to say Stratosfear is a pop album by any standards, just that it stands out as strikingly different from the previous few albums. The band's trademark sequences are still evident in three of the four pieces, albeit playing a more minor role: there is less modulation, and the focus is generally on the melodies or improvisations that are layered on top of them.

After the more ethereal sounds of Phaedra, Rubycon and Ricochet, Stratosfear very much lives up to the wordplay in its title, as it is probably the darkest sounding of the group's post-Ohr albums. Interestingly, TD recorded the soundtrack to the film Sorcerer at the same time, and the two records are strikingly similar in sound, both featuring menacing pulses and wandering mellotron-flute melodics.

In widening the band's sound palette, Stratosfear is an important milestone for a band who continued to experiment; at the same time, its more streamlined construction has as much to do with progressive rock as it does ambient electronica, and the album sits at a crossroads heading towards a direction which lost the band some of their fans. As a standalone piece, however, it sits comfortably among the best of the group's Virgin Years recordings.
giullare

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear giullare

December 3, 2014
referencing Stratosfear, CD, Album, RE, RM, TAND 8, 7243 8 40065 2 5, 7243 8 40065 25
...after 20 years from this edition is maybe good made a new version:from the original masters tapes at 24 bit / 96khz ! a deluxe edition of this fantastic album!
fred-denmark

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by fred-denmark

March 1, 2014
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, Gat, V 2068

To some one of there favorite albums. A funny note : There is always a small "hidden" photo of a child on the sleeves or sometimes on the LP. Think that these guys is still in operation - making the background music for GTA 5.
ChrisEfterklang

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear ChrisEfterklang

November 22, 2018
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, Gat, V 2068
In case you didn't know in much cases the kid is Jerome Froese, son of bandleader Edgar Froese.
jeffgillooly

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear jeffgillooly

February 19, 2012
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, Gat, PZ 34427

My copy is a "DEMONSTRATION" Not For Sale version, with a matrix strip sticker on the front cover.
ThomasBear

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by ThomasBear

August 20, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RP, V 2068, V2068

I had the privilege of "inheriting" some records from my uncle's 500+ piece 70's record collection and STRATOSFEAR was one of them. I wasn't even born when this was released but I enjoy this a lot - not knowing all that much about electronic music from back in the day I can only marvel in appreciation at what they must have accomplished at the time.
Maybe this is audio blasphemy and maybe it isn't, but (no doubt as a result of my MTV soaked short attention span suffering media cynical generation Y mind) I always play "STRATOSFEAR" at 45.
jax

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by jax

April 5, 2003
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RP, V 2068, V2068

This album made me start to like Tangerine Dream. By the time it was a real innovative path they were taking. Into a dead end it seems. Unfortunately!
jussumen

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by jussumen

February 1, 2003
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RP, V 2068, V2068
you'er right , this showed a new side to the usual very long synthesizer led journeys thru ambient textures and added a drum machine and flutes . for a more melodic , trancy , but a little faster sound. i remember being real astonished when i heard this record the first time ;only knowing their experimental stuff like ZEIT , or Alpha Centaury . Rubycon on the other hand, had some of this ingredients already a few years before....
Johnny-X

Tangerine Dream - Stratosfear as reviewed by Johnny-X

January 31, 2003
referencing Stratosfear, LP, Album, RP, V 2068, V2068

Simply my favorite TD album with Phaedra and White Eagle.
Probably the most well accomplished album in the 70's Electronic era with Timewind and Trans Europe Express.
Stratosfear drove the band and Electronic Music to Recognition in the ROCK Music area. It was the end of Gadget music...;-)