Akazi_Sh

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by Akazi_Sh

November 13, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

Basic Track is without a doubt a timeless cut, it will not lose its appeal nor impact. It's cool, stripped down, groovy, dubby and has a simple arrangement that makes it an equally useful tool for mashups and layering on top of other tracks.

Rej, on the other hand, was absolutely massive when it came out. There were countless adaptations. remakes, interpretations -a highlight for me is the A Hundred Birds Beatless Remix- which clearly support the track's claim to fame. For those of us that have had the pleasure and luck to party to Rej and to create memories, its impact and relevance will be even stronger because of its nostalgic appeal.

I believe that Rej is a piece of history that does not have a timeless sound to it but therein lies the beauty of the track. It transports you to a specific time and space which arouses many positive emotions.
AskeladdenBlack

Âme - Rej EP AskeladdenBlack

October 22, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
The right channel glitchy click noise over the kick on Basic Track annoys me.
lilla-lobos

Âme - Rej EP lilla-lobos

January 17, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
It's unbearable indeed! Not a great loss to me personally since i don't think that basic track is a particularly special tune. I usually let friends and family trying out mixing on my decks use this one to try out beat matching.
Red-Kite

Âme - Rej EP Red-Kite

May 16, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
If "Rej" has been played to death, then this what I want my death to sound like. Guess I will never unlike this track.
Also, in case you were in danger of underestimating its cultural impact, here's the (pretty awesome) brass cover version by Hamburg-based marching band MEUTE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtKdqwRC07A
Sceam sell-out all you like - "Basic Track" is a solid dub house groover, but "Rej" is history.
eugenefaunt

Âme - Rej EP eugenefaunt

November 22, 2015
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
Rej was no doubt the tune when it came out, but it sounds dated now. Basic track is still the jam.
TheEnabler

Âme - Rej EP TheEnabler

December 26, 2014
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
never understood the hype of this tune.
dmp

Âme - Rej EP dmp

July 23, 2015
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

Well, I guess it was due to a few reasons why it ended up in such a hype. While most other electronic genres lost popularity in Europe it was reduced, bleepy minimal music having its heyday around that time (2004 - 2007). New sounds and arrangements gained the attention of the people in the clubs. There was a lot of music that was simple and predictable but REJ just had something that all those other tracks didn't have. It's that catchy melody and the way it keeps building something beautiful out of simple reduction. The kids loved it in the clubs and it worked everywhere. It didn't take long at all to get it popular and the rest was history. I guess the timing of this release was also perfect. It turned out to be a game changer for minimal music. And also for the labels Innervision and Sonar Kollektiv, as many similar releases followed.
jondavey

Âme - Rej jondavey

April 30, 2014
edited over 5 years ago
referencing Rej, 12", DFTD138R
''it's 'ad a remix''
ProtH

Âme - Rej EP ProtH

October 10, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
good pops
mineiro

Âme - Rej EP mineiro

August 31, 2013
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
what can I say? it is perfect!
jiggawhat

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by jiggawhat

April 10, 2012
edited over 6 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

I too, do not understand the hype. It's all right, it has a catchy melody, but I've heard better.
tarwater3

Âme - Rej EP tarwater3

May 3, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

"Rej" is a collosal track , period !!!!!!!! Now , if you don't like it , don't understand the hype & stick to its "catchy melody" , you might as well share the better tracks you are referring to , am desperately anxious to see your Top-Of-The-Top list of yours ................
andreinstein

Âme - Rej EP andreinstein

February 18, 2013
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
It was THE track for people who knew nothing about electronic music. I still despise this track for the shitstorm it caused...
3rdFormulation

Âme - Rej EP 3rdFormulation

July 15, 2011
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
Quite possibly the quintessential Minimal/Neo Trance record.
housemusic3

Âme - Rej as reviewed by housemusic3

October 10, 2008
referencing Rej, 12", DFTD138
Kristian Beyer + Frank Wiedemann are the German duo who make up Ame. This minimal but hard-hitting tune is a whirl of pounding kicks, heavy sub-bass, riveting keys, techy ambience and gutt-grabbing strings. Hundred Birds bring a housier feel into their mix but the original is a must have, and now house music anthem being played by dj's all over the world. Rej is the record that really put Ame on the map. Really Hot!
Mark_Anthony

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by Mark_Anthony

June 4, 2007
edited over 11 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

Some people see this melody as melanchoic...when I listen to it, I hear ominous evil. Like a storm that is slowly brewing in the distance when the melody is first introduced. Towards end you have an increasingly distorted, completely unrelenting, one-note guitar jam that signifies all hell breaking loose. At this point in the track, when the guitar sound reaches its very peak, consider yourself owned.
FLuViRuS

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by FLuViRuS

November 17, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

Midnight hour. Deep, deep, deep electro/house-grooves with stylish, swooping synths zap discerning ears into activity. Synth stabs, almost nihilistic, dot out a delicate, fleeting melody in C# minor, not scary but a little melancholy. Rej is the dancing baby born from the womb of Isolée, and together they proudly proclaim: We Are Monster. Monster hit, that is for sure.
ajmedway

Âme - Rej EP ajmedway

November 27, 2010
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
Nice review - concise and accurate :)
skopp

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by skopp

October 24, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
I don't see what the fuss is all about. I have listened to this Rej over and over, purely for the sake of catching on to it and saying "Ah! Now I get it!"...but I don't. It would have been a brilliant minimalistic instrumental piece without the silly 'scary' synth up front (which sounds like it was stolen from a circus by the way).

I will give due to the background instrumental programming and a nice low constant bassline, however.
trix.1210

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by trix.1210

August 10, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02
I came back from Ibiza today and heard this tune whilst dancing at DC10. The crowd went absolutely mad when they heard it and I was just blown away. "Ame" is the Japanese word for "Mothers Love" by the way. This tune sends shivers down my spine. Its synthline is slightly creepy in an awesome way. Its a captivating, rolling, intriguing track - check it out.
protodisciples

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by protodisciples

April 13, 2006
edited over 13 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

"Rej" is for me an absolutely elegant German deep-techno tune with a beautiful dramatic strings progression and this incredible synth-line with a balearic feel causes frenzy on the dancefloor.
Listen during a Laurent Garnier incredible long set months before its coming out.
Mr.Fonk

Âme - Rej EP as reviewed by Mr.Fonk

December 26, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
referencing Rej EP, 12", EP, SK078, INNERVISIONS02

"Rej" is an absolutely stunningly beautiful house tune with beautiful string sequencies, soaring soundscapes and an incredibly deep atmosphere. The tune was deservedly voted #2 in the annual reader's poll of the well-respected german magazine for electronic music, GROOVE.