RockWrok

Beach House - 7 RockWrok

August 8, 2019
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Whi, BELLA777V
Anyone else have a problem with excessive surface noise on this album ?
goldencalves

Beach House - 7 as reviewed by goldencalves

February 5, 2019
referencing 7, LP, Album, Gat, SP1240
Saw 3 or 4 copies of this. Each one had non-fill or stitching (RTI fumbling its QC), so they’re intermitteny noisy on top of having a very narrow dynamic range due to cramming 48 minutes into two sides. Gave up and passed on this, sounds significantly better on lossless.
jacob.k.3

Beach House - 7 as reviewed by jacob.k.3

November 24, 2018
edited 10 months ago
referencing 7, LP, Album, Gat, SP1240
Pretty good pressing... a bit muddy, but very lush in the lower ends. Seems to be mastered a bit low. Moderate amount of background noise. I think this album would've benefited from a double LP pressing rather than packing so much on one disc.
dopaminedj

Beach House - 7 dopaminedj

August 22, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Ltd, Whi, MIST087LP
I live in the US and my local record shop has this for $58.99 lol.
conditionals

Beach House - 7 conditionals

July 20, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Ltd, Whi, MIST087LP

A few pops on the first side but otherwise quite decent. Very thick sounding pressing.
lilyipper

Beach House - 7 as reviewed by lilyipper

July 11, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
I purchased the yellow vinyl loser edition. The vinyl's very nice appearance-wise, and the cover art of the album is just beautiful (Probably my favorite beach house album art). The album also came with a piece of very interesting art work and a lyrics sheet, both quite wonderful additions. The sleeve the actual vinyl came in was not the standard paper sleeve, instead it was a custom sleeve (thank goodness!). The actual vinyl plays fine, with the only problem being the sound quality can come off as quiet at certain points in the album, whereas other songs feel full and loud. The music itself is composed of stellar alternative, electric rock songs, and ends up giving a really full and fun listen. Definitely recommend the album and this pressing is sufficient for my beach house needs.
juhpopey

Beach House - 7 juhpopey

June 27, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
Every Beach House record I have has some sort of issue, whether it be quietness, surface noise, distortion, or skipping. VMP's reissue of Devotion, the loser edition of Depression Cherry, and now this one. What's goin on over at Sub Pop's QC?
RockWrok

Beach House - 7 RockWrok

August 8, 2019
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
I bought the UK white vinyl version of 7 and there's surface noise all over it - very disappointing
SwitcherooU

Beach House - 7 as reviewed by SwitcherooU

June 27, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Gat, SP1240

One of the few records that sounds better than its digital counterparts. Sounds so full on vinyl.
mogwaidk

Beach House - 7 mogwaidk

June 25, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, BELLA777V

My copy of this has a lot of background noise throughout the entire record...
daysofcandy

Beach House - 7 daysofcandy

June 15, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
mine is a bit quiet but that's really the only issue, doesn't affect my enjoyment really. also the packaging is fantastic.
beniffa

Beach House - 7 beniffa

June 11, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, BELLA777V
Had the limited clear version first off. Last three tracks were ruined by 'no fill' took the record back and swapped for the black vinyl version. Sounds fantastic and no scrapping, tearing noise in those tracks. Brilliant album.
Swy7ch

Beach House - 7 Swy7ch

June 5, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, BELLA777

Great pressing ! It is not a heavy one (not advertised and feel rather lighter than my heavy pressings, I haven't weighed it though) but still, dynamic range is good, almost no surface noise.

As for the album itself, well it may be not as good as Devotion or Teen Dream, but it is a nice refreshment of their style, since they lowered the reverb on vocals and changed a bit their guitar lines.

I do recommend it, it's a very good one !
rhasq013

Beach House - 7 rhasq013

May 26, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
I guess I'm not an audiophile but I've been listening to records forever and this sounds pretty damn great to me. I'm not hearing the surface noise that some have complained about. The packaging is rad. Sub Pop sent me a Beach House sticker. I mean, it cost something like $19, so stfu about all of the little quirks and enjoy something you paid very little for.
mistermuse

Beach House - 7 mistermuse

May 26, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
Ok pressing, but vinyl mastering is squashed. Stick to the digital as your go to.
boulala1406

Beach House - 7 as reviewed by boulala1406

May 25, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Whi, BELLA777V
Great album.. This record sounds good but i must put it at a high volume. The usual volume i set is quite low. Other than that no issues with this release
garmtz

Beach House - 7 garmtz

June 6, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Whi, BELLA777V
Very probably because the record is quite long. The volume then needs to be reduced to reduce the space between grooves.
SmokeyJonez

Beach House - 7 SmokeyJonez

May 22, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Yel, SP1240
Yeah, little quiet but not a big deal. Surface noise not an issue at all on my copy.
david_carter1969

Beach House - 7 david_carter1969

May 21, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle, BELLA777V

Great album and a wonderful warmth to the pressing, sadly the second side has considerably more crackles than the first that is particularly noticeable during the sublime Black Car
gnombyX

Beach House - 7 gnombyX

May 21, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Ltd, Cle, BELLA777V
my copy has few medium-loud pops at the beginning of Black Car, the rest of the record plays great
goldenboy1on1

Beach House - 7 as reviewed by goldenboy1on1

May 19, 2018
referencing 7, LP, Album, Gat, SP1240
Very good pressing. I have no issues with sound or EQ. It sounds full, thick and lush.

I heard the yellow version - that was awful so i stuck with the black lp.