NickDB8

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino as reviewed by NickDB8

July 15, 2019
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Cle, WIGLP339X, WIGLP339
Great album, terrible pressing. I've never had a record skip so many times fresh out of the packaging.
j.botanch

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino as reviewed by j.botanch

January 29, 2019
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Dlx, Sil, WIGLP339XM, WIGLP339

One of my favorite bands since their debut album "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not", which became famous through MY SPACE -yes, my space-.

This album has nothing to do with that debut full of frenetic guitars, which have been protagonists in their other four studio albums.

Twelve years later, Arctic Monkeys give the protagonism to Steinway Vertegrand piano that his manager gave Alex Turner when he turned thirty. For many fans of the Sheffield band this album is not what they expected but, personally, it seems to me one of the best albums of 2018.

"Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino" is a very interesting studio work due to its aesthetic risk. A remarkable work.

Instagram: @musicaligera
maxjago

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino maxjago

August 22, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, 180, WIGLP339
I've bought today the European Version WIGLP339 (Barcode 887828033911), but there is a different sticker indicating
180GM HEAVYWEIGHT
VIRGIN VINYL
+ DOWNLOAD CODE

Is this "Virgin Vinyl" a Special Edition?
IronDust71

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino IronDust71

September 25, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, 180, WIGLP339
It's not, it's the regular edition in the EU at least. "Virigin vinyl" means the PVC used for the pressing is fresh and was not recycles from previous pressings
RiseHigh72

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino RiseHigh72

August 10, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, 180, WIGLP339
Fantastic album...The Munkeys have always been a good/average 'indie' band......Now they have been possessed by Bowie and Gainsbourg! Go for it lads!...Whats next???....PIL meets Diana Ross??? ;)....Good pressing as well!
jammyspur

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino jammyspur

July 26, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, 180, WIGLP339
There is a UK version of this in clear Vinyl and exclusive to first orders at HMV came with a limited lyric book and hype stickered sleeve
javivelez1729

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino javivelez1729

July 30, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, Cass, Album, Ltd, WIGMC339
Yup. ahah! xD Suprised they had the cassette online. Definitely bought in an instant... along with literally everything else in the merch store and their UKstore too. haha
WeenSlap

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino WeenSlap

July 23, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, Cass, Album, Ltd, WIGMC339

Side A sounds great, however side B is extremely lo-fi for some reason. Its still fun to have this album on cassette, and the packaging is fantastic. (Picked up from New York City pop-up)
Horslips

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino as reviewed by Horslips

June 8, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Cle, WIGLP339X, WIGLP339

After many listens I can say the lyrics are their usual brilliant self. But the album just doesn't do it for me. American Sports is the exceptional song. History in my opinion will see this as a missed opportunity to change the landscape of popular music. If you loved Arctic Monkeys and what they have done in the past then buy the Skids album released this year called Burning Cities, see here Skids - Burning Cities . This in my opinion is what Arctic Monkeys are/were about..... I am getting so much more enjoyment out of this Skids album than the pretentious Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino. Sorry guys...it's just my opinion.
movceo

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino movceo

June 1, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, 180, WIGLP339
I had a feeling the US pressing would probably be done by Rainbo (ugh) so I ordered this EU one instead and it sounds fantastic. One of the best pressings I've purchased in awhile - no surface noise to be heard at all, just the sweet sounds of this rather wacky album from the Monkeys!
colebiggs5

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino as reviewed by colebiggs5

May 27, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, 180, WIGLP339
Anybody selling the tote bag that came with the preorder?
NYmadferit

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino NYmadferit

May 27, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, CD, Album, Tar, WIGCD339T
Lyric book is cool, although the cd already comes with a booklet with all the lyrics, lol
WeenSlap

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino WeenSlap

May 20, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Ltd, Gol, WIGLP339PU, WIGLP339

Sounds amazing, and has way less surface noise than my silver copy. The gold is a lot darker and deeper than my other gold colored records. (Picked up from the New York City pop up)
DiscoDaddy

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino DiscoDaddy

May 19, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Cle, WIGLP339X, WIGLP339

Very good pressing, dead silent.

The music also... first play kinda went over my head, yet in the space of a week I've gone back to it about 10 - 20 times. excellent.
myrutger

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino myrutger

May 20, 2018
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Cle, WIGLP339X, WIGLP339
I completely agree, both regarding the good pressing and the music!
slowcheetah

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino slowcheetah

May 15, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino, LP, Album, Dlx, Sil, WIGLP339XM, WIGLP339
Sounds pretty good. I experienced quite some pops and surface noise, although it's not too distracting.