jtm1967

Big Star - Sister Lovers (The Third Album) jtm1967

May 5, 2019
referencing Sister Lovers (The Third Album), LP, Album, RE, DOJO LP 55

I own several different pressings of this and after doing several comparisons this pressing beats out all others! The top 3 with the word top used very loosely.
#1 this pressing (dojo porky press)
#2 1st pvc press a distant 2nd
#3 2nd pvc sterling hub press sister lovers 1985. This one sounds very dull and flat. No life at all.
jon.torrez.3

Big Star - 3rd as reviewed by jon.torrez.3

December 9, 2017
referencing 3rd, LP, Album, RE, 180, 4M 142
Reclaimed a copy after selling it a few years back. What a mistake that was, but fortunately these are floating around for reasonable prices nowadays. If 4 Men With Beards have any diamonds in their largely offensive catalog, this is that diamond. It sounds great. Why they can't do this with all of their releases is beyond my comprehension. My copy is fairly quiet and the disc itself is flat. The mastering sounds superb. Save your money on those expensive box sets and pick this one up.
ElasticMan

Big Star - Sister Lovers (The Third Album) as reviewed by ElasticMan

October 27, 2016
referencing Sister Lovers (The Third Album), LP, Album, RE, DOJO LP 55

It is a strange album, at once beautiful and tender and devastating and hollow, both conservative and experimental, desiring to attract and confound listeners. I feel like I'm in the middle of this music when listening, a three dimensional space. It's on my emotional wavelenght like no other music. I resonate in time with the music and all barriers collapse. At times I can feel almost too raw to keep listening to but there are also moments of extreme tenderness and beauty. More at - http://theknockingshop.blogspot.ie/2013/05/top-102-albums-my-ground-zero-sister.html
Blaine78

Big Star - 3rd Blaine78

December 6, 2014
referencing 3rd, LP, Album, RE, 180, 4M 142
nice pressing, sounds great. good job all round.
Iggy98

Big Star - 3rd Iggy98

March 19, 2014
edited over 5 years ago
referencing 3rd, LP, Album, RE, 180, 4M 142
Great, warm sound. Absolutely recommended
cameronlenocker

Big Star - Sister Lovers (The Third Album) cameronlenocker

January 2, 2014
referencing Sister Lovers (The Third Album), LP, Album, RE, DOJO LP 55
My copy says "Sister Loves" on both A and B side labels. Anyone know anything about this?
alboostan

Big Star - The Third Album as reviewed by alboostan

October 6, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
referencing The Third Album, LP, Album, AUL 703
A half baked shuffle sequence of three quarters of maybe the best record ever made.
rexjwb

Big Star - 3rd Record rexjwb

April 27, 2013
referencing 3rd Record, CD, Album, RE, VACK-1298
I have read that this is the same mastering job as the 1992 Rykodisc issue. Can anyone confirm or deny?
alboostan

Big Star - 3rd Record alboostan

August 30, 2013
referencing 3rd Record, CD, Album, RE, VACK-1298

Yup,its the same,though the (reprint of the original) track listing would lead you to suppose otherwise.
mirabilevisu

Big Star - Third [Test Pressing Edition] mirabilevisu

May 14, 2012
referencing Third [Test Pressing Edition], LP, TP, OVLP-1
ps.

The text I included is the actual type from the embossed letter found in the record. It's missing the test pressing number because I'd like to stay as secret as I can about having this...
mirabilevisu

Big Star - Third [Test Pressing Edition] mirabilevisu

May 15, 2011
referencing Third [Test Pressing Edition], LP, TP, OVLP-1
This is not the standard pressing released on record store day!

This is the actual original test pressing that was signed by Jody Stephens and includes an embossed insert.

Don't be fooled and add this mistakenly!