scott_o_k

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) scott_o_k

March 19, 2021
edited about 1 month ago
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Album, STV 81176
Admittedly a pretty random comment, but it always bothered me a little that "Laurie's Theme" is just the main 'Halloween' theme except slower. I mean at least add a couple notes or something!
lee.c.dylan

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) as reviewed by lee.c.dylan

March 5, 2021
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Dev, DW135

Not very dynamic sounding but given the origin, I understand. Still a great soundtrack to own!
fritzstriker

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) as reviewed by fritzstriker

January 23, 2021
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), 2x12", Ltd, Ora, MOND-013
AUDIOPHILES BEWARE!!! This release is just an overpriced repressing of the 20th anniversary CD that is loaded with direct audio rips from the film, NOT what are traditionally known as "dialogue excerpts". For example - the first two tracks ("Halloween Theme" & "Halloween 1963") are in fact just the audio from the first five minutes of the film, complete with the children reciting the nursery rhyme, young Michael breathing and Judith being stabbed. If I wanted to hear all of that I would simply watch the film and NOT buy an exorbitant record. I was never a fan of the 20th anniversary edition for this very reason but at least that version didn't cost an arm and a leg. That's why I've never been a big fan of Mondo's releases as they seem to be no more than half hearted attempts to ride the coat-tails of far better companies like La-La-Land, Silva Screen and Waxwork Records. This is one area where Discogs fails in that these releases should all be lumped under one listing instead of each having their own. If I had known what I know now I NEVER would have bought this record!
ericksolis

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Soundtrack) ericksolis

October 27, 2020
edited 7 months ago
referencing Halloween (Original Soundtrack), LP, Album, SX-7013, SX 7013
This LP version known as the Spacesizer version is supposed to provide the listener with a 360 sound experience much like a surround sound system setup, that is if you had multiple speakers in 1979. That's what the "Spacesizer 360 System Recording" is all about. More importantly, the performer of this recording IS John Carpenter, naming himself as the "Bowling Green Jr. Philharmonic Orchestra". This alias information is actually presented in the end credits of the 1978 film. A quick google search provides the reader with information stating that John Carpenter billed himself as the "Bowling Green Jr. Philharmonic Orchestra" for the purpose of the movie, which I repeat IS IN THE END CREDITS OF THE FILM (Just fast forward to the credits, it's there). One misconception is that Osamu Shoji provided the performance, but this statement is solely based on Discogs linking his name as an alias for the "Bowling Green Jr. Philharmonic Orchestra". However, that seems inaccurate based on the fact that the 1978 release of the film is where the "Bowling Green Jr. Philharmonic Orchestra" is first mentioned. Also, Osamu Shojis name is NOWHERE to be found in the Japanese release, using Google Translate, every sentence has been translated to English and his name does not appear anywhere in the 4 pages of the inner sleeve, nor on the records themselves, nor in the outer sleeves. So there you have it folks.

P.S. The Rob Zombie remake sucks.
Ivangorod

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Soundtrack) Ivangorod

February 1, 2021
referencing Halloween (Original Soundtrack), LP, Album, SX-7013, SX 7013
Hey Erick - not to be 'that guy', but there are a couple of things that tell me that JC likely had anything to do with this release. First of all, whether it was performed by Shoji or someone else, the music here is a completely different recording of the themes from the film. Just compare the opening titles and it's very obviously covers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzuM95jt2gU
Secondly, the credit on this LP for 'The Bowling Green Jr Philharmonic Orchestra' is a pseudonym for the re-recording artist, and a subtle play on the music credit from the film's end titles - 'The Bowling Green Philharmonic Orchestra' (ie no 'Jr'). It's a little in-joke. Along with the fact that the performance and sound recording of the music on this album is completely different from the actual film score, for me this 100% validates that a different artist recorded these versions.
Btw, this LP is still fun regardless of it's origins (though the themes have nowhere near the power of Carpenter's versions!) and like a lot of Japanese soundtrack releases, is HEAVY with dialogue and sound fx from the movie. It's like listening to the movie with some Japanese musician riffing on the score with a couple of home synths :)

twoarmedscissor

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Soundtrack) twoarmedscissor

June 29, 2020
referencing Halloween (Original Soundtrack), LP, Album, SX-7013, SX 7013
cassette reissue: do it! if Halloween II can get one, why not its (arguably superior) big brother that started it all?
GroperSteve

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) GroperSteve

January 26, 2021
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), 2x12", Ltd, RE, RM, 180, MOND-013
Yes, and during those passages they include the revisionist surround sound foley effects. In the first scene, it’s in mono, and you think it’s going to be music from the original stereo master tapes with mono dialogue interspersed. But then during the drive to the asylum (with dialogue between the nurse and Sam), the relatively new foley sound effects are apparent (exaggerated rain sounds compared to the original mono soundtrack). It’s... pleasant sounding, but not faithful to the original soundtrack.
diabeetus777

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) diabeetus777

October 13, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Cle, DW135
This might be a stupid question, but isn’t this release only the music and not the dialogue? I ask because when playing this record I can faintly hear the dialogue in the background. I was just wondering if this is a side effect of dissecting the audio from the dialogue in the original master tapes and remastering, or what the deal is.
Hazell

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Hazell

January 31, 2021
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Cle, DW135
How absolutely rubbish... That completely defeats the object of buying a film score. One may as well just play the movie instead.

Does it actually say "includes dialogue" anywhere on the outer packaging or is it just an unwanted surprise revealed upon first listen?
diabeetus777

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) diabeetus777

November 20, 2019
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Cle, DW135
I understand it's the audio from the movie, but the dialogue on my copy is so quiet I can barely hear it. I have the 2013 Mondo 2XLP and the dialogue is loud and up front, but I can barely make out the dialogue on this new issue. I was just wondering if it's like that for everyone else or if something else is going on.
RembrandtPussyhorse

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) RembrandtPussyhorse

November 20, 2019
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Cle, DW135
It's not really background it's just the audio from the movie unfortunately, so you have to hear the characters talking when the music was played with a dialogue scene.
countstyrofoam

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) as reviewed by countstyrofoam

October 7, 2019
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Cle, DW135
Looks great, sounds not great. Pops and clicks galore. Spend the $$$ on the 2013 35th Anniversary release. That's where it is at.
MrBear16

John Carpenter - Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) MrBear16

July 21, 2020
referencing Halloween (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), LP, Mono, RE, Cle, DW135
Nevermind. I found it. Should have realized it was probably a different presentation