glenscott

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter glenscott

June 9, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
I've had two copies and they both have some weird distortion popping up at various points during "Fly". Anyone else hearing this?
boussven

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter boussven

May 27, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
beautiful packaging, with the textured sleeve and nice inner sleeve, but the sound of this LP is a bit clouded, covered, my CD version of this music sounds much more transparent and rich.
WolfXCIX

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter as reviewed by WolfXCIX

May 18, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

Sounds great! The packaging is nice, and so is the record. I don't have many complaints, especially since I got mine for $22.

I saw when I was buying it that it came with a download card for the 24 bit / 96 kHz FLAC, which was also a nice inclusion. When I redeemed the code, it gave me the other two formats of "Dubbed From Disc" and standard 320 Kbps MP3's. I was interested as to what "Dubbed From Disc" was as I had never heard of it before, but it turns out that's just a fancy way of saying "vinyl rip". And now that I've looked through some of the other versions of Bryter Layter I believe I've found one that includes that same audio: Nick Drake - Bryter Layter - Dubbed From Disc. If my suspicions are correct, the Dubbed version is a recording of Nick's personal copy of the album being played on the Drake family record player. That's cool to have, but I don't think I'll ever need to listen to it in that form.

In case of the FLAC, it was really strange because it sounded so quiet. I put it in Audacity to find out that the wave forms were very small in comparison to what I normally deal with editing my own ripped CD's. I amplified the recording up about 10 decibels and it sounded normal finally. In fact, better than normal! I compared it with my other CD copy and it had a notable improvement in quality: Nick Drake - Bryter Layter! The bass I could hear clearer than ever before on "One Of These Things First", which I can still hear on my CD copy but it's much more prevalent on the 24 bit version (the way I like it! also includes tape hiss as well, haha). I'll be listening to this version now on over my CD copy, which makes me wonder if the 2003 versions sound like the FLAC version.

Thanks to the work of Back To Black, you can own two great sounding versions on different formats of the same album for the same price. You won't have to pony up another $15 or more just the FLAC version, which makes getting this record worth it just for the code alone. I honestly don't think there's much higher for a better version of this album, as this remaster even has the original producer (Joe Boyd) working on it as well. Which for this remaster he remastered it from his own personal copy of the original mixes he made when he was working on it initially, as the original master tapes have been lost (as last reported).
mandomtz

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter mandomtz

April 23, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
Rumor has it this is cut from the OG master tapes? can anyone confirm this?
.Richard.

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter .Richard.

April 28, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
It’s cut from a tape copy of the master. Pink Moon is cut from the master tape.
Rob6899

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter Rob6899

March 24, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
Very nice version, love this album so much. Nick should have been appreciated more just for this one.

Definite hints of Pre and Post Echo but doesn't detract too much.
lee.c.dylan

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter as reviewed by lee.c.dylan

March 11, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

Holy smokes, this pressing is perfect and so fitting for such a beautiful album. One of my absolute favorites in my collection!
jkborreson

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter jkborreson

February 22, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Ltd, RE, RM, 180 + Box, 00602537134359
Could someone please confirm if this pressing — linked below — is indeed the same from this Box Set? I was told it was the same pressing without the extra cost and all the fancy goodies, but wanted to see if any one can confirm! Thanks so much. Trying to find the same music, pressing but at less cost. https://www.discogs.com/sell/item/1252307046
Thanks!
JonahJohn

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter JonahJohn

March 19, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Ltd, RE, RM, 180 + Box, 00602537134359
I can't confirm but they would be exactly the same, new remasters both issued on Island in 2013.
TyVondra

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter TyVondra

February 12, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

This sounds fantastic! This is one of the highest quality records I own and I love so much. Would definitely recommend!
ManticoreMantra

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter ManticoreMantra

October 7, 2020
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

Jaw droppingly beautiful music. This is a very good pressing and sound for £16. Interestingly bought this at the same time as Five Leaves Left (Back to Black). Bryter Layter sounds so much better. Clearer better soundstage and dynamics. Awesome
chunstiger

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter chunstiger

January 17, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
Five leaves was NOT cut from original analog master tapes.
notthat

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter notthat

October 3, 2020
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, ILPS 9134
I think this came out 1970.....not 1971 according to the book 1001 Albums you must hear before you die.
blackbird1158

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter blackbird1158

September 14, 2020
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, ILPS 9134
Woodztream, my origina vinyl pressing says ILPS 9314. No dash. Sorry I can't explain about the dash
Rockabilly_Main_Man

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter as reviewed by Rockabilly_Main_Man

September 5, 2020
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
I have to add that the idea of the inner sleeve being a new facsimile of a second-hand dirtier than most inners was an inspired idea. As his records sat in bins for years - unknown and with nil airplay. I had heard John Martyn w/ Danny Thompson - so I was aware of the sound he aspired to, but I had never heard him until the 21st Century. You couldn't give Pink Moon away in the eighties - it just sat in the bins.
devito.mark

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter devito.mark

July 29, 2020
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

Knowing the original tapes are gone, this sounds pretty good. There is one click in mine which is annoying, but it only lasts 10 - 15 seconds.
leonthepro

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter leonthepro

May 9, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
devito.mark
Knowing the original tapes are gone, this sounds pretty good. There is one click in mine which is annoying, but it only lasts 10 - 15 seconds.

Pink Moon still used the original tape though. Mine had a few clicks on B4 only.
psychedalex71

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter psychedalex71

February 19, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
I also have a Click at the end of Hazey Jane !(Side A, 2). Otherwise great sound
LordRockingham

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter LordRockingham

July 6, 2020
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

As far as I'm aware this issue is mastered from the Joe Boyds own copy of the orig master tapes. The sound is sublime. Perfect pressing too.
SongAndDanceMan9

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter SongAndDanceMan9

June 25, 2020
edited 12 months ago
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551
I got a pretty noisy pressing. It was cheap but I was expecting more. Also non fill on one song
TomMegginson

Nick Drake - Bryter Layter TomMegginson

May 2, 2021
referencing Bryter Layter, LP, Album, RE, RM, 180, 0602537347551

Mine too. But just side one, I've cleaned it several times. Seems like a flaw.