Gialegiale

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood Gialegiale

March 30, 2021
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
A true masterpiece. Check also showreel Pt.2 on Broken Glass Arch ep.
Katsching

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood as reviewed by Katsching

January 30, 2021
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

It's been a year now since I've bought the vinyl of this and after listening through it many times I can finally reflect on it the best I possibly can for now:
This album is a masterpiece. There is a common theme throughout the journey when it comes to sound design, yet every individual track sounds distinct from the others. It features a perfect balance of soothing compositions and electrifying breakbeats.
Once a track is finished there is this brief moment when you feel disappointment that the track has to be over but with the first sound of the following track you get instantly reminded that there is so much more to feel happy about when it comes to this album.
AnimusTheNerd

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood AnimusTheNerd

January 3, 2021
edited 5 months ago
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Found this brand new in a £5 sale at my local record shop. Unbelievably pleased with that now I'm seeing what it's going for - incredible album.
ale33321

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood ale33321

April 23, 2021
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
You should definitely visit more often that store for record-digging, sounds like they know their business well ;D
sandro__tavartk

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood sandro__tavartk

August 5, 2020
edited 10 months ago
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
It has been just two days since I discovered this amazing album and must say, It's nothing that I've listened to before. A clever approach to the melodies with amazing ambient textures, packed in a solid IDM rhythm section all around. AAA+++ Must listen!

A-A

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood A-A

March 11, 2020
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

has anyone carefully compared the repress with the original press?
are there no differences with the matrix (or anything else)?
small color differences on the cover?
Rarephylia

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood as reviewed by Rarephylia

February 20, 2020
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Firewood should be warm, but you'll also feel shivers down your spine...

This work is a masterpiece, fresh air breeze in electronic music world. A totally new approach: emotional, organic, poetic, projected towards the future. IDM, jungle, breakbeat, everything is synthesized with a master touch. Special...

Also praise for the stunning artwork, evoked me remembrances of some rock paintings I saw and drew when I was a child, located in Vallée des Merveilles.

vanez.art

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood vanez.art

July 18, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
spiciest sound design of the year. djrum BROKE 2018. the year's broken, and heads are blown off ⚠💥☢ basically no need to listen to any other record
roxanebrn

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood as reviewed by roxanebrn

July 5, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
masterpiece ! some tracks are really sentimental and you can feel the emotions going through them. It's rare to find artists who can transmit to you a feeling and i found this album absolutely incredible for that. The instruments and the vocals are mastered perfectly and the result is unique and beautiful. what a talented guy ! he has totally mind blown me !
zaub9rer

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood zaub9rer

March 28, 2019
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

This Album has everything - depth, drive, ambience, elegance and soul. A true masterpiece which easily competes with Burial, Aphex Twin and Skee Mask. Really looking forward to Djrum releases this year. Thank you
Reecech

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood as reviewed by Reecech

February 20, 2019
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Man nearly cried , all i have to say really.
reachin_records

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood reachin_records

January 24, 2019
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
Despite all of the hype surrounding Skee Mask "Compro" this SHOULD BE THE ALBUM OF THE YEAR 2018.... esp. compared to the latter album.
Portrait with Firewood is a MAGICAL album displaying a sense of maturity....
arsonL

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood arsonL

January 11, 2020
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Strange, I feel the exact opposite, Skee Mask's Compro definitely hit the spot for me. I would even go as far as to say this is my least favorite DJRUM to date. I almost decided against purchasing Dx
darktrain

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood darktrain

December 29, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
creature part 1 for me all day long...it doesn't feel like it should be on this album due to the total change in speed and tone but it works and oh my god it's such a beautiful track.
avni.leka

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood avni.leka

October 13, 2018
edited over 3 years ago
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Guys what about "water rising" and also the whole series of "Showreel" (from part 1 to 3) that starts on his previous R&S (broken glass arch) with the first two parts and end with part 3 appearing on this album. Water rising gives me goosebumps on all my body!!! What a fresh approach to electronic music in general that he has!
I love also pretty much all the other works he made, such a genius (the selection of the vocal samples, the violins, the singers helping him that he chooses).
Whatever this guy touches is art, unique
vanez.art

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood vanez.art

May 25, 2019
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
right on! we're so lucky to experience a pure unfiltered genius that was captured on this record
Rossyj

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood as reviewed by Rossyj

September 10, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Really good stuff here, standouts are 'Creature Pt.1' and 'Sex'.
Moskalus

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood Moskalus

September 5, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
Fave track: Djrum - Waters Rising. Reminds me of the future garage sounds from back in the days. (circa 2010-2012)
sicxx

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood as reviewed by sicxx

September 2, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
Seemed to come out of nowhere this release, I clocked a few articles on social media and a few new tunes about a week before release and suddenly it was upon us.
I've reviewed a lot of Djrum releases, the man is a producer ahead of many in the game. The originality and vision behind Felix's tunes are second to none, and this LP is yet another fantastic record to add to a near perfect back catalogue.

Portrait With Firewood boasts the usual Djrum traits - folk melodies, film dialogue, stunning piano and those gorgeous, haunting string arrangements. While the whole release is incredibly strong, its the beatless pieces which send a shiver down my spine - Sparrows, Blood in My Mouth and the absolutely beautiful Creatures Pt.1.

We're currently over half way through 2018, and along with Skee Mask's 'Compro', Portraits With Firewood is ranking at the top of the LP of the year list.
scottymcauley

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood scottymcauley

September 26, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

Completely agreed. Compro is album of the year for me, with this taking second place.
Rodolphou

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood Rodolphou

September 4, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810
I totally agree with your review. I will just add Martyn latest album to the top of the 2018 LP ranking
komachose

Djrum* - Portrait With Firewood komachose

August 30, 2018
referencing Portrait With Firewood, 2xLP, Album, RS1810

50 copies where sold incl. three A4 art prints by Michael Mitsas.