mason66

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely as reviewed by mason66

March 18, 2019
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, Los, W 1053
I have known this recording for 50 years. I also have the MFSL mono edition from 2009 and in my opinion, this is a superior, quieter pressing. I can hear more on this version, pure and simple. I know the mono edition has many followers (ditto "Where Are You?" from 1957, which was Frank's very first album recorded in stereo - it would be great to have that given the same treatment as this) but so many of even the *very* early Capitol stereo recordings (1956-1958) are superb. Listen to some of the Stan Kenton's from the same period. Three tracks, and probably as many microphone's, likely centre / 2nd track for Frank's vocal. Beautiful. BTW - despite comments below, the cover art won a Grammy. Probably the peak of Frank's career "artistically", and he may well have agreed, rating it very highly himself.
michelgross

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition) michelgross

March 9, 2019
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition), 2xLP, Album, Dlx, RE, RM, 180, 6756971
As others have already stated the mastering and pressing are truly great. I already owned a different version of the album and am happy that I purchased this new version. The sound is clear, spacious and rich.

However, the packaging is disappointing: the white borders destroy the iconic cover, the download code doesn't work (at least for me) and the inner sleeves look like ads for other Sinatra records. A high fidelity record like this one should come in antistatic/polylined inner sleeves instead of thick paper sleeves.
Reever

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition) Reever

January 26, 2019
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition), 2xLP, Album, Dlx, RE, RM, 180, 6756971
By any standard, metric, or subject, this is a wonderful mastering and pressing. I can’t say much more than that beyond there is simply nothing between yourself and some of the best music ever put to wax.
vincent78

Frank Sinatra - One For My Baby vincent78

December 4, 2018
referencing One For My Baby, LP, 4-M024-81966
Bonjour,
j'ai une version de 1958 stéréo avec les références "Music For Pleasure ‎– 4-M024-81966, Capitol Records ‎– 4-M024-81966" et la playlist de la version de 1977. Je ne la trouve pas dois je le rajouter comme référence ?
Merci
beasley564

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely beasley564

November 4, 2018
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, SW 1053, SW-1053
That is not a 1958 version of the Frank Sinatra LP. Capitol changed from the black, colourband, 9 o'clock logo label in 1962, moving the logo to the 12 o'clock position.
cyl

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition) cyl

October 25, 2018
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition), 2xLP, Album, Dlx, RE, RM, 180, 6756971
This is such a treat... Unbelievable sound, especially for anyone who's heard the awful repress that were done 2 years ago and which sounded so thin and poor.
But this is incredible. I have some of the MFSL Sinatra repress, and I have to say this reissue is close to them. His voice is not as rich, but the Orchestrations on this pressing are unbelievable large). Absolutely quiet pressing on top of it.
The only two minor complains are
-why not press it at 45rpm since it's a double, the sound would have been even better?
-how amazing would it be the get also the mono repress like that?

In any case... I would only recommend to get it!
nameismike69

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition) nameismike69

October 31, 2018
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely (60th Anniversary Edition), 2xLP, Album, Dlx, RE, RM, 180, 6756971
Makes no sense right no 45 RPM... It would of been 50 bucks maybe they're trying to keep the price down... Question is no CD yet with booklet.
mikaal

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely mikaal

September 12, 2018
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, Los, W 1053
Spot on ratskins. I thought it was some sort of "special" new cover for the new deluxe release, then discovered that's how it was originally!!
Truly weird...
ratskins

Frank Sinatra - Sings For Only The Lonely ratskins

August 15, 2018
referencing Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, W1053, W-1053
The songs may be fine, but this certainly should be on a list of worst album covers in history. Although, John Wayne Gacy might like it.
chadw1701e

Frank Sinatra - Sings For Only The Lonely chadw1701e

September 1, 2017
referencing Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, W1053, W-1053

My copy has side two label on both sides? Is it common on this pressing?
rhorhorho

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely rhorhorho

September 10, 2016
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, CD, Album, RE, RM, CDP 7 48471 2
My copy has Matrix / Runout: www.takt.eu 2100001606329 7484712 and Mastering SID Code IFPI LK97.
blurayven

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely blurayven

January 11, 2015
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, Red, 2LP 3022E, W-1053

I bought my mint condition copy from my favorite Japanese eBay seller for less then $20
Music-Maestro

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely as reviewed by Music-Maestro

October 1, 2013
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, HW 1053
Beautiful album! The sleeve of my Dutch release album says: cat.no. (S)HW 1053. Ten tracks listed on the record sleeve are in stereo, two are in mono. However, the album itself only contains the 10 stereo tracks and has labelno SHW 1053 (no brackets). The two so-called mono tracks (It's A Lonesome Old Town + Spring Is Here) are NOT on the record itself. I'm not sure if we're talking about a mispress here.
greghead

Frank Sinatra - Sings For Only The Lonely greghead

September 12, 2013
referencing Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, W1053, W-1053
I have cat. # SM 1053, yellow label "Capitol" in red lettering. Late 60s reissue?
funknik

Frank Sinatra - Sings For Only The Lonely funknik

November 7, 2014
referencing Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, W1053, W-1053

The numbers after the N are sequencial . . . my copy is N15#2/N17
davydesmet

Frank Sinatra - One For My Baby davydesmet

January 14, 2013
referencing One For My Baby, LP, 4-M024-81966
mine is on yellow vinyl. is it this release or a special edition?
keepthevinylalive

Frank Sinatra - One For My Baby keepthevinylalive

December 27, 2012
referencing One For My Baby, LP, Album, RE, MFP 50089
My copy states
"printed and made in Great Britain"
jadedtom

Frank Sinatra - Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely as reviewed by jadedtom

December 12, 2010
edited over 8 years ago
referencing Frank Sinatra Sings For Only The Lonely, LP, Album, Mono, Los, W 1053

Along with "In The Wee Small Hours Of the Morning", this Sinatra lp is again a bit of a concept album. Sinatra lost in a thick romantic fog. This is Sinatra as saloon singer, to my ear, his best pose. If a man could fake sincerity, Sinatra is the man (much like Jagger fakes anarchy).

There's some real anxiousness and bitterness here. The often overlooked "Angel Eyes" sees Frankie as some sort of phantom, seeking his Angel Eyes. "'Scuze me while I disappear..." This is a man love sick.

Melancholy seems to hang around this recording. In lesser hands, a song like "Willow Weep For Me" would be trite, but Sinatra turns it into a personal statement, much as the isolation of "It's A Lonesome Old Town" and the old chestnut "Blues in the Night" is truly a cynical work in the hands of Frank.

The title track sets the somber mood, and I prefer "Only the Lonely" to "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning" because the music is more interesting.

But the real gem of the album is Frankie's version of "One For My Baby", which is a perfect song to my ear. Much like Sinatra's version of Porter's "Night and Day". They seem flawless, and many of these songs are as sincere as Frankie gets. This from a guy who could fake it quite well if he wanted to.

The Capitol years were Sinatra's most productive. Like his successor, Elvis Presley, Frankie sang way too many songs. We didn't need Frank's Beatle impression: "There's something in the way that chick moves...." His comeback in the fifties really starts the Sinatra legend going full tilt. This album, along with "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning" are Frankie at his artistic peak.