toniomang

Philip Glass - Glassworks as reviewed by toniomang

December 12, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008

Just got a copy of this and it is absolutely fantastic. Mine does not have the side 1 defect that others have mentioned. It's a really great pressing. Excellent soundstage and detail. I could hear the keys of the clarinet clacking ever so gently during one of the solos - reminded me of the classic Bonham pedal squeak
coqueayala

Philip Glass - Glassworks as reviewed by coqueayala

August 11, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008

Hay un ruido al empezar el disco, los primeros dos minutos que a pesar de la limpieza continuó ahí. Más allá de esos primeros minutos, el sonido es extraordinario, nítido, también es una mis grabaciones favoritas de Glass. La presentación de Music on Vinyl es impecable, insuperable.
Jxw27

Philip Glass - Glassworks as reviewed by Jxw27

November 8, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
Same problem here. Pressing defect. Otherwise, it’s a great record.
AlbertaLPMike

Philip Glass - Glassworks as reviewed by AlbertaLPMike

July 28, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008

This pressing is magnificent! The sound is warm yet crisp, all the things we hope for in an album. My favourite recording by PG.
Jxw27

Philip Glass - Glassworks Jxw27

May 23, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
I bought one copy, it came defective on the first music of side one (Opening), seller exchanged it for another one, with the same problem. It’s got a noise for about two minutes, similar to a scratch (tic, tic, tic...) but the vinyl is flawless. Pressing defect. Anyone has had the same problem?
Cortez_Danger

Philip Glass - Glassworks Cortez_Danger

August 7, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008

Mine has the same issue, disappointing but such a great record.
dmioger

Philip Glass - Glassworks dmioger

June 23, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
Hello mate. Yes I had the same problem. I returned it 3 times to Amazon and a different store. All with the same defect. This tick sound on first song side 1. There is like a cloudy mark on the vinyl. Very unfortunate. I kept it anyway.
dumaisaudio

Philip Glass - Glassworks - Specially Mixed for Your Personal Cassette Player dumaisaudio

February 24, 2021
referencing Glassworks - Specially Mixed for Your Personal Cassette Player, 6xFile, AIFF, RE, 24-, none
Does anyone know if this is still available for purchase? I can't seem to find it on any of the usual places hi-res files are sold.
bq-sounds

Philip Glass - Glassworks as reviewed by bq-sounds

November 19, 2020
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008

This 2014 reissue by Music On Vinyl is as good as it gets with bright, clean, and dynamic sounds. It's superb recording, remastering, and pressing. Bravo. Philip Glass is a master of composition; his genius transcends the definitions of classical music. A true audio connoisseur's delight.
Dick66683

Philip Glass - Glassworks Dick66683

April 2, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
i concur with this. I have the first pressing, and I've heard the MOV RE of 2014 and it sounds stellar. Just as good if not richer than my first CBS print.
lechmckoy

Philip Glass - Glassworks lechmckoy

September 23, 2020
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, FM 37265
beyond specialists comment ,and they are so many ....,this is a GREAT record
this music is a beautifull score ,whatever is the movie
leonthepro

Philip Glass - Glassworks leonthepro

February 21, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, FM 37265

lechmckoy
beyond specialists comment ,and they are so many ....,this is a GREAT record this music is a beautifull score ,whatever is the movie

Ill take that as a compliment. I like the music too.
leonthepro

Philip Glass - Glassworks as reviewed by leonthepro

December 3, 2018
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, FM 37265

A quite tame performance from this release.
The opening has us especially laid back with a rather anemic piano. Floe does pick up the slack somewhat but still has me disappointed with instruments that dont take the size they should because of how constrained they are dynamically. Even played loud it doesnt really work.
This sorely needed a 2XLP or 45RPM set. Or perhaps a better mastering engineer would do it on just 1 disc.
Otherwise its quite pleasant and the pressing is nice and quiet if you find a minty copy.

Equipment Used:
Rega RP1 with Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
Cyrus 2 Amplifier
System Fidelity SF-3050 Tower Speakers
Custom made HQ Speaker Cables
aeneuman

Philip Glass - Glassworks aeneuman

January 3, 2018
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, Car, FM 37265
The Sony delta symbol on the LP label indicates that this is a re-pressing from 1985 or later not an 1982 pressing.
laurentfrancois

Philip Glass - Glassworks laurentfrancois

January 25, 2017
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
Does anyone know something about the pressing quality of this "Music on vinyl" version ? Thanks
dmioger

Philip Glass - Glassworks dmioger

June 23, 2021
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
I had the same problem. I returned it 3 times to Amazon and a different store. All with the same defect. This tick sound on first song side 1. There is like a cloudy mark on the vinyl. Very unfortunate. I kept it anyway.
leonthepro

Philip Glass - Glassworks leonthepro

December 17, 2017
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
MOV usually always have quiet pressings. The only question is if the mastering sounds good. Most likely a DMM cut and I think this music leds itself well to that.
tangerinegripz

Philip Glass - Glassworks tangerinegripz

August 12, 2017
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
I had that very same issue on Track 1, but it's not a "scratch" but rather just non-fill issue caused by the pressing plant, which isn't really THAT bothering to me. Aside from that, this pressing sounds really good and whisper quiet after said track.
Fuerstmyschkin

Philip Glass - Glassworks Fuerstmyschkin

March 7, 2017
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, RE, 180, MOVCL008
Two copies I had do have a scratch on Track 1 which affected playing. Despite from that the pressing and sound quality was very good. Waiting for the third copy...
tele52

Philip Glass - Glassworks tele52

February 5, 2015
referencing Glassworks, Cass, Album, RE, 40-73640
There is a vinyl issue S 73640 .
rocknbeat

Philip Glass - Glassworks rocknbeat

January 11, 2010
referencing Glassworks, LP, Album, FM 37265
CBS original first pressing on green label.