filthyprofits

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 as reviewed by filthyprofits

January 14, 2020
referencing Return Of The SP1200, CD, Album, TRU-1001CD
idk, after hearing the first 4 and having to skip my way through, i wasn't impressed; most felt like a mess. and there are some awful introductions on a couple early tracks that just bleed into the song and ruin it. i liked Gutta Music and Food 4 Thought, mostly cus of the sample.

now i get it, it's cus they had j rocc for some reason add scratches, like that was needed. i like beat junkies, but pls. hands off my dads records.
Madefx

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 Madefx

July 13, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, CD, Album, TRU-1001CD

Not that disappointing, some old tracks when he was with CL, but some beats in this one are perfect.

4/5 for me
midnightrunner

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 midnightrunner

June 10, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
This is very good from Pete(r) Rock, my only regret is that when I first bought it, my mam's hunky toyboy Gavin came in while I was playing it, and now he makes me put it on all the time so he can practise doing his raps after he has smoked one of his special herbal cigarettes, and he is VERY CRAP at rapping!!
Discog38

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 as reviewed by Discog38

May 5, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
Hard hitting, old school boom bap, but not as progressive or deep as Petestrumentals.
NomNomMusic

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 as reviewed by NomNomMusic

April 18, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP

Love the artwork on this. Disappointed in the inner sleeve. Clean pressing at least. Glad I picked it up on RSD. Beats for days.
KojiroMC

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 KojiroMC

April 15, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
Beautiful LP. Packaging etc. is on the plain side; the artwork is great. also like the rsd hype sticker. The music? Classic Pete Rock stuff. Nothing comes close to this analog, sp1200 / MPC sound. this is just some warm, vivid vintage sound. Must have for any beat head and of course fan of the #1 Soul brother.
cttrevorrow

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 cttrevorrow

April 13, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
The packaging is on the minimal side. My copy had tiny scraps of black plastic vinyl inside the generic inner sleeve.
Despite this the lp is solid and mastered well. The overall set is very laidback. Pete’s sense of space in his samples transcend the time limit of the SP-1200, and what you end up with is a disk that reminds one of an earlier stab of the late-night, minimal grooves of his collaboration with Deda.
cttrevorrow

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 cttrevorrow

April 16, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
Looks like someone beat me to the punch and answered your question above. The beat is much the same, but has some differences.
okwiiderfly

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 okwiiderfly

April 15, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
Can confirm its the same beat but there are some differences. Its missing the vocal sample from the chorus and additional scratching.
Capcussa

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 Capcussa

April 14, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
thanks for the reply, this is the one i mean

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCj2p7aAkMQ

the only known version is ripped from the radio back in the day, been praying for a proper release for years
cttrevorrow

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 cttrevorrow

April 14, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
Unfortunately, I’m not a keen enough Nas fan to know the track you’re speaking of. Reply with a link and I’ll gladly give you an answer.
Capcussa

Pete Rock - Return Of The SP1200 Capcussa

April 14, 2019
referencing Return Of The SP1200, LP, Album, TRU1001-LP
hey man, is the track "Street Dreams" the same beat as the unreleased Street Dreams remix by Nas?

cant find this anywhere to listen to online before I buy