OCCIDENTAL

Function - Existenz as reviewed by OCCIDENTAL

May 22, 2021
referencing Existenz, 3x12" + 12", S/Sided, Etch + Album, TRESOR.315

First time listening to this felt a lot like listening to Photek's Solaris (2000) album. I was expecting one thing but got another, and ultimately far more. With Photek I was expecting another drum'n'bass masterpiece and was instead shocked by the quality of Parke's house productions. Glamourama still being one of my favorite dance tracks ever. Super hot.

Fast forward nearly two decades to Function's Existenz (2019) masterpiece. Not just a collection of functional techno club bangers, this work truly earns its label of 'album', with an impeccable flow and a dexterity in style that few Techno-with-a-capital-'T' producers ever attempt, let alone master. Sumner's deft ability to balance house, electro, and Detroit-inspired techno with cyberpunk dreamscapes is nothing short of astonishing.

Incidentally both albums feature Robert Owens on two tracks.
How serendipitous.
delirium303

Function - Existenz delirium303

April 2, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Existenz, 2xCD, Album, Tresor.315

This is a review just for the artwork so far.
Beautiful artwork with images look like photographed from a screen. You can do this in a bad way or in a creative way supporting the sound of the release. This is done here. When opening the digipack you are softly impressed by the colors of beautiful, easy moments: high heels, a face of a beautiful girl, a colorful texture in the middle. Additional there is a foldout poster with the nice image of the slightly opened mouth of a sexy girl. Great job of the person behind the artwork!
I love it.

Not surprising: its a release from the legendary Tresor label ;)
delirium303

Function - Existenz delirium303

December 1, 2020
edited 8 months ago
referencing Existenz, 2xCD, Album, Tresor.315

Yes, a good quantity of fine tracks you can find. I wanted update my review because of the music anyway but after your reply I do it with a reply too:
In the meanwhile I have listened several times to the 2CD and I agree: solid sounds, often including this deepness, even some kind of fatality in the eyes of the observer viewing the world around. Its not needed any more to view, time to dive into the innerself.
Mostly warm and here and there with the TR 808 style drummachine patterns. Function, as part of Sandwell District, shows the ghost of Feed Forward between the lines, at least to me...
reachin_records

Function - Existenz reachin_records

December 1, 2020
referencing Existenz, 2xCD, Album, Tresor.315
Yes I admire your passion for the artwork. It is indeed creative.
Solid underground music too. :)
BethLouisNeon

Function - Existenz as reviewed by BethLouisNeon

March 6, 2020
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Existenz, 3x12" + 12", S/Sided, Etch + Album, TRESOR.315

At first it sounded to me like a compilation of great classic cuts. My brain could not conceive of the audacity it would take to master so many sub-genres. Nothing in the back catalogue prepared me for this. Edit: I went back and listened to an early one and I can hear there ARE precursors.
Gambeat11

Function - Existenz Gambeat11

February 27, 2020
referencing Existenz, 2xCD, Album, Tresor.315
Some albums even after 20 years sounds fresh. From other hands some albums sounds outdated soon after release. This album belongs to second category. In my own opinion very dissapointing:(
delaneywm

Function - Existenz delaneywm

December 25, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Existenz, 3x12" + 12", S/Sided, Etch + Album, TRESOR.315

my runaway album of the year. an incredible journey of house and techno that deepens with every spin. I could see some finding it a bit too formalist or risk-averse but to me that's one of its strengths. it's the sound of a master working comfortably with well-worn tools and creating something special.
Andy2307

Function - Existenz Andy2307

December 23, 2019
referencing Existenz, 3x12" + 12", S/Sided, Etch + Album, TRESOR.315

Don't lose many words.... A very great album.... The purest form of Techno Music!!! Great work.... ;)
player

Function - Existenz as reviewed by player

December 21, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Existenz, 2xCD, Album, Tresor.315

For me I prefer the music on this album rather then the tonal Techno of Function's debut and moody ambient-techno of his 2nd album. 'Existenz' is more a cohesive aural journey mind listening into Techno that gels Ambient and touches of House and Electro with tracks delivering both darker and warmer tones that mix experimental without losing focus or direction. A more immersive engaging listening when compared to the darker tonal repetition moody side of Function's debut. 'Existenz' certainly is a quality release that will probably have you return back to this album again again more often then 'Incubation' - even though that was quality itself! A interesting immersive album that grows with each listen and in some ways music that can remind you of Special Request Techno fusion - a good thing for me :)
codenamedancerx

Function - Existenz codenamedancerx

February 25, 2021
referencing Existenz, 2xCD, Album, Tresor.315
which Function release are you talking about when you refer to his 2nd album? I know Incubation was his first but didnt know any album between that & Existenz. many thx for any info!
player

Function - Existenz player

December 13, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
referencing Existenz, 3x12" + 12", S/Sided, Etch + Album, TRESOR.315
For me I prefer the music on this album rather then the metallic industrial Techno of Function's debut album. 'Existenz' is more a mind listening cohesive aural journey into Techno that gels Ambient and touches of House and Electro with tracks delivering a warmer tone that mixes experimental without losing compared to darker tonal moody side of Function's debut. A quality release that will probably have you return back to this album again again more often then 'Incubation.' - even though that was quality!