laughing-gor

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up as reviewed by laughing-gor

June 25, 2017
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, RP, CABS 8 CD

I've owned this album in some shape or form for many years; although I've always liked it, I seem to return to "The Voice Of America" far more often. But I know that some records take a little longer before you finally "get it".

Six months ago, I would never have imagined that I would ever use the phrase "Music To Receive Chemotherapy To", but that's exactly how I would describe it now. One of the things which annoyed me during my treatment was that I found it increasingly difficult to find suitable music to listen to. I have very broad tastes, and I tried everything from classical, ambient, 50s jazz and 60s psychedelia, to progressive rock, techno, drum & bass, metal and punk. Nothing quite worked, and rapidly became unlistenable.

But towards the end of my third 5-day hospital admission, I decided to give this a spin. For some bizarre reason, it just worked - I really can't understand why, but chemotherapy is somewhat uncomfortable, worrying, anxiety-inducing and occasionally even frightening: words which could perhaps be used to describe the sounds here.

I would never wish a cancer diagnosis on anyone, but if you ever find yourself in my situation, give this disc a chance and you may see what I mean! :)
laughing-gor

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up laughing-gor

January 1, 2019
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, RP, CABS 8 CD

Thanks, 18 months later, I'm still here :)

At least 10 words must be entered. Please enter at least 2 more.
the_droid

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up the_droid

November 27, 2018
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, RP, CABS 8 CD
Thanks for the advice, I hope your treatment was successful and you've recovered.
Stereoshoestring

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up Stereoshoestring

September 15, 2016
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, CABS 8 CD
First copies came with a 16 small stickers sheet with bands signed by Rough Trade
cvoltaire02

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up as reviewed by cvoltaire02

October 13, 2003
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, MUTE 9172-2
Probably one of the darkest full-length debuts ever released by a group (well, maybe Throbbing Gristle might qualify as a close comparison). There was simply nothing else like it at the time of its release and it still baffles new listeners to this date. Fave tracks include 'No Escape' (a Seeds' cover), 'Photophobia', 'On Every Other Street' & 'Fourth Shot'. Recommended!
korken

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up korken

October 7, 2012
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, MUTE 9172-2
i think it could neither darkest nor synthiest
cvoltaire02

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up cvoltaire02

June 7, 2010
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, MUTE 9172-2
Heard of 'Reproduction' by Human League? Now that's a synthy debut. Came out the same year.
typ.geiler

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up typ.geiler

April 29, 2010
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, MUTE 9172-2
darkest full-lenghth debut (by a group)? lol. what is the index for dark? a bit silly comment i think!

its the synthiest debut of the seventies. okay. hahaha....
Yeshello

Cabaret Voltaire - Mix-Up as reviewed by Yeshello

November 19, 2002
referencing Mix-Up, CD, Album, RE, MUTE 9172-2
Very experimental and quite frightening at times. Listen to "Photophobia" in the dark for an good taste of this.